3g is sometimes slower than edge, and what is this "H" mean


Last Updated:

  1. mudrock1000

    mudrock1000 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    13
    Doesn't matter the rom I am running I notice, and i'm running the Eclair radio if i remember correctly.

    Anyways For some reason EDGE can be faster than my 3g, because my 3g is fail when I'm using it, and when I'm on 3g it goes into these spurts where the letter is "H" and my data works again until i shift to 3g.

    Anyone know about this?
     

    Advertisement
  2. RellikZephyr

    RellikZephyr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    4
    The H should be hsdpa or hspa which is basically just full 3g speeds. I would have thought the phone displayed either 3g or H. Not shifting between them, so im not sure what's happening there



    Sent from my Nexus One using Tapatalk
     
  3. mudrock1000

    mudrock1000 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    13
    Theres that aspect. I may have to jump to the XDA devs later, but I figured i'd come here first.
     
  4. cyberbob25

    cyberbob25 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    Messages:
    183
    Likes Received:
    11
    According to Cyanogen's tweets in the past, it is normal for it to bounce back and forth between 3G and H. Something along the lines of it only switching to HSDPA when needed (transferring large amount of data) in order to conserve battery.
     
  5. theartfullodger

    theartfullodger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    10
    Edge , 3G, HSPDA etc... merely define the (maximum potential) link speed between your handset & the mobile 'phone mast.... If the network between the mobile 'phone mast & whereever you are going is clogged, badly engineered or whatever then the overall speed between handset & far end can be a whole range of speeds.....

    Cheers!

    Lodger
     
  6. Bob Loblaw1

    Bob Loblaw1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    24
    What does "G" mean? GSM or something? Newb alert.
     
  7. kaotix

    kaotix Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    7
    Before o2 cut off my data I would have the H (HSDPA) icon on my N1 constantly. There was obviously no data being transfered all the time it was just a connection to the cellular network.

    OP: have you done a speed test to see if your EDGE is faster than 3G or are you going off page load times etc? It might just be a visual effect that is causing it to seem faster. Just a thought.
     
  8. smitty24

    smitty24 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    3
    it stands for GPRS connection

    In order of speed from slow to fast:
    G (GPRS)
    E (EDGE)
    3g (3g)
    H (HSPDA)
     
  9. bitxboi

    bitxboi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2009
    Messages:
    323
    Likes Received:
    6
    I think the 'H' doesn't appear unless you have a rooted Nexus One. Anyone, I'm happy with my 3G/Edge behaviour
     
  10. theartfullodger

    theartfullodger Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    10
    Re...
    I understood the "G" in "3G" stood for "Generation" (see,.,,..

    3G - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

    - and yes, there will of course be a 4G (and then a 5G,,,,,) so when 4G networks & 'phones turn up we can all be encouraged to buy new 'phones... yet again!!!


    Cheers!


    Lodger
     
  11. Buck Shot

    Buck Shot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    11
    I rooted my N1 and had no idea what the H was for. I just assumed it was for 3G considering since my root its been this way when Im in my 3G area. I have yet to see a 3G symbol since the root...
     
  12. Bob Loblaw1

    Bob Loblaw1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2010
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    24
    Smitty24 had it right. It's just a G I'm talking about, not the G in 3G.
     
  13. kafkef

    kafkef Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    The "H" stands for HSPA (High Speed Packet Acess) or 3.5G. Basically, 3G on steroids.
     
  14. mudrock1000

    mudrock1000 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    13
    Well it cant be a cynogen rom thing because I get it alot on my Modaco rom too (Sense Alpha...14 I think?)

    Anyways one last problem - why the eff is my normal 3g slower than ball sack and my Edge makes it look like it's worse than crap?
     
  15. ztmike

    ztmike Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    2
    The stock Nexus One OS won't show any higher than "3G" as a icon.

    If you root you will see "H" which stands for HSPA its supposedly better than 3G, but from speed tests I've done using the Speedtest.net app there really is no difference for speeds (in my area anyway)

    "H" will only kick in once it sees you are trying to transmit a good amount of data. If it stays on H you might have a problem with the Rom you downloaded as that isn't normal. Or you are just transmitting data nonstop.

    I rooted with the CyangoenMod and it goes from G-H for me..but mostly never get G, which is dog shit slow. (slower than Edge) or "E"
     
  16. malt1977

    malt1977 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0

    Here you go, (Global System for Mobile communication)

    Google is your friend :D
     

Share This Page

Loading...