32gb microsdhc not working


Last Updated:

  1. fumusic

    fumusic Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    i am using sense 2.2 rom on my rooted htc hero with no problems on my 16gb microsdhc card. however when i used a kingston 32gb microsdhc i just purchased i can't seem to get it to work. i have formatted the sd card on my computer then i partitioned the card the same way i did with my 16gb card, then i partitioned ext2 to ext3 but when i restarted my phone with the 32gb card inside the screen was stuck on the htc logo. can anybody help please?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    Your old card was being used for apps2sd, right? You can't just switch an apps2sd card out like that; your phone's trying to boot and load all of it's apps from the old ext partition but all it can find is the blank new card.

    You have to make a copy of all your apps and move it onto the new card's ext partition. I think you should be able to make a nand + ext backup, switch cards, and then restore the backup.
     
  3. lucidcoin

    lucidcoin New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    well I don't know about anybody else but my provider sold me my Hero and all the information I gathered told me my external was only expandable up to 16gb?

    Am I wrong?? Cuz 32gb would be very awesome...
     
  4. daveybaby

    daveybaby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    919
    Likes Received:
    105
    The hero supports the SDHC standard which goes up to 32GB (after that youre into SDXC territory) so the hero should support 32GB no problem.

    However, at the time of the hero's release there were no 32GB cards in existence, so it couldnt actually be proved to work - so i think in these cases manufacturers are cautious and state that it only officially supports up to the largest card available on release. Covering their arses in case it doesnt actually turn out to work and the lawsuits come flooding in.
     
  5. lucidcoin

    lucidcoin New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    Very useful information..! I'll have to see if I can find a class 6 32g sd card:D

    can't seem to find even a 16 on ebay:confused:
     
  6. mindfloss

    mindfloss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Where did u buy the 32gb micro? i have never even seen one anywhere
     
  7. fumusic

    fumusic Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks for the tips but i have to let you guys know that it still doesn't work. either the kingston 32gb microsdhc is incompatible with the hero or the hero doesn't support the 32gb card. maybe when someone tries it with the sandisk 32gb card they can let us know.
     
  8. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    What if you,
    - Do a nand + ext backup
    - Do a factory reset + wipe the dalvik cache
    - Reformat the card for apps2sd
    - Try to boot it

    That way you know if the card really is incompatible or there's something going wrong when switching out a card that's being used for apps2sd.

    You could even try formatting the card without the Ext partition, just to see if it works.
     
  9. fumusic

    fumusic Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    i will try the new 32gb card with a fresh install of sense 2.2 without any installed apps and see if the card works with the hero. if it works then i may have to come back here to get step by step instructions on how to copy my installed apps onto the card.
    thanks for the tips xtrino but i find i cannot format the card on my phone. i googled the problem and i think it is a common problem with all 32gb cards.
     
  10. daveybaby

    daveybaby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    919
    Likes Received:
    105
    Buying memory cards from ebay is asking to get ripped off IMO. The chances of you getting, say, an 8GB card bodged to look like a 16GB one, and/or a class2 card labelled as a class6 card, are pretty high.

    Stick with a trusted supplier. If the ebay prices are much lower, ask yourself why that is.
     
  11. fumusic

    fumusic Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    the good news is that i managed to get my 32gb card working with a new install of sense 2.2 rom, but my apps2sd doesn't seem to be working. i am able to use the sdcard to store videos and mp3 with no problem, but my apps are still being stored on my phone memory.
     
  12. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    Assuming you've got the Ext partition set up for apps2sd, then it's probably running the half and half apps2sd (Apps themseleves on the sd card, the 'dalvik-cahe' on the phone), which is why it still seems to take up space.

    If you flash 'a2sd-2.5-signed.zip' from the Sensehero download page it should fix it.

    Don't forget to nand + ext backup first of course.
     
  13. mindfloss

    mindfloss Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have never been ripped off this way. Usually the reason that they are crazy cheap is because they are bootleg knock offs that look like genuine from hong kong.
     
  14. daveybaby

    daveybaby Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    919
    Likes Received:
    105
    I'm sure there are fully working ones out there, but there are just as many non working ones. Well, by 'non-working' i actually mean 'half working' because when you first start to use them they appear to work just fine. The thing is that you cant actually be sure youve got what was advertised until you:

    (a) check the write speeds match those specified for the device class, and

    (b) fill the card up with data and check that the data in the first half of the card hasnt actually been overwritten by the data in the second half.

    I've had friends come unstuck on both counts.
     
  15. fumusic

    fumusic Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    i think i must have one of those dodgy cards because i cannot get apps2sd working at all! i've tried partitioning the card then ext2 to ext3. then flashing the a2sd patch for sense. also i've noticed that when i try to copy large amount of files like my mp3 collection onto my new card; some of the mp3s become a bunch of mixed up symbols and are unreadable. oh well i will have to stick to my 16gb card until sandisk come up with an official 32gb card.
     
  16. JustWiseman

    JustWiseman Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    2
    I ordered a 32gb card off of Ebay just a bit ago and received it today. I plugged into my phone first and formatted it - the phone read the full capacity. Then, I plugged into my card reader to load some music up onto it. I got to about 3gb of music transferred and got an error on my computer and now can't get any of my computers or my phone to read the card. So, I purchased it under advisement that it might not work but figured that the risk of getting a sketchy card was worth the $25 I paid for it on Ebay. So, I'm not upset that it's a piece, I more than half-expected it, but for now, consider yourselves warned (again) if you are contemplating buying one of these things online. This one came in a little Kingston package but was not well sealed, and, as I said, appears to be a dud. But, hey, someone's gotta be the guinea pig, right?
     

Share This Page

Loading...