256 or 512mb of ram?Support


Last Updated:

  1. phemark

    phemark Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    I bought this brilliant phone yesterday from Vodafone, UK, and have a question regarding ram. Every site says that this phone has 512mb of ram, but when i look into my phone's info there is only 256mb of ram (you can do that at menu/settings/applications/running services, then add bottom 3 numbers)

    So my question would be which is true:
    a) i was given pre release version of Galaxy S with only 256 ram
    b) as android 2.1 doesnt support more than 256 ram (is that true?), i wil see ful 512 once its updated to 2.2


    Could you check your phones ram and let me know if any one you have 512.. because if yes, then i need to return this phone and exchange it for newest version..

    I hope you understoon my question, and thanks for all the help
     

    Advertisement
  2. kalpik

    kalpik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    38
    Actually its the Kernel 2.6.29 (which is on the Galaxy S as of yet), which does not support more than 256 MB of RAM.. You will be able to use the full amount of RAM once custom ROMs come about with a newer version of the Kernel, or once Samsung releases Android 2.2 :)
     
  3. phemark

    phemark Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    So is there a way on how to check if i will have 512 once we get 2.2? Or do i have to wait and see?

    Or its 100% that this phone has 512 and not a chance that it may be 256?

    Thanks
     
  4. pablo.station

    pablo.station Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    48

    according to what ive read the galaxy s should come with 512 ram

    Samsung I9000 Galaxy S - Full phone specifications
     
  5. phemark

    phemark Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    So i know that it must be with 512, but that showing 256 doesnt give me too much confidence, that once we get 2.2, it will be 512:)
     
  6. pablo.station

    pablo.station Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    48
    just out of curiosity, i would like to know where you read 2.1 won't support 512 ram?
     
  7. kalpik

    kalpik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    38
    ^^ I did not say 2.1 does not support > 256 MB RAM! I said kernel 2.6.29 does not support > 256 MB of RAM :) If you run a newer kernel on 2.1, even that will support full 512 MB of RAM!
     
  8. pablo.station

    pablo.station Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    48
    :cool: , that works
     
  9. phemark

    phemark Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok, this is clear now:)

    now how to check how much ram i would have if kernel worked ok?:)
     
  10. EarlZ

    EarlZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    11
    Galaxy S comes with 512MB of ram but can only use 256MB as of now with 2.2 comes a new version of the kernel

    Android 2.2 Platform Highlights | Android Developers

    2.6.32 kernel upgrade
    * HIGHMEM support for RAM >256MB

    So for everyone that doubts 2.2 on the Galaxy S it WILL surely come to the galaxy S.
     
  11. sjdean

    sjdean Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    5
    NexusOne has 512Meg I think, but it was always software limited to 256 because the software (underlying kernel) wasn't up to scratch.

    Ugh. Im getting a bit jittery here about jumping to Android. I thought it wasn't ready last year. I thought it was ready now.

    But so far, on Galaxy at least, I see issues of lack of memory, missing Bluetooth File Transfer, some phones with missing swype.

    It's anybodies guess as to when Samsung release Froyo.

    Put it like this, GSM Arena had an article about the 256 Meg limitation. Samsung advised this was just misreporting on preview models and that the actual final and public models would have 512 Meg of RAM.

    So. That didn't happen.

    What have I done.

    Come back Nokia.
     
  12. EarlZ

    EarlZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    11
    By the looks of it you are better off staying with nokia.
     
  13. sjdean

    sjdean Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    5
    Question: What kernel does HTC Desire run? It supposedly has 576 Meg RAM. Does that mean HTC have resolved a bug in a kernel many months ago that Samsung haven't been bothered to pick up?
     
  14. sjdean

    sjdean Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    5
    Here's another interesting one... apparently, "HIMEM" wasn't available in Kernel versions prior to 2.6.32 for ARM architectures. Which probably explains why HTC Desire has 576 Meg on Android 2.1...

    what exactly does "himem" do? - Android @ MoDaCo
     
  15. sjdean

    sjdean Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    5
    I've just asked Samsung about about this memory issue. They've said:

    "The memory that people are viewing and are posting on for(u)m rooms are
    looking at the amount of memory left for running apps and widgets and
    are getting confused by it."
     
  16. pablo.station

    pablo.station Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    231
    Likes Received:
    48

    So its not showing the full 512, instead its showing whats being used and whats left?

    makes sense. My Desktop PC shows how much RAM is there but says that only a certain amount is usable. (shared memory, on board graphics) blah blah..
     

Share This Page

Loading...