4g and the Evo 4g LTE


Last Updated:

  1. pandacookie

    pandacookie Panda-riffic! This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    574
    Likes Received:
    211
    I now own a Samsung Galaxy S3, while my son owns my old Evo 4g LTE. I have noticed that my S3 is consistently on 4g, while the Evo struggles to keep a 4g signal and is usually on 3g. Both phones are rooted and are on custom roms, so I know how ROMs tend to be more "honest" about 3g/4g. I tried changing roms on the Evo, but the phone still struggles to stay on 4g. So I'm thinking this could be a hardware issue. What do you all think? Should I unroot the Evo and send it back to Sprint? Or should I continue experimenting with roms?
     

    Advertisement
  2. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!! Moderator

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    23,597
    Likes Received:
    14,436
    roms do not touch things like 4g or 3g radios. you can try and update your raios and see if that helps if not then yes you might want to see if sprint can do anything for you. no need to unroot at first. just flash a stock rom and take it in and see if it is a hardware issue.
     
    dustwun77, pandacookie and EarlyMon like this.
  3. pandacookie

    pandacookie Panda-riffic! This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    574
    Likes Received:
    211
    Thanks! I wasn't sure about a lot of things regarding radios.
     
    ocnbrze likes this.
  4. ocnbrze

    ocnbrze DON'T PANIC!!!!!!!!! Moderator

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    23,597
    Likes Received:
    14,436
    pandacookie likes this.
  5. -Mike-

    -Mike- Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    370
    Likes Received:
    191
    The EVO LTE is a turd when it comes to anything to do with its signal. I wish I could go back to November 2012 and change my EVO LTE to the S3. I have really good 4G in my area but not on my EVO. I'm lucky to get 3G. This is definitely my last HTC phone and probably last run with Sprint over this crap. Good luck getting them involved. Don't get your hopes set too high.
     
    pandacookie likes this.
  6. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    57,604
    Likes Received:
    70,190
    Wish we'd heard that in detail right off, apologies if you said it and I missed it.

    Others reported this problem, got an RF box test at Sprint, failed, replacement phone with no further issues.

    Lemons can happen with any brand on any carrier. Please give your next phone's radios a workout right away. Nothing but a replacement fixes bad radio chips.
     
  7. mikem0269

    mikem0269 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Messages:
    1,094
    Likes Received:
    844
    I would go see sprint. This is sitting om my couch.
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    21.8 mbps
     
    pandacookie likes this.
  8. pandacookie

    pandacookie Panda-riffic! This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    574
    Likes Received:
    211
    Nuts! I had a feeling i had a dud. :(
     
  9. ovrrdrive

    ovrrdrive Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,214
    Likes Received:
    387
    My 4g LTE gets great reception on 3g and 4g. As a matter of fact it gets a stronger signal than either of our e3d's do.

    I've been running meanbean since it came out.
     
    ocnbrze and dustwun77 like this.
  10. pandacookie

    pandacookie Panda-riffic! This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2011
    Messages:
    574
    Likes Received:
    211
    I just checked the radios. They are current. Nothing to update. I think I'd better give Sprint a call. :(
     
  11. dustwun77

    dustwun77 Endeavor to Persevere :) Guide

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    4,829
    Likes Received:
    2,847
    I'm sure many of us would be interested in hearing what they say.

    good luck!
     
    pandacookie likes this.
  12. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    57,604
    Likes Received:
    70,190
    Best way, call Sprint corporate, describe the problem and tell them that you want them to get an RF box test, and for them to schedule it for you.

    Then you walk in at your appointment time, there's no arguing or explaining, and then you'll know.

    Launch your Sprint Zone app, help, contact customer care.
     

Share This Page

Loading...