3G Data Not Working in applications?Support


Last Updated:

  1. Reverence

    Reverence Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    19
    At first I thought it was the application update that I recently performed in Yahoo Mail that was stopping my mail from loading, but I soon realize that my 3G data isn't working in applications.

    It shows the 3G in the notification bar and I can browse the internet on my phone, however applications that load information from the internet, such as Yahoo Mail and Facebook won't load new updates/e-mails unless I am connected to WiFi. I live in the North East. Anyone else seeing any issues? I tried resetting my 3G connection and it still doesn't work.
     

    Advertisement
  2. modelyacht

    modelyacht Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    17
    Same here after OTA.
    Factory reset fixed it for me...

    But still had a 3g issue for a while today.
    When it was on, and not working,
    ...battery was dropping rapidly.
     
  3. Reverence

    Reverence Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2010
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    19
    I haven't even gotten the OTA yet...and mine did the same thing today. I didn't have the phone on me and yet it had an awake time of almost 2 hours when I got out of work and the battery was at 60% when it is usually around 90% when I get out of work. It is weird because it is notifying me of new e-mails, but isn't letting me open them. It's like the 3G connection is allowing for a bit of data, but not a whole lot.

    I tried doing *228 to reprogram the phone and have it reset itself, but still no dice even after doing that. I'm going to try to do a battery pull but it seems like something might be wrong on Verizon's end.
     
  4. WormDoes

    WormDoes Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3,199
    Likes Received:
    1,270
    I live in MA and I'm having the same issue with 3G. I got the OTA yesterday morning and I was home sick so I was using WiFi all day/night. When I go to bed I shut off WiFi/Mobile Network and sync to conserve battery. This morning when I woke up I turned on 3G and noticed I wasn't getting any emails. I then went into FB and it wasn't loading at all. I went to WiFI and it worked flawlessly. I then tried an old Eris trick and put the phone in Airplane mode for a few seconds and then turned it off. I turned 3G back on and everthing was working normally. I've since noticed everytime I turn off Mobile Network and then turn it back on it doesn't work properly unless I put my phone in airplane mode first. This is extremely annoying and I hope it's just a minor problem on VZW's end. I don't want to have to factory reset my phone to get this problem resolved either. Has anyone called VZW to see what's going on? I mean, worse comes to worse, I'll continue to do the airplane mode trick rather than a factory reset but for the amount of money we pay monthly to use our phones we shouldn't have to find work arounds or tricks to get basic features to work as they should.
     
  5. shingleb

    shingleb New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I spent hours on the line with a very helpful Verizon Tech... couldn't figure out why my 3G was dropping. Finally a reset that wiped out my apps fixed it.... then it dawned on me I had been fooling around with Juice Defender the previous day. I'm pretty sure I caused the problem, somehow setting the data to shut down after a short time! I confessed to the tech, and he was appreciative. Now I plan to learn a little about Juice Defender....
     
  6. modelyacht

    modelyacht Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    17
    Don't blame juice defender...

    I don't even have that app, I have had 3g issues since the OTA Friday morning.
    Issue still comes and goes after a factory reset on Friday afternoon.

    My football scores weren't updating earlier, and my battery started dropping like a rock.
    There's either a 3g network or OTA issue.
     
  7. olbriar

    olbriar Moderator Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    16,704
    Likes Received:
    10,589
    I'm afraid I'm experiencing the same problem. My 3g is just iffy at best since the ota but was always solid as a rock here at my office. I didn't realize what the problem was at first.. just noticed my battery was dead many hours before norm. I've narrowed it down to the 3g connection. It's there sometimes.. and most the time it's not. That just kills a battery in no time as we all know. It's a new problem since the upgrade and I'm sure hoping there is a fix. I'm damn spoiled to always having a great connection.

    Update:
    I'm not struggling to get a 3g connection... the app has shut off and is grayed out saying it's turning on. I did a battery pull (back to my Storm daze) and it loaded on reboot. This is the second time I've noticed it completely off since the OTA update.
     
  8. shingleb

    shingleb New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I wasn't blaming Juice.... it was the juice settings that I screwed up!
    At any rate, whatever the Verizon tech did on his end did seem to improve the 3g as well.
     

Share This Page

Loading...