3G turn off and on ! Wi-fi Connection on Behold IISupport


Last Updated:

  1. Zino_BeholdII

    Zino_BeholdII Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I have bought a BEHOLD II off Ebay ,and I'm still wait for it to ship to my house. I'm wondering if somehow I could turn off 3g network since I don't have the plan , and I only want to use it by WIFI .

    Here is a quote from BHold II manual

    "When you are not in range of a Wi-Fi connection, your normal cellular network takes over and keeps you
    connected. Your phone switches automatically from Wi-Fi to cellular whenever it's necessary to maintain your
    connection, whether your phone is displaying the Home screen or in the middle of an active call. The switching
    process is virtually unnoticeable."

    That means if I don't have 3g plan rightnow on my Behold II , then I don't have 3g network on my phone obviously right . I only want use WIFI because that is what I want, but what happen if the 3G network turn on when I am in 3G network area , and Tmobile will charge me the date plan for using it .

    My questions are : is there anyway to turn off 3g network from Behold 2 ? and if I don't have 3g plan , can I still use WIFI constantly on the Behold II without 3G , and do tmobile charge me even if I don't have the plan ?



    Another quick question : How to update the BUG FIX for Behold II , Do we go to setting and click update.We do need the internet connection in order to get the update over-the-air from Tmobile right ?

    Thanks for all of your answer .
     

    Advertisement
  2. bdc

    bdc Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    3
    I also bought my Behold 2 from EBay and used it for the first 1-1.5 months without a data plan, and without charges from T-Mobile. My prior phone, which I just moved the SIM card from, had no data plan - I can't guarantee there's no charges if you have a basic (non-Android) data plan on your current line. Note that WiFi will drain the battery faster than 3G, so you're not likely to get more than a days usage on a charge if you keep WiFi on all the time. It's easy to toggle it on/off.

    Regarding the bug fix, I never got it even when I was registered with T-Mobile. I would recommend installing one of the custom roms on this forum, which also upgrade to Android 1.6 to provide turn-by-turn navigation support in Google Maps. There is also the updated (with bug fix) Andoid 1.5 official rom on this forum - refer to the thread on using ODIN to drop any of these roms onto your phone.
     
  3. drawoh

    drawoh Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    1
    you can download apndroid (there are other apps out there that can turn off 3g) first thing when you get the phone it'll connect with edge or 3g for a couple minutes so you can download the app then you can say goodbye to 3g :)
     
  4. Zino_BeholdII

    Zino_BeholdII Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow , ok ! That means I can't download app via WiFi networks. Does Tmobile charge if I am using 3G network for the first time even if I don't have 3G plan rightnow .

    Note: I am still waiting for my phone , so I can't test it yet .

    Thanks for your info guys .
     
  5. aequitas3

    aequitas3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2010
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    44
    You won't have a 3g connection unless you have the android data plan for ($30) a month. I had the behold 1 (t919) before buying this phone and already had the data plan for it ($25/mo) but as soon as I got this phone from ebay, I had them switch me to the android data plan (which is supposed to be $30/mo) but am still charged 25/mo...so if you have an existing data plan, you might wanna check that out...maybe you'll get lucky too...
     
  6. drawoh

    drawoh Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    1
    i dont have a plan but somehow i can still connect to the 3g/edge networks, you can download apps with wifi. you can always try turning on your wifi first before going over to the market and download the app :D
     
  7. psz

    psz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    27
    I don't have an Android data plan: When I upgraded to the B2 from my Razor, I just popped my old SIM card in, and everything works. (I've been on T-Mobile the whole time, it should be noted)
     
  8. TheKrell

    TheKrell Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    5
    I'm about to buy my wife a Nokia Nuron which has no wifi but does have 3G and GPS and the web. Unlimited text and unlimited web costs $10/mo for the Nuron. What will happen when I plug my wife's SIM card into my B2?

    I now formally apologize for this OT post. And I see Androidforums won't let me delete it. :(
     
  9. korywiesner

    korywiesner Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    5
    On the dial pad dial *#87927#
    Select the APN and at the bottom you can choose APN Type....Choose MMS only.

    I do have t say though doing this seems like it made for a pain in the ass for sending picture messages.
    I think that is why I put it back.
     
    DEEV likes this.
  10. Beatdough

    Beatdough Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    1. Yes you can use wi-fi to connect to the android market and with applications.
    2. If you don't have a data plan, your phone will only use 3G to access t-zones. Any apps you have running that uses data will try to use the 3G signal, but will be denied access and you won't be charged.
    3. Yes you can turn off 3G, but edge will still run so you can send and receive messages.
     
  11. Big Dog KMc

    Big Dog KMc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    7

    If you want to turn ALL Data Connection off.

    Open App menu or Quicklist on Toutchwiz.

    Tap on

    Settings/Phone Settings/Mobile Network Settings

    on the Item Labeled

    "Enable Data on Boot"

    Un Check the box then back out to your desktop and restart the phone.
    no more data connection.

    Under that is the "Use only 2G Networks"
    Uncheck the box if you only want Edge and no 3G.
    ----------------------------------------------
    This Link has the Information on updating without needing the data plan

    http://androidforums.com/all-things...n-images-available-latest-t-mobile-stock.html
     
  12. DEEV

    DEEV New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0

    mmm..hello! im new here ive been searching for a week now why my BH2 is keep charging me(into my load). but im not using any data, i dont have a data plan and i want to use only wifi. i tried your advice..now im waiting from my cellular network to text me so that i will know if it keeps me charging uneccessary.

    thank you! :)
    BTW! sorry for my bad english...
     

Share This Page

Loading...