3g issue fix idea/test


Last Updated:

  1. herojames

    herojames Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    anyone think that the way to check if its software or hardware would be to run a nexus with android 1.5 or android 1.6 on to see how that affects the radio? 1.5 and 1.6 had good stable radio files as far as i know, i suspect that if an n1 that had the issue with 2.1, performs fine with 1.6 then u can narrow it down to software?

    just a thought

    james
     

    Advertisement
  2. temperbad

    temperbad Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    2
    I don't have a 3 g issue and I don't believe there is one. I can do the same thing to my tp2 in a bad coverage area and that will happen when covering the antenna
     
  3. 1080p

    1080p Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    59
    The unreleased/leaked ERE36B update has a new radio that drastically improves 3G signals.
     
  4. SubyWill

    SubyWill Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    8
    i haven't been on edge yet, i've had full 3g everywhere i go......
     
  5. MartinS

    MartinS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,111
    Likes Received:
    197
    just don't hold the lower portion of the phone...
     
  6. Hegemony

    Hegemony Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    23
    I get the occasional switch to Edge. Happens in some buildings and certain areas. Not too bad though. I've seen no real effect when holding the phone by the bottom. For the time being, I'm not too concerned.
     
  7. herojames

    herojames Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    i do though!

    holding blackberry in one hand, nexus in other, right outside vodafone store where i know they have a 3g booster. both phones on voda, bb showing 5 bars 3g nexus showing about 3

    as i move away bb holds 3g the nexus loses it, if i then put bb away and turn the nexus round to hold in landsscape, the 3g comes back! very odd!

    lol
     
  8. herojames

    herojames Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    although here is the strange thing, where my bb loses 2g signal in my house, my nexus holds it brilliantly!
     
  9. SubyWill

    SubyWill Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2010
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    8

    i don't have that problem, when i do that i still have full bars of 3g.
     
  10. gibson6594

    gibson6594 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    1
    I have experienced significant decrease in upload and download speeds since the updates. I had comparison speeds before and after the update. There is no reason why i should be getting 0.14mbps download speeds in the heart of Manhattan. At least before the update I was getting 2+mbps dl speeds. This is the top priority right now that needs to be fixed. All the other complaints should take a second seat to this. Without a reliable network speed we may as well be on a Edge device. I did not buy a Nexus 1 to be slow.
     
  11. herojames

    herojames Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    well my two main gripes are the 3g issue and the fact that converted films/tv shows lose audio sync!

    otherwise im seriously addicted to this device

    he he
     

Share This Page

Loading...