2g? Quadband?Support


Last Updated:

  1. thesloth

    thesloth Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    what kind of gsm support does the Telus Milestone have?

    I'll be using it primarily on AT&T 3g, but I want to make sure 2g is ok as well...

    -what kind of freqs is 2g support?
    -will it work if i study abroad in europe (obviously replace the sim card)

    thanks
     

    Advertisement
  2. Szadzik

    Szadzik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5,413
    Likes Received:
    715
    So difficult to check?

    Motorola MILESTONE - Full phone specifications
     
  3. thesloth

    thesloth Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. Szadzik

    Szadzik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5,413
    Likes Received:
    715
    It says:

    GSM w/HSDPA, GSM 850/1900 which means exactly the same thing as in GSMArena from my link.

    I understand your concerns, but really searching and checking resources before asking questions is a very good thing.
     
  5. thesloth

    thesloth Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Apologies,

    I obviously don't know much about cell-bands and the like, and likewise had no way to know that "GSM 850 / 900 / 1800 / 1900" == "GSM w/ HSDPA." (a quick wikipedia search for "HSDPA" mentions primarily 3g and has little mention of freq bands)

    in fact, that was only one example of a conflicting source I've found, as i've spent the past few days constantly doing research on this phone (i do enjoy nerding out as much as the next guy). I've seen quite a bit of varying information on this phone, and likewise was brought here.

    all i ask, don't assume people who come here to ask questions haven't spent time searching for answers already. the best way i think to gain competent knowledge on a subject is by interacting with other knowledgeable people, hence my post.

    that being said, i assume this means that the phone will travel well around europe?

    (ps i'm not trying to start a war or anything. i hope this post didn't come across as harsh. just lookin for help afterall)
     
  6. Szadzik

    Szadzik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5,413
    Likes Received:
    715
    This phone is being sold in Europe and no one has ever complained about not being able to use it as it is the Europe-oriented version of the Droid.
     
  7. thesloth

    thesloth Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    from what i've been led to believe...
    Telus Milestone = canadian, north american version != european version

    ...hence the questions.
     
  8. Szadzik

    Szadzik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5,413
    Likes Received:
    715
    Milestone is Milestone and it is the same in Canada and in Europe. DROID is the Northern American version and it is different than the Milestone:

    Canadian Milestone:
    Milestone Android - Social Networking Phone - Motorola Canada

    European Milestone:
    Milestone Android - Phone Without Compromise - Motorola United Kingdom

    Droid:
    DROID by Motorola - Android phone - Motorola USA

    See the difference now? Milestone sold in Europe is the same Milestone sold in Canada even though specs are put in a different way they say the same thing. Milestone sold in Canada will work ok in Europe as well as European Mileston will work fine in Canada.

    They also sell Milestone in Southern America and I have that version of Milestone working perfectly fine in Europe.
     
  9. thesloth

    thesloth Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    there are some people in here that will probably disagree with you:
    http://androidforums.com/motorola-milestone/25020-milestone-3g-us.html

    however, it looks like for the purposes of this thread they are the same, as their 2g bands don't seem to differ. but it should be noted for anyone that runs into this thread, that they are definitely not the same.
     
  10. Szadzik

    Szadzik Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    5,413
    Likes Received:
    715
    You asked about travelling with it in Europe and NOT about its 3G.

    It will work in Europe because it is quadband GSM. You will get GSM and EDGE in Europe but no 3G.
     
  11. thesloth

    thesloth Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes that was i was asking. I was just making a note for anyone who is in a similar situation as me that the below quotes are not true and could end up costing someone some money.

     
  12. dstech

    dstech Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    To both your points (not taking sides).

    The original question was vague and made no direct attempt to ask if 3G data is supported in Europe on a Canadian Milestone.
    The answer is no 3G support in Europe with a Canadian Milestone, but voice will work because it's a quad band phone and you must have international roaming with your SIM card or use a pre-paid European SIM card.

    To the replies: The information available on forums is hard to dig through and find the facts. There are so many people posting "what they speculate" and not what they know to be a fact. I understand the original poster's reasons for asking the question. Not everyone understands the differences in frequencies when it comes to 3G data usage.

    Some facts:
    I have a German Milestone that worked in Germany with a Blau.de pre-paid SIM card on the 3G data network. I brought it to the USA and I can only use EDGE data speeds but voice is fine too with my AT&T SIM card.
     
  13. chyau.00

    chyau.00 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    2
    Am I reading a different spec or sometihng?

    My understanding

    European/Asia/World Milestone - Quadband GSM phone. Dualband 3g

    meaning it will work anywhere in the world...but only in selected countries for 3g
    (no 3g in North America)

    Canadian Milestone - Dualband GSM
    meaning 3g and regular phone function ONLY within North America, more specifically.
    AT&T owned wireless towers (and Rogers)
    It will work on Telus and Bell too, because they use the towers owned by Rogers.
     
  14. WirelessGuy

    WirelessGuy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    10
    .
     
  15. Brendanmurphy

    Brendanmurphy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    403
    Likes Received:
    16
    No...... Telus actually built there own towers. Why would they piggy back off rogers? Telus and bell have 2 - 3x the coverage of rogers 3g so there is no chance they are using rogers towers.
     

Share This Page

Loading...