3uk network. question


Last Updated:

  1. jaybo1973

    jaybo1973 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    14
    Hi

    I only got my desire on monday, and set up my, MY3 account today in order to check data etc online.

    I have unlimited data (as we know though its capped off at 1gb) Something must be very wrong as it says on my account 545mb remaining?? I have done some playing but mainly while on wifi. Not downloaded any apps or anything whilst away from home.

    Any ideas? Do 3 bill on a certain date so I only got a part month for my first month?
     

    Advertisement
  2. chris 290

    chris 290 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    44
    Auto updating could be part of the problem. Download 3g watchdog to monitor, select manual update on widgets. Stock browser uses alot of data, ten times as much data as opera mini per webb page.

    I use opera for 3g internet myself.

    Does sound really high though, I use about 10mb per day.

    Hope you locate the problem quickly :)
     
  3. jaybo1973

    jaybo1973 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    14
    Thanks, I will get 3g watchdog.

    It seems I have found the problem though. I was sold the deal in CPW on sunday, both online and instore it said that the internet texter 300 contract had unlimited internet usage and I was led to believe that it was 1gb. After going back on the CPW site, unlimited has been replaced with 500mb for the deal
     
  4. DjLukeW

    DjLukeW Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    25
    when you get a contract you dont always get your full allowance for ur first month. works on a pro rata bases
     
  5. jaybo1973

    jaybo1973 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    14
    Hopefully this is it but it has definately changed on the CPW since sunday. Odd how I have 545mb though, so hopefully you are right and the deal has changed since sunday.

    Another question to all. Does the monthly allowence include uploading too?
     
  6. master_yoda

    master_yoda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    50
    Your monthly allowance is the combined uploaded and downloaded data. So if you upload aprox 200mb and download aprox 800mb that will be your 1gb used up!

    It sounds like you have 1gb allowance if its showing 545mb left, as thats over the 500mb allowance. Although the Internet Texter 300 plan usually does only have 500mb allowance included.

    Dont forget if you use a lot of data you can add an extra 2gb of data per month for
     
  7. jaybo1973

    jaybo1973 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    14
     
  8. jellybaby

    jellybaby New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    2
    3uk have put the 500mb up to 1gb a few weeks back
     
    jaybo1973 likes this.
  9. chris 290

    chris 290 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    44
    8mb sounds about right for a working day :) looks like things are OK.

    Remember if you access my3 it is free but 3G watchdog will still log that data usage.

    Same with skype and msm messenger.

    Opera is not a good web browsing experience but to look up a few things its fine. Speed is very fast so that's good. Data usage will be about a tenth of standard.

    Have fun with your desire.
     
    Baggy likes this.
  10. jaybo1973

    jaybo1973 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    14
    That was quite early this morning though :) Got up to 17mb now. I am still at the stage where I keep playing with it though. Its google maps with the sat layer that does it. Also had a play with navigation. I dread to think what it would be like if I was going 100 miles???
     
  11. pauled

    pauled Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi, your billing date is about 4/5 days from connection so the first set of allowances are always a bit more on pro rata basis.

    Hope that helps !!
     
  12. jaybo1973

    jaybo1973 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    14
    Thanks. Ill see what happens. Thought the info would be on MY3
     
  13. chris 290

    chris 290 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    44
    Ah using satnav, I program route when using wifi then switch off mobile internet, it will still work but if you go off course then it won't reroute unless you switch on 3g data.

    If you pick up the route at any time it auto starts to route you again.

    Doing it like this saves your mobile data allowance.

    You can leave mobile data on then it will only use data to reroute you if you go offcourse.
     
  14. jaybo1973

    jaybo1973 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    14
    Ah, thats pretty handy then :) Pitty you cant put maps on SD though
     
  15. chris 290

    chris 290 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    44
    Think there are map cacheing programs on the market, I had one but could not figure it out. Maybe you will have better luck :)
     
  16. jaybo1973

    jaybo1973 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    14
    Ill take a look. thanks
     
  17. master_yoda

    master_yoda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    50

    Sorry thats not actually correct. Only certain tarrifs have been put up to 1gb, the Internet texter 300 is still 500mb as I stated in my earlier post:
    3G Mobile phones from 3

    Although since the OP got the contract through CPW and not 3 the tarrif may differ slightly.
     
  18. master_yoda

    master_yoda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2010
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    50
    Nope, your billing date will depend on when you started your contract. example: My billing date is the 9th of each month, one of my friends is the 15th, both on 3.
     
    jaybo1973 likes this.
  19. westbros

    westbros Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    19
    Glad you posted this jaybo1973. I am also looking to get a Desire from CPW on 3. I had looked at the 300 min/
     
  20. jaybo1973

    jaybo1973 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    14
     
  21. Audiobear

    Audiobear Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    3
    If you haven't done so already, register and log on to your My3 account on Mobile phones, Mobile Broadband & SIMs from Three and check usage on your account - you can do that any time. And also you can look at the monthly bills.

    As to questions about how much data allowance is sufficient, that really does depend on what how you the phone is used. If you use YouTube and other video/movie sources on a regular basis, or download a lot of mp3 files, then you may need to make sure you have a generous data allowance. You can though get round that IF you make use of Wifi rather than using the 3 network. I download all my podcasts at home using my wireless router for example.
     
  22. Baggy

    Baggy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    19
    Even updating I only use 20mb at most on my HTC Desire, only youtube and downloading would this be possible but you say you use wifi it sounds like the problem is with '3' (I'm with 3) give them a phone. My wife had data problems with PAYG on Orange with her Iphone, phone up and they said she just used it up! I said her Iphone has been sitting not even on so how can it be using internet? Long story short nothing was done.

    Get some kind of 'dogwatch 3g' or something like that it records your 3g usage, turn off updates you should get it down

    they bill on the date you started your contract with them i.e. 1st aug then billed next on the 1st of sept
     
  23. jaybo1973

    jaybo1973 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    14
    First paperwork through today, sadly my allowence is 500mb. I was certain it was a gig :(
     
  24. Baggy

    Baggy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    19
    It used to be
    I can't understand how they can get away with selling it as 'unlimited' when its limited to 500mb?

    when using 3g i used opera on my se k660i when browsing the net when you data left is low

    Havent try on andriod yet
     
  25. jaybo1973

    jaybo1973 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2010
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    14
    Its a bit lame, Ill see how I go
     

Share This Page

Loading...