3G and 4G reception terrible


Last Updated:

  1. 355spider

    355spider Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    13
    I thought it was ok until I played with my wife's stock 2.2 phone. I get terrible reception compared to her. I am unrevoekd forever, fresh 3.2, netrachys toastmod 4.1.2 kernel, pri 1.4. Any ideas on what to do. Do I need to flash a different wimax or radio?
     

    Advertisement
  2. mdizzle99

    mdizzle99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    108
    I have no help to offer, but I think I am having the same issue. My setup is similar with yours. When I posted about this a couple days ago I just got the advice to update prl and profile...but hasn't seemed to help. I also think that the poor signal is hurting my battery life.
     
  3. laredo7mm

    laredo7mm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    379
    Likes Received:
    77
    I would try it. Go to Flipz website and grab the radios from the link below:

    Radio
     
  4. surfologist87

    surfologist87 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    856
    Likes Received:
    110
    You could do that forced roaming hack, but i dont know how much longer that will last before Sprint starts terminating more contracts. (From what ive read in that thread, looks like theyre cracking down)
     
  5. mdizzle99

    mdizzle99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    108
    I just went to that flipz site and updated/changed my radio. I don't know very much about that stuff, so hopefully I did it right and hopefully it helps. I can't tell any significant difference yet, but its only been 5 min.
     
  6. mdizzle99

    mdizzle99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    108
    Well I'm still down around 1 or 2 bars of reception and battery life is suffering. I've also noticed that my wifi reception seems to be lower. Are these related at all and would that give any insights into what might fix it? I've tried flashing other roms and still getting the same reception issues.
     
  7. wake69

    wake69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,808
    Likes Received:
    513

    I am not sure what you are suffering, I am running fresh 3.2 with netarchy kernel and have the updated radios and pri and my evo gets better reception, battery life and wifi than when when i was stock

    Did you wipe cache and dalvik before flashing one radio, re boot wipe again and flash other radio?
     
  8. wake69

    wake69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,808
    Likes Received:
    513
    Also, reception may not be as bad as it looks, fresh has a i think a 4-5 bar stock indicator and htc stock had a 5-7 bar indicator right? so it may seem worse. And as for battery, wime your battery stats and fully charge, then let drain to below 10% and see if that helps. I have calibrated my battery, and while i do get better bat life, i am also underclocked and turn off all functions i dont use when i dont need them.
     
  9. surfologist87

    surfologist87 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    856
    Likes Received:
    110
    What exactly do you need to flash the radios for? And when should you do them?
     
  10. wake69

    wake69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,808
    Likes Received:
    513

    Htc/Sprint update the wimax and baseband radios on the evo cooasionly. You should update these if you are having reception issues or feel it would better serve you. flashing the radios are like flashing a kernel. you do ity from recovery and wipe dalvik and your cache. and you can only flash one radio at a time, then you need to reboot and wipe again then flash the other radio
     
    surfologist87 likes this.
  11. mdizzle99

    mdizzle99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    108
    The more I learn the more I feel like a noob. There are two radios? I just went to that flipz radio link and flashed the top one. I did do the wipes first, but I didn't wipe, flash radio, wipe, flash radio because I didn't know there wee two. Can you let me know what I'm missing?

    And you're right. It may just be that it appears to have worse reception.

    Thanks.
     
  12. surfologist87

    surfologist87 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    856
    Likes Received:
    110
    And i guess once you root you cant update anymore..?
    Do devs make their own radios that are 'better' than sprints?
    Thats what it looks like from reading this thread..
     
  13. wake69

    wake69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,808
    Likes Received:
    513
    I cant say that they are better than sprints, however they are inline with the updates sent by sprint
     
  14. mdizzle99

    mdizzle99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    108
    I decided to try and update radio again from flipz site, and noticed this:

    "This has only been tested and confirmed as working on Fresh Evo 3.0 (release coming) but will work on every 3.26.651.3 based rom"

    When I go to my phone info I see 3.28.651.1. Will that make any difference on how this will update/work? Finally, it doesn't seem to load correctly. I flash it onto my phone after doing the wipes and that seems fine, but it doesn't go through steps 5 through 10 as described in his link here:
    How To: Flash a Radio Update Sprint Evo 4g

    Any other thoughts? Thanks guys for your help..this is driving me crazy.
     
  15. surfologist87

    surfologist87 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    856
    Likes Received:
    110
    My baseband version is 2.15.00.0728 ... is that up to date?
     
  16. wake69

    wake69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,808
    Likes Received:
    513

    That's what mine is, and i would say that i am up to date
     
  17. 355spider

    355spider Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    13
    Any new news? and for the record the reception is actually worse. I run my wifes evo next to mine andI have a hard time connecting to the net when she does not.
     
  18. wake69

    wake69 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,808
    Likes Received:
    513

    Did you follow these instructions?
     
  19. 355spider

    355spider Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    13
    Well when I flashed my radios about a month ago I wiped beforehand if that's what you mean.
     
  20. mdizzle99

    mdizzle99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2010
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    108
    I've also installed both radios. I did the two wipes and reboots each time and I am still getting poor signal. Any other ideas? I've tried different roms, kernels, everything I can think of. Thanks everyone for their help. I don't know what I would do without these forums.
     
  21. 355spider

    355spider Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    13
    Any other ideas on what to do?
     
  22. treborcj

    treborcj Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    646
    Likes Received:
    33
    Well you could always call Sprint and see if they can do their magic over the phone.
     
  23. tardmobile

    tardmobile Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    197
    Likes Received:
    47
    also important to note: newest radio may not work for you in your area. I have zero 4G reception in Salt Lake when I'm on the newest radio. It doesn't work for me at all unless I'm on the second oldest 4G radio build. My regular/3G radio is fine on the newest update though.

    Do profile/prl updates and try again.
     
  24. 355spider

    355spider Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    13
    Any updates
     
  25. toomuchgame441

    toomuchgame441 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1,081
    Likes Received:
    78
    When I am in a 4G location, speeds are pretty great. My main problem is 3G...

    I'm typically in an area where I get full bars on 3G. When I had my Hero I always got speeds of 1.4 DL and .6 UL, now with the Evo I'm averaging about .5 mbs DL and .7 mbs UL which makes absolutely no sense. I've flashed a prev radio but it did nothing. I'm at a loss... and dear I say it, if I can figure this out I might consider returning my Evo.
     

Share This Page

Loading...