4G coverage for people with an Evo?


Last Updated:

  1. dcdttu

    dcdttu Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    36
    I've got a friend with an Evo, and both the Sprint store and his home show to be in a 4G service area. Home is supposed to have the 'best' coverage, and the Sprint store is supposed to have 'good' coverage.

    Neither location has ANY usable 4G coverage on the Evo. It cuts in and out with barely any signal at all, confuses the phone and never gets data easily until you turn off 4G. BTW the 4G adapters for computers work in both locations, albeit with low signals. The Evo, unusable.

    My friend went to Evo training and asked about the non-existent 4G coverage. The trainer said that all they can say is 'we can't guarantee 4G, 3G or 2G coverage.' WOW, that sounds just like AT&T when I had the iPhone 3G.
     

    Advertisement
  2. mrk

    mrk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    135
    That's worrying to me :(. I suppose I'll just have to wait a few more days and see.
     
  3. eieio

    eieio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,065
    Likes Received:
    823
    have him try setting the phone to 4g only mode and see if that helps.. The device will try to pull the strongest signal,
     
  4. RiverOfIce

    RiverOfIce Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,715
    Likes Received:
    1,254
    My friend says, "What town does your friend live in? What adapters are you talking about? Does your friend get any coverage,ie not his house or the store? And what training are you talking about?"
     
  5. dcdttu

    dcdttu Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    36
    We'll try that tonight, but honestly, with the crappy signal coverage that you get at 2500mhz, I think it would just suck even more then.

    Hopefully they're going to build the network out a LOT with that manditory $10 fee for 4G, whether you aren't in a 4G coverage area or a 4G coverage area with no coverage even though it says there is.
     
  6. RiverOfIce

    RiverOfIce Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,715
    Likes Received:
    1,254
    Nothing to worry about. Could be just bad settings or in a soft launch location.
     
  7. Agent Jones

    Agent Jones Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    73
    the network is still in the early stages for phone usage. give them some time. remember same thing happened with 3g.

    where i live at its awesome. i live on the outskirts of town and get 3-4mpbs with peaks of 6. if i go into the city more i get 5 consistently. i love it. but keep in mind san antonio has had 4g for over a 8 months by now i think.
     
    hopalee likes this.
  8. RiverOfIce

    RiverOfIce Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,715
    Likes Received:
    1,254
    How the system is build out is more important then " crappy 25000mhz".
     
  9. Agent Jones

    Agent Jones Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    73
    i dont see a problem with the 2500mhz. they know this needs to penetrate into homes cause a part of there sales for this are gonna be through clear which is gonna be for home broadband connections. 100% of all those clear home connections have a receiver INSIDE of their house. just give em time. too many people think it should roll out and be perfect. there will be bugs just like wiht any new product. dont be an early adopter and then bitch and moan about it. wait if you want a perfect product from the start
     
  10. hopalee

    hopalee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    153

    Aaaah, that's so great to hear! The only problem for me is that I moved out to Leon Springs to help my brother take care of his kids and we'll both be missing out on the 4g goodness until we drive into town! CRAP!
     
  11. RagingSamster

    RagingSamster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2010
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    41
    Did you use this site:

    Sprint - Nationwide Coverage

    Click on the "Data, Email and Multimedia" section, in the lower right hand corner, then click on the "Sprint Devices with 4G" tab.
     
  12. dcdttu

    dcdttu Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    36
    Austin / 4G Sprint Laptop Adapters / Yes, in and out all over the city ONLY if you're outside / Sprint Evo Training
     
  13. dcdttu

    dcdttu Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    36

    Austin, TX is not a soft launch city. We've had 4G for quite a while.
     
  14. dcdttu

    dcdttu Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    36

    lol, well, I dunno 25 thousand mhz would probably be crappy no matter what! I jest...

    Anyway, Yes, 1900mhz Sprint 3G does WAY better in this city than 850mhz AT&T 3G (both CDMA variants) so I would agree.

    BUT.... if Clear is using towers made for 1900mhz (aka Sprint towers) and not putting up their own, the coverage might be lacking if not built out right. Also, Wimax at 2500mhz is basically line-of-sight. Hilly areas and NYC are going to be challenging.

    I appreciate all of the people on here trying to say everything's ok. I'm just reporting what I see.
     
  15. dcdttu

    dcdttu Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    36

    Yes. Actually I find the Clear coverage map a lot more accurate. At least it shows best vs. good. The Sprint one is WAY more optimistic and not true at all in my opinion.

    Just go to clear.com and view their coverage link.

    That coverage map for 4G on Sprint's site really reminded me of AT&T's 3G coverage map.... Pretty much not true...
     
  16. dcdttu

    dcdttu Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    36
    1. Are you talking about 4G speeds with an Evo or a data card?
    2. I'm in Austin. Has had 4G as long as SA.
    3. San Antonio is much less hilly, maybe that helps.

    I would say that 4G reception on the phone is not near as good as reception on a USB adapter for computers.
     
  17. dcdttu

    dcdttu Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    36
    LOL yea, cause if a phone is branded as 4G and adds $10 to your bill, you SHOULDN'T expect 4G, even if the coverage map says you should. Is that what you're saying?

    I really am not bitching and personally 3G is almost as fast as Clear's '4G' and a lot more plentiful. I'm just reporting what I saw...
     
  18. Agent Jones

    Agent Jones Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    73
    im talking about on the phone using the speedtest app from appbrain.com, the hotspot is just as good.

    and acutally san antonio more hilly than austin. but san antonio has a higher elevation 771feet compared to 491 feet of austin
     
  19. Agent Jones

    Agent Jones Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    73
    the 10 fee is NOT for 4g coverage. sprint has already made that clear. its for the uncapped 3g service and for a premium phone that should suck in more bandwidth.
     
  20. dcdttu

    dcdttu Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    36
    Hehe, i must respectfully disagree. South and West Austin are very hilly. Heck, West Austin is the beginning of the Hill Country.

    When AT&T rolled out 3G and the iPhone 3G came out, San Antonio always was awesome, reception wise. I had 3G everywhere. Austin, not so much.
     
  21. dcdttu

    dcdttu Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    36

    If I were Sprint, I would say that too. lol. Funny, no charge on the Moment or Hero, both Android 2.1 phones. All that's different is the front camera. Now tell my, are you really going to use $10 worth of data on a video camera? I'm just saying...

    (doesn't the YouTube app NOT show HQ video when in 3G? That would go against this 'premium' theory of theirs)
     
  22. Agent Jones

    Agent Jones Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    73
    north and west san antonio are very hiilly and heck north san antonio is the beginning of the hill country. i have lived in both san antonio and austin. san antonio is alot more hilly IMO

    but i can agree to disagree
     
  23. Agent Jones

    Agent Jones Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2009
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    73
    the hq does work with 3g. just takes longer to load
     
  24. hopalee

    hopalee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    424
    Likes Received:
    153
    play nice children! :p
     
  25. dcdttu

    dcdttu Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    36
    So we've both lived in both!

    Hills or no, I just want your 4G then. :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...