2260 on Quadrant - Ownage


Last Updated:

  1. pingpongboss

    pingpongboss Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    541
    Likes Received:
    278
    YouTube - Samsung Captivate Quadrant Benchmark

    The Captivate is definitely an under-appreciated phone. With so many people complaining about the GPS, AT&T lock-down, and current lack of 3rd party custom ROMs, you start to forget that the hardware itself is top notch.
     

    Advertisement
    Karl_Tx likes this.
  2. Aerimus

    Aerimus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    7
    he has one of the lag fixes on it. You can't get those scores on the stock rom without them.
     
  3. pingpongboss

    pingpongboss Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    541
    Likes Received:
    278
    With the 1-click root, and 1-click lag fixes out on XDA, you really owe it to yourself to unlock the full speeds of the Captivate.
     
  4. Aerimus

    Aerimus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    7
    I really want to do this one...unfortunately I bricked a captivate doing this and could not for the love of me get it to go to download mode to run Odin's stock flasher. I think I'll wait for a bit now to see what my options are in the next few weeks.
     
  5. pingpongboss

    pingpongboss Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    541
    Likes Received:
    278
    I had a heck of a lot of trouble trying to put it in Download mode too when I needed it. But I finally found out how to do it. Do you have USB Debugging on your captivate set? If you do, plug it into your PC, and run

    adb reboot download
     
  6. thindery

    thindery Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    64
    I tried for about 6 hours between two days to get to download mode by the volume and power method. I couldn't do it! I really wanted to flash the jh2 with odin3 to see if it helped me.

    I was afraid to do the sdk and adb stuff cause I had never done anything like that before. After reading about it thought I finally went for it... I got it done in about an hour with all the reading, downloading, and stuff, now I can pop that sucker into download mode easily now.

    Do the sdk way.. it will save you headaches in the future.
     
  7. keredini

    keredini Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    15
    +1 ... easiest way to get into download or recovery mode for flashing
     
  8. Aerimus

    Aerimus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    7
    Yep, I've done that before. The problem is that I couldn't get by the ATT World phone screen on bootup, so I couldn't even put it into USB Debugging mode. I tried to create an ADB session anyway, but it couldn't locate the device, and I literally tried all of the possible options to get it into download mode, and none would work. :( I've now rooted 2 devices by using the ADB shell method, so I definitely understand how to do that...just couldn't get to it with an unbootable phone.

    The problem is that I then, naturally had an Update.zip file that was not my recovery, so I couldn't recover with my backup. I may still try this, but I'll just use a different method so that I can restore from the recovery screen at startup.

    Naturally, I'm a little wary of trying this now on the new phone.
     
  9. Aerimus

    Aerimus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    7
    Here is my 2 cents. The issue I have with this method is that you are using an update.zip, which to my knowledge makes it so that you can't get back into clockwork recovery because that uses an update.zip to work. At least this is why I could not get out of my brick state on my first Captivate. You can do this same exact method very easily with the one click lag fix, which i've done, and that way you are not replacing the update.zip file.

    Here is the link.
    [UTIL] One Click Lag Fix 2.0 - xda-developers

    In my opinion this is just as easy, but feels much safer.
     
  10. c2k

    c2k Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    1
    You do realize that these are false scores? The phone does run much faster, but quadrant scores like this are unrealistic. The speed fix gives off the wall I/O scores because quadrant tests arent made for this kind of a buffer system...

    Other people have done speed fixes+OC+different rom and get scores in the 2700-2800 range.
     

Share This Page

Loading...