3G Hotspot Charges?


Last Updated:

  1. dnelms

    dnelms Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2010
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    If I did not get the monthly Hotspot charge when i signed up and did use the hotspot for an emergency connection, what is Verizons rate on that? All I can find on their site is what the per MB charge after the %GB you get with the monthly hotspot plan.

    Once I get more comfortable with it, I'll root and would not have this worry. But for now, I'd like to know what it would cost as a pay per use charge?
     

    Advertisement
  2. jdk33

    jdk33 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    37
    I don't think you can use it on a pay per use basis. When you turn the hotspot feature on, you're directed to call Verizon sales so they can add the hotspot feature to your account. If you don't go through with that step the hotspot won't work. It's $20 a month, and I'm going to assume if you activate it once to use it they'll charge you for the entire month.
     
  3. dhoffman1421

    dhoffman1421 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2010
    Messages:
    620
    Likes Received:
    49
    Somehow there is a hack I think but I couldn't find it here searching...
     
  4. eraursls1984

    eraursls1984 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    800
    Likes Received:
    76
    I think all you have to do is open the hotspot app, then turn off 3g connection and back on again then of should work free of charge. I could be wrong because I've never used it.
     
  5. wxman2003

    wxman2003 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    43
    Verizon does pro rate 3g hotspot. You can sign up for it, and drop it a week later, and its pro rated for one week, and there is an easy hack. Turn on 3g hotspot, then go into settings, data manager, data delivery, toggle off and on data enabled, and voila, 3g hotspot service.
     
  6. MCPO117

    MCPO117 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    17
    If you want it free of charge then you need to root your device first. If you purchase the team blackhat app then it has everything in there you need to get set up with free wifi hotspot. Its fairly simple if you get that app.
     
  7. eraursls1984

    eraursls1984 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2010
    Messages:
    800
    Likes Received:
    76
    I don't think you have to root to use the 3g hack, and you don't have to have the team black hat app either.
     
  8. MCPO117

    MCPO117 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    17
    The toggle method never worked for me it always took me to the self provisioning page to setup the $20 a month feature. Did the TBH method and it works like a charm every time.
     
  9. wxman2003

    wxman2003 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    43
    I have been using the toggle off/on hack for 2 months now. Have not been charged for it.
     
  10. G.Armour

    G.Armour You know you want to. VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4,534
    Likes Received:
    306
    Is there a widget that actually works to toggle 3g on and off on the X?
     
  11. jsward12

    jsward12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    303
    Likes Received:
    26
    So this kind of works, the 3g keeps going offline/online.
     
  12. wxman2003

    wxman2003 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    411
    Likes Received:
    43
    I don't know why you are having that problem. That doesn't happen to me.
     
  13. festerw

    festerw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    8
    I just use the stock widget to toggle airplane mode on and off.
     
  14. ghoticov

    ghoticov Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    55
    Do you have to root in order to use the Team Blackhat app?
     
  15. Aggie12

    Aggie12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,682
    Likes Received:
    429
    No reason to buy the TBH app you can get the hack here in their thread. But yes, you need to be rooted to apply the patch

    Also, easyswitch from the market can toggle data connection. I don't see how airplane mode would work since it toggles the wifi as well. Festerw, have you tried airplane mode with the hack?
     
  16. G.Armour

    G.Armour You know you want to. VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4,534
    Likes Received:
    306
    Now you tell me, after I already bought it, but there ain't anything wrong with supporting a good dev.
    So yeah, I bought the app, applied the patch and it works beautifully; no more toggling data on and off. I just hope that we don't get charged for it.
     
  17. Aggie12

    Aggie12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    1,682
    Likes Received:
    429
    hahaha sorry. :( but yeah always good to support the community. With TBH they release everything that they post in the app at mydroidworld 2 days after they release it on the app. Just a way to say thanks to the donators. And someone over at MDW said that they've used this for two billing cycles and nothing came up on their bill. but let us know if it does.
     
  18. BankZ

    BankZ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    6
    Does the "TBH Method" work with all roms? does it also do USB tethering? Any worries about VZW finding out?
     
  19. MCPO117

    MCPO117 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    17
    Any Rom where the dev left the 3g hotspot app on there this will work for it. Does not do usb tether as far as I know could be wrong on that but I'm pretty sure it is strictly wireless. And if you go hog wild on internet VZW can find out but that would be if you're using more than 5 GB's a month that will throw up some red flags.
     
  20. G.Armour

    G.Armour You know you want to. VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4,534
    Likes Received:
    306
    There is a USB method here... TBH: Droid 3G Hotspot NVRAM Hack
    post 56. But I can't seem to get it to work. I get connected, but it never allows internet access.
     
  21. festerw

    festerw Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    8
    Nope don't have the hack.
     
  22. G.Armour

    G.Armour You know you want to. VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4,534
    Likes Received:
    306
    I couldn't ever get the 3g hotspot to work only by using airplane mode on and off.
     
  23. ZXMustang

    ZXMustang Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    10
  24. G.Armour

    G.Armour You know you want to. VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4,534
    Likes Received:
    306
    Yes you have to be rooted, no you don't have to be on 2.1 or lower. I actually still have this app on my DX so you can use it with Froyo. But IMO, it ain't as fast as the 3G hotspot. It is an ad-hoc connection, much like Barnacle off the market, which this app can be found in the market to.
     
  25. darkcyber

    darkcyber Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2009
    Messages:
    1,608
    Likes Received:
    151
    Interested in this topic because getting my kids some Ipod Touches for Christmas (yeah, I know Apple...please don't flame me, that is what they wanted :D )

    Anyways, sad that there is not a easy solution for this yet like all those years I used PDANet for tethering my laptop to my different smartphones and never had to pay Verizon's ridiculous extra fees for using my data connection with my laptop.
     

Share This Page

Loading...