384MB RAM Confirmed - What do we do now (or not do) ??


Last Updated:

  1. burn1010

    burn1010 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    2
    Samsung Fascinate poses with DROID X Boy Genius Report

    See the first slide confirming 332556 kb Total memory, compared to 487780 kb for the DX.

    I will be looking closely at the pre-release reviews to see whether reviewers notice that it makes any difference in real-world use.

    Also, what effect it will have on future upgrades, esp. running Flash and 3.0 further down the road?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Mrdroid921

    Mrdroid921 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    927
    Likes Received:
    30


    Looks like they also under-clocked it to 800Mhz to...:eek:
     
  3. knivez

    knivez Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    5
    Guys,

    I just ran the same system information from Quadrant on my friend's Captivate and it shows the exact same amount of free ram, and also running at 800mhz.

    I believe this device is the same as the rest of the Galaxy series, but all of them do seem to utilize 128mb of ram for the video card.
     
  4. burn1010

    burn1010 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    2
    That's promising...have a shot of that?
     
  5. Mrdroid921

    Mrdroid921 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    927
    Likes Received:
    30
    So basically, the Att model and Verizon model are both Underclocked :confused:

    Or am I missing something here??
     
  6. knivez

    knivez Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    5
    It says the max frequency is at 1000mhz, it's likely that the device was underclocked at that point in time, to preserve battery life. It would kick up to 1ghz when needed, just like laptops do.
     
  7. Mrdroid921

    Mrdroid921 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    927
    Likes Received:
    30
    Ah ok, I see. Well that makes sense.
     
  8. knivez

    knivez Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    5
    Don S and burn1010 like this.
  9. burn1010

    burn1010 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    2

    Thanks for the photo...any idea--in layman's---terms what the 6424 kb FREE and 141308 kb INACTIVE mean..the fascinate has 16480 kb free.
     
  10. knivez

    knivez Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    5
    Yeah, the free ram means how much is available for you to use. My friend was running a lot of apps on the captivate, so the phone only had 6000kb free. The Fascinate in that screenshot probably wasn't running too many things, so it had more free ram. For the most part though, Android handles ram very well so you shouldn't need to force close any apps with a task manager unless the apps have crashed and are still running in the background, etc.

    As for the inactive ram, I'm not 100% sure, but it could just be that it's ram that the device cannot use due to it running 2.1. Froyo unlocks the ram limitation on these devices so maybe it will be able to use that ram when we get the update to 2.2
     
  11. Veez

    Veez Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    1
    wait they both got the same cpu? is cpu processor? i thought the fasc had a different and much better cpu than the X...wtf is verizon doing...by the beard of zeus

    verizon, you shmuck..quit deep throating motorola
     
  12. knivez

    knivez Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    5
    Calm down and get your facts straight. Verizon did nothing to this phone other than Bing search and its usual array of preloaded apps. This phone has the same speed and ram as all other Galaxy S phones.

    The CPU (processor) for the X is an OMAP that runs at 1ghz. The CPU for the Fascinate also runs at 1GHZ but it's a different architecture (hummingbird). The Fascinate (and other Galaxy S phones) CPU/GPU combination is currently the best on the market
     
  13. Jrid32

    Jrid32 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    You're right, something isn't adding up...

     
  14. ghdtpdna

    ghdtpdna Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    45
    CPU are very similar if not the same.
    GPU is where Fascinate shines.
     
  15. Jrid32

    Jrid32 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
  16. ghdtpdna

    ghdtpdna Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    45
  17. Veez

    Veez Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    1
    why does the X and the Fasc got the same CPU? according to those pics...

    so you're telling me the epic and the fascinate are the same excpet for the keyboard and front facing cam and 4g?
     
  18. knivez

    knivez Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    5
    What pics? The one that I posted above is a screenshot comparing the Captivate to the Fascinate. So yeah, that would have the same specs.

    And yes, that's what I'm telling you.
     
  19. Veez

    Veez Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    1
  20. knivez

    knivez Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    5
    quadrant doesn't know how to differentiate them. Look at the captivate screenshot I posted above to confirm that it's the same as the Fascinate's.
     
  21. Veez

    Veez Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    1
    gracias
     
  22. Don S

    Don S Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    629
    Likes Received:
    180
    Very very useful. Thanks. Good to know they are all the same. Also, the 128MB of RAM devoted solely to the gpu you mentioned really fills in the gaps of what was some confusing data. Thanks again!
     
  23. Droidus

    Droidus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    13
    Don S likes this.
  24. Don S

    Don S Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    629
    Likes Received:
    180
  25. AgentOmicron

    AgentOmicron New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I love how this article tries to explain things but doesn't take into account the original article about how the Droid X is able to display
    487780 vs 332556

    Every argument is invalidated at that site
    1. Both phones are running android 2.1
    2. Both phones have a GPU that will need part of the RAM
    3. Droid X doesn't need any RAM dedicated to the OS???

    C'mon people there something way deeper going on here!

    The only explanation is in the comments of that article that shows the architecture of the chip is using 128 MB as ONE DRAM for faster communication amongst the other processors.

    http://dev.odroid.com/wiki/odroid-t/pds/FrontPage/s_blockdiagram.jpg
    This design probably explains why there would be more lag in the Samsung phones.
    It sucks but it has to be the way it is.
    128MB of the ram is different from the rest and cannot be used by the OS
    :mad:
     

Share This Page

Loading...