3 uk fota


Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Last Updated:

  1. trebor882002

    trebor882002 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi,

    Just wondered if anyone on 3 in the UK has received the latest FOTA download? HTC - Support

    I've a funny feeling that 3 are WAY behind everyone else when it comes to update approval.

    Cheers.
     

    Advertisement
  2. ToeCutter

    ToeCutter Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    3
    Nothing from Orange either. I'm pretty sure that it has something to do with the orange/3 -isation of the OS. Once they've slotted all their bits into the release, we'll get it.
     
  3. Manzrif

    Manzrif Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    4
    As i posted on the 2.1 thread....


    I emailed Three yesterday.

    They just rang me now and said that they have received the update from HTC and are just testing it with compatibility (3 branding etc) and will be releasing it over the air soon. (they did not give a date), they said keep an eye on the three website or you may get a text from 3 once available.
     
    benparsons and jim_h like this.
  4. decobydesign

    decobydesign Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    I've had the update on 3UK with my plain-vanilla unbranded Hero.
     
  5. jonous101

    jonous101 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    2
    i received a text from 3 the other week about a newer version of msn, which btw is still crap lol
     
  6. trebor882002

    trebor882002 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    I've received an email response from 3 regarding the lack of firmware. It doesn't bode well. As usual 3 customers are left behind!

    "Hi [name withheld]

    Thanks for asking us about the 2.1 android update for your HTC Hero.

    At present, the latest software we have for the HTC Hero is 2.73.771.73. For now, we don
     
  7. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,760
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    Hah, I like how they turned an apology into you doing a survey for them :p
     
  8. trebor882002

    trebor882002 Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Well screw 3. I've just Goldcarded the phone Root Your HTC Hero: Goldcard installed the generic ROM and now have an unbranded Hero with 2.1. Piece of p**s!
     
  9. benparsons

    benparsons Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Looks like what Manzrif was told completely contradicts what trebor882002 was told...

    To be fair, I'm going to hold off on the rage directed at three: consider how long it took HTC to get even the basic update out. I'd much rather 3 take a little time and make it more stable at this point. Why should they be forced into rushing a release due to HTC being so slow?

    Normally I'm the first to attack 3 BTW, I've been with them for too long and am constantly disappointed with them...
     
  10. ticho

    ticho Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    12
    You could have waited for the pre-rooted stock rom. Guys over at XDA are working hard to get it working. :)
     
  11. Slug

    Slug Check six! Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2009
    Messages:
    20,389
    Likes Received:
    16,498
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page

Loading...