3g dropping outSupport


Last Updated:

  1. bradm23

    bradm23 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Noticed my 3g dropping out to 1x a lot. Happens all the time at work, my signal isn't very good here. I know this was a problem on the nexus one, just curious if anyone else had this problem. I tried a reset and the*228 option 2
     

    Advertisement
  2. secretLOVER

    secretLOVER Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    140
    I had it happen to me at work. Started getting horrible to no signal where it was normally perfect. Did a factory reset and works great again. Just didn't download the apps again i had recently installed. Factory reset was a breeze with appbrain and synching my contacts with google. Wont be afraid to do that again.
     
  3. dguy

    dguy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    985
    Likes Received:
    277
    Is this a problem that didn't happen with your Incredible before and just begun happening recently, or is it something that has always happened with it?
     
  4. VegasOnAcid

    VegasOnAcid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,758
    Likes Received:
    160
    I had this same problem, where it would just drop out and never come back unless i manually turned the network off and back on.. it was something that started about a month and a few weeks into owning. They sent me out a replacement, but before it came I did hard reset its never done it again.. hoping the issue does not return.
     
  5. Excedio

    Excedio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    44
  6. elrabin

    elrabin Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    50
    Actually, the signal strength to bars calculation on the Incredible IS wrong.

    I frequently show zero bars at -80dbm. However, data works fine at 3g speed and calls are fine quality.

    But, the only time i drop out to 1x is when my signal really is poor, -100 or lower.

    Sounds like he has a genuine issue.
     
  7. Excedio

    Excedio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    44
    Joke = Failed
     
  8. bradm23

    bradm23 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    My signal was at 91. Sometimes it turns back to 3g but sometimes I need to reset the device or turn airplane mode on then off.
    Doing a factory reset would mean I need to root again, right?

    Seems to only happen when I have bad signal strength, so I'm going to blame it on that for now
     
  9. Excedio

    Excedio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    44
    I've heard of people formatting just to test this. They still had root.
     
  10. bradm23

    bradm23 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    So people are claiming a factory reset fixed the low signal issue?
    Also was this only happening to people with very low signal strength?
     
  11. bradm23

    bradm23 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    So people are claiming a factory reset fixed the low signal issue?
    Also was this only happening to people with very low signal strength?
     
  12. VegasOnAcid

    VegasOnAcid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,758
    Likes Received:
    160
    I never had any issues with my phone at all, including low signal strength, till about a week ago. The 3g connection would just die completely and ONLY come back if I turned mobile network off and back on.. and then it would only stay for a brief time. Factory reset fixed this, but we will see how long it lasts I guess. its only been about a week or two so far, but no problems.
     

Share This Page

Loading...