3G Radio ON/OFF widget?Support


Last Updated:

  1. Bearly

    Bearly Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,011
    Likes Received:
    78
    The standard power control widget is great but does not seem to have a switch for Mobile Internet (3G). Am I right?

    If so, is there a power-control-looking widget that has a switch for Mobile Internet?

    And yes, I tried searching the forums but did not find an answer. It could be buried in the layout thread or must have apps thread.

    EDIT:

    I was looking on App Brain and saw a few toggle widgets, but:

    A lot don't seem to work on the Incredible. Several are especially incompatible with Launcher Pro, which I am running, or incompatible with CDMA phones.
     

    Advertisement
  2. Outatime

    Outatime Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,618
    Likes Received:
    651
    Widget > Settings > Mobile Network.
     
    AnotherHiggins likes this.
  3. ChiTownJim

    ChiTownJim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,380
    Likes Received:
    286
    Just hold down the power buttong and an option to turn the mobile network off comes up on the bottom of the menu.

    I too was searching for a widget to use with launcherpro but have given up and this is pretty much jsut as easy
     
  4. ChiTownJim

    ChiTownJim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,380
    Likes Received:
    286
    This is not compatible with Launcher Pro which is a bummer
     
  5. jbdan

    jbdan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,121
    Likes Received:
    3,187
    I used to toggle 3G on and off like it was going out of style...trying to save battery and it did albeit minimal in my experience. I just leave mine on now all the time I get a day and a half off a charge on the 1750 SEIDIO so it's all good. There is not (that I know of) a 3G toggle that directly toggles it on and off without going into the 3G settings for home replacements. This is why many stick to Sense.
     
  6. plim

    plim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    19
    Doesn't turning off Mobile Internet also turn off 1x Data?
     
  7. lexluthor

    lexluthor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Messages:
    4,161
    Likes Received:
    402
    Yes, most people here seem to refer to mobile internet = 3g. Technically, that's incorrect.

    Turning off mobile internet complete turns off "the internet". You can still make calls/send texts though.

    On previous phones I had, I was able to turn off 3G and keep 1x. Huge battery savings (at the expense of a huge drop in speed/usability on the internet), especially in marginal signal areas.
     
  8. freddyttt

    freddyttt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    45
    I use cvolume light its in the market-

    4 separate controls for bluetooth, GPS, WI-FI and mobile internet-

    one touch=off. one touch on(seperatly). and its free.
     
  9. jbdan

    jbdan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    7,121
    Likes Received:
    3,187
    I just looked at these apps which one are you talking about specifically there are several and they all seem to only control volume?
     
  10. jaybeth421

    jaybeth421 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is also my preferred method. No extra icon on screen and just as easy.
     
  11. ChiTownJim

    ChiTownJim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,380
    Likes Received:
    286
    Whats funny is , I dislike Sense so much and enjoy LP so much that I actually put a home switcher icon on my screen and would switch to sense while I was at work where I only had one thing on the Network Widget and would do it that way until someone on this site pulled my head out of my arse and made me relize I was ******ed and there is a option on the power menu .. .DUHHHHH
     
  12. freddyttt

    freddyttt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    45
    My bad. the cvolume app lets me easily lower any one of my notifications.

    I cant find how and where i got the other app. i checked my downloads at the market, no good. alls i know is its 4 seperate touchy apps that turn off wifi,gps,blue and mobile internet.


    ill keep looking-
     
  13. wireless4less

    wireless4less New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    does not show up on the devour
     
  14. wayrad

    wayrad Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,177
    Likes Received:
    148
    Actually EasySwitch will do it in a single step under 2.1 or 2.2. Works fine with LauncherPro too.
     
  15. aeonman

    aeonman New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    EasySwitch for the win. Looks pretty too.

    I use it cuz my 3G radio keeps randomly shutting off and on. Now I can fight the symptom til I find the cause.

    SGS2 andy2.5
     

Share This Page

Loading...