3G T-Mobile uSA frequencies question


Last Updated:

  1. punky

    punky Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    7
    Hi,

    Will the HTC Desire use 3G data with T-Mobile USA?

    The HTC desire 3G frequencies are: HSPA/WCDMA: 900/2100 MHz
    T-Mobile USA uses: AWS 1700/2100 MHz

    Will it work? I.E. do both frequencies have to match, or just one? or is AWS different from HSPA/WCDMA?

    It the normal GSM/data is quad band on the phone so should be no problems there (phone has 1900mhz and T-Mobile USA uses 1900mhz)

    Many thanks in advance.
     

    Advertisement
  2. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218
    No.

    T-Mo (USA) requires 1700 for 3G.

    GSM will "work" (i.e. you will connect) however at Edge speeds (~250Kb)
     
    punky likes this.
  3. punky

    punky Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    7
    Doh, suspected as much. Cheers dude.
     
  4. sirsilent

    sirsilent Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    The US 3G frequencies are ******ed, why can't they all just use the 2100 MHz like the rest of the world? Would make things MUCH easier...
     
  5. larryccf

    larryccf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    15
    i spent at least 1.5 hours researching this subject - and found a FCC chart showing 1700 band (actually its 1710 -1755) was the upload freq, and the 2100 band (2110 - 2155) the download. And thought it'd be fine, as long as i had 3G download speeds, i could live with Edge upload

    someone on this forum pointed out, and i confirmed with a higher level tech at Tmo- if the phone doesn't have both freqs., Tmo will automatically put it on edge
     
  6. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218

    Then the T-Mobile signal's building penetration would be worse than it already is, with the higher frequency.
     
  7. nx1977

    nx1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    172
    Never had any issues myself on Tmob UK or Orange (prev carrier) where others have.
     
  8. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218
    Fair enough, but T-Mob UK and Orange are not here in the states.
     
  9. nx1977

    nx1977 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    2,419
    Likes Received:
    172
    I know that. I was refering to your penetration issues of using that frequency ;)

    Their GSM networks are both 1800, and actually have very good coverage - certainly Orange's GSM coverage is very good.
     
  10. colnago

    colnago Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,091
    Likes Received:
    218
    I know that. It still doesn't change the fact that I still have "no connection" inside (4) different stores I frequent around my town. As soon as I am outside of the door, I get full bars 3G. Having a tower in close proximity can help overcome building penetration issues, unfortunately, T-Mo USA's network is not that robust stateside, on its 1700/2100 freq.
     

Share This Page

Loading...