3G settings - UMTSSupport


Last Updated:

  1. babbu

    babbu New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys,

    This is my 1st time on forums and I am a new customer of SE Xperia x10i. Need some help :)

    I got 3G activated SIM with this mobile. Problem is, sometimes while using internet on this mobile, the 3G gets automatically switched to 2G which totally kills my internet speed. Regardless of the signals or location, the 3G or 2G keeps switching in between. Whenever I see 3G symbol on status bar of my mobile, the internet speed is Godlike and whenever the 3G symbol from status bar goes off and the "E" with upload and download arrows comes there, the speed becomes Nooblike and shitty!...like 2 kbps or 4 kbps. (As per my knowledge, E over the UP and down arrows on Notification Bar represents 2G and sad speed GPRS internet. And the 3G with arrow symbols on Notification Bar represents active internet with ultra speed of 3G.

    I spoke with my service provider regarding it, I was told to select UMTS from "Network Type" settings. But, there is no such thing in Networks. All I can see is 1.GSM 2.WCDMA and 3.GSM / WCDMA under the Mobile Networks settings. There is no window or menu that shows anything to prevent this internet speed switching between 2G and 3G. I want to only keep 3G always ON for better internet speed on my mobile.

    Is it because of my outdated Android OS version of XPERIA X10i or problem with my piece or problem from my mobile service provider? :confused:

    Please tell me what can be done. If possible, send me the solution of babbu20088@rediffmail.com :)

    Thanks.
     

    Advertisement
  2. X10iUser

    X10iUser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,328
    Likes Received:
    332
    Hi.

    The problem is more than likely due to your phone being branded. This is all I see...

    [​IMG]

    ...UK Generic FW, but also on the reception in your area. Sat here I can't get 3G, step outside however and I don't have any issues.
     
  3. MrWomble

    MrWomble Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    51
    Hi there - your network provider was entirely correct telling you to switch to UMTS - however its your service provider who is out of date in information

    Now as X10iUser has stated - 3G is in its basic form, a better strength signal on your network, which can vary from inside to outside and is dependant on lots of factors - including weather

    But to start with UMTS (Universal Mobile Telecommunications System) is one of the 3G technologies

    WCDMA is an air interface standard found in 3G networks.

    So in the X10 settings GSM is 2g and WCDMA is 3g

    Now it is possible to set it to 3G network only (WCDMA ONLY) - but this will mean a lot of the time you WILL NOT be able to do anything as you wont have a signal

    Setting to GSM ONLY will improve battery life but data connection speeds will be slow

    Setting to GSM/WCDMA PREFERRED will give you the best of both, enabled for text, calls and date all the time in signal, but with the benefit of 3G speeds when within range of a suitable network spot

    the chances of 24/7 3G network access is very slim as not many networks have the capability
     
    X10iUser likes this.
  4. X10iUser

    X10iUser Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,328
    Likes Received:
    332
    Nice post Womble.
     
  5. MrWomble

    MrWomble Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    51
    Thanks

    This stuff i understand :rolleyes:;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...