*228 Doesn't work


Last Updated:

  1. tsaunders

    tsaunders Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    25
    I tried calling *228 and then pushed 2 and it tells me the phone can't be programmed. I have also tried option 1.

    Am I doing something wrong? Does anyone else have this issue?
     

    Advertisement
  2. milrtime83

    milrtime83 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    74
    It's working fine for me. Are you on the Verizon network? I don't think it works if you are on another carrier's tower like US Cellular. Alltel towers may or may not be fully integrated to the network depending on where you are so they might not work either.
     
  3. tsaunders

    tsaunders Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    25
    I have never gotten it to work, no matter where I am.

    It doesn't work at work or at home. It tells me to call a 1-800 number to activate my phone.

    This could be why I am dropping calls all the time.
     
  4. milrtime83

    milrtime83 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    74
    If you can make calls at all it is activated so it doesn't make sense that it is saying to call the 800 number to activate.

    Might need to take it to a VZW store or call support.
     
  5. tsaunders

    tsaunders Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    25
    Yeah I am going to give them a call and see what is up and let them know I am dropping calls.
     
  6. (G)

    (G) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    47
    What does *228 do and why have I never heard of this before?
     
  7. milrtime83

    milrtime83 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    74
    Option 1 is used to activate a new phone which they do in the store for you.

    Just because your phone can see a cell tower doesn't mean it can use it. Option 2 updates the tower list (called the Preferred Roaming List) in your phone so it knows what towers it can use depending on Verizon's sharing agreements with other carriers. It also adds any new towers Verizon has put up since the list was updated.
     
  8. gizbug

    gizbug Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    4
    Use *22899

    Use it a few times a month
     
  9. (G)

    (G) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    47
    Wow. I never ever knew this. Thanks!! (Why don't they tell you these things??)
     
  10. goldrush28

    goldrush28 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    9
    Are you saying that you should use this when you are away from your normal calling area? i.e.- a different part of the country -- or Puerto Rico for example? Thanks
     
  11. messenger13

    messenger13 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    3,133
    Likes Received:
    381
    I've always used option 1 to "program my phone" ... meaning update firmware and features. Obviously not for the DROID, but for "dumb" phones. Option 2 updates Roaming, and option 3 is when you want to change a phone.
     
  12. milrtime83

    milrtime83 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2009
    Messages:
    668
    Likes Received:
    74
    Not specifically since your phone has the whole list already. But if you haven't done it for a while it wouldn't hurt. Verizon only updates it every month or two so there isn't any reason to do it more then once a month.
     

Share This Page

Loading...