3G for AT&TSupport


Last Updated:

  1. randy_c

    randy_c Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    1
    I know AT&T will come out with I897 but knowing AT&T they will modify software changing the phone spec etc...
    So my question: If i get the samsung galaxy S with 3G 900/1900/2100: will it work for AT&T3G? AT&T 3G had both 850/1900. I live in Denver and look at the 3G map and seem like AT&T had both frequency?
     

    Advertisement
  2. FlyPenFly

    FlyPenFly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    27
    Depends on if you have 1900mhz... I might take that risk as well in NYC. My iPhone 3G tells me it's on 1900 most of the time here.
     
  3. Phawx

    Phawx Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    9
    Just so you guys know, I have a Samsung i8910 and the 1900 Band does indeed work with 3G in NYC area.

    Also, because ATT can't recognize what phone I have, I am allowed the $10/month family data plan. And this does include 3G.

    Quick Edit:

    Are you guys certain ALL unlocked Galaxy S' have 900/1900/2100 for UTMS?
     
    randy_c likes this.
  4. randy_c

    randy_c Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    1

    Is there a way to check if your area has 1900 or 850? I don't want to call AT&T? I think there should be a way to check if you have 3G on 1900 or 850 right?
     
  5. elchingon666

    elchingon666 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    17

    SAMSUNG mobile - GALAXY S
     
  6. FlyPenFly

    FlyPenFly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2010
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    27
    How is your 3G in Manhattan?
     
  7. randy_c

    randy_c Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    1

    I wonder that myself too because expansys USA listed 900/2100 for 3G. I emailed them and ask them to confirm but no respond from them. They listed for ~$600.00 some other site listed for $500.00

    Just figured out how to test 3G frequency using iphone:

    When in 3G, enter Field Test Mode: *3001#12345#*
    When in Field Test, go to: UMTS Cell Environment - UMTS RR Info - Downlink Frequency.
    Note the Number...
    I think this is what is referred to as 'Channel.' How you convert this to whether this is 1900 or 850, I found on the forum:
    ______________________
    850 Channels:
    Channels 4357 - 4458
    Divide channel number by 5 (i.e. 4384 = 876.8 MHz)
    Channels 1007, 1012, 1032, 1037, 1062, 1087 (850):
    Divide the channel number by 5 and add 670.1 (i.e. 1007 = 871.5 MHz)
    1900 Channels:
    Channels 9662 - 9938:
    Divide channel number by 5 (9662 = 1932.4 MHz)
    Channels 412, 437, 462, 487, 512, 537, 562, 587, 612, 637, 662, 687 (1900):
    Divide the channel number by 5 and add 1850.1 (i.e. 412 = 1932.5 MHz)
     
  8. DrFunk

    DrFunk Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dudes, I've been wondering the same thing. I've asked a whole host of retailers if the phone does support 1900 mhz, with no answers. I even asked Samsung, and no reply.

    I may take the risk, since the official website lists it as having the 1900 Mhz band. :rolleyes:
     
  9. Phawx

    Phawx Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    9
    3G in NYC on 1900 is okay. I get 3G+ in Northern Jersey where I live on 1900 Mhz. I'm pretty sure the whole tri-state area runs 3G on 1900 for ATT.
     
  10. DrFunk

    DrFunk Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'll clarify as well. I live in Atlanta, and the whole city is saturated with 850 and 1900 Mhz. Right now at home, my iphone is pulling 1900 mhz. Might have something to do with the fact that ATT wireless is headquartered in Atlanta, but hey, it's nice to know.
     
  11. ewingr

    ewingr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    579
    Likes Received:
    30
    Seems to me that if you got one you would want to cover all of AT&T frequencies. If you travel, who knows what frequency will be in use.
     
  12. randy_c

    randy_c Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    1
    Bother me to see the pdf attached. Only show 3G 900/2100.
     
  13. DrFunk

    DrFunk Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
  14. 2FR35H

    2FR35H Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,224
    Likes Received:
    84
    So its possible for T-mobile to use this currently as well tmobile's 3g is 1700 and 2100
     
  15. DrFunk

    DrFunk Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not exactly, as T-Mobile's AWS frequency needs 1700 and 2100 to use 3G. ATT can just get by with 1900.
     
  16. 2FR35H

    2FR35H Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,224
    Likes Received:
    84
    Why is it that at&t can get by on one frequency and tmobile can't?
     
  17. VJKotts

    VJKotts Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    75
    Here is a video of someone in New York who got the international version of the galaxy S and is using it on AT&T 1900 bands. He says it is working well for him.

    YouTube - Samsung Galaxy S on ATT 3g

    Hmmm... now I'm tempted to go for this because I don't like the AT&T version and don't like their policy of blocking downloads from unknown sources.
     
  18. tsanuri

    tsanuri Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    541
    Likes Received:
    44

Share This Page

Loading...