4g " failed" connectionSupport


Last Updated:

  1. darkdevilr

    darkdevilr New Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Since i've upgraded to froyo my 4g hasnt been connecting it all. it keeps saying "turning on" and "turning off' , and eventually "failed". What can I do to fix this? all 4 other evo's in my house are connected to 4g - any help is appreciated :)
     

    Advertisement
  2. tsipa

    tsipa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    111
    I had this issue a while back... it had something to do with the order in which I turn on my bluetooth and 4G but this was before FroYo and I was on a custom ROM. A reboot always fixed it for me... give that a try, maybe it will work for you as well.
     
  3. Tremmy

    Tremmy New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm having the exact same issue. spent a good hour on the phone with Sprint earlier with no success.
     
  4. professor_t

    professor_t New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Add me to the list. My phone just started doing this the other day. If I try to enable 4g, it goes through a "turning on" sequence for a few seconds, then a "scanning" sequence, following by a "turning off" sequence. Then the whole thing starts over again. I haven't had a chance to talk to Sprint yet . . .
     
  5. hperry

    hperry Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    14
    having the exact same problem. anyone find a solution?
     
  6. Vincent Law

    Vincent Law Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    64
    I had this problem, I ended up resetting my device (wiping it). Fixed the problem, if that helps :/
     
  7. hperry

    hperry Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    14
    Oddly, my wife's evo is doing this also. And hers turns on/off so quickly I can't interrupt it. Major problem. hers is pretty much straight stock 2.2
     
  8. Vamp07

    Vamp07 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    9
    I have this problem and nothing I do will fix it including a full hard reset etc.
     
  9. Existence

    Existence Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    4
    Just did a hard reset on my due to the phone staying awake. Now i cant get 4G to work.
     
  10. Vamp07

    Vamp07 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    9
    I would not bother spending too much time on this. It seems broken for all of us. Maybe if you have a 4g signal it connects when turned on. Otherwise you need to reboot and leave it off until you feel like doing another test which will require another reboot to get it to stop trying to turn on 4g.
     
  11. Existence

    Existence Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    4
    Im in a good 4G area. (Houston) and never had a problem connecting.. Ugh!!
     
  12. tiny2nz

    tiny2nz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    2
    Mine started to do this and I am only 6 blocks from a corporate store;so I went there;and they gave me a new Phone on the spot this was on the 13th of this month
    they said it was a hardware problem. But i did have to wait for about an hour while they "tested" it
     
  13. hperry

    hperry Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    14

    the inconsistency from sprint kills me. did this store say whether they had refurbs in stock? the corp store i called said they would give me a refurb if in stock, otherwise they would order a refurb. they would not give me a new phone.
     
  14. Existence

    Existence Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    4
    Why would my 4g work after froyo 2.2 update then about two days ago when i had to hard reset it all the sudden stops working?
     
  15. tiny2nz

    tiny2nz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    2
    hey if they are refurbs they have to say refurb right??? i did the ## stuff and the reconditioned status is not available....
     
  16. Existence

    Existence Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    4
    Well took mine in. Have about an hour or so before i call them back.
     
  17. APBTx2

    APBTx2 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    Same problem here, 4g worked yesterday morning, but something was keeping my phone up, one hard reset later and no 4g :mad:
     
  18. hperry

    hperry Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    14
    any more details on how 4g is failing? is the radio refusing to turn on? is it just scanning forever? if you can turn the radio on, does the MAC address match the one on the back of the phone (under battery) or on the box?
     
  19. APBTx2

    APBTx2 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    It searches for a while (less than a minute), it wont connect to 4g, and then turns off. I had the same problem another poster did, it seems if you try a few times, you have to reboot in order to get the phone to search again(its like the 4g button is disabled).
    I know this happened right after my hard reset, as I have 4g right by my house(sometimes in and out), so I leave 4g on.
     
  20. APBTx2

    APBTx2 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    I ran the update today, and the phone now leaves 4g on, but I have not seen any 4g at all, I am an outside salesmen and drive around all day. The areas I always got a strong single; nothing. Not any better I guess. I know it is new tech, and I was able to forgive and let them get the system up and running, but it seems to get worse and worse.
    Oh well, 3g is great for phone use, I was just hoping to use 4g and get rid of my home cable internet.
     
  21. gregbridwell

    gregbridwell Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    2
    Mine did this on Friday 9/17. 4G would indicate failed in the settings. When I checked the box it would do the scan, connect, turning off cycle and repeat. I did two hard resets and battery pulls to no avail. I took it into a Sprint store after work and they did a couple of hard resets (I guess they have trust issues? ;-P ) and they couldn't get the 4G to come back on. They ordered me a "refurb" and said it would be in on Tuesday.

    So I take my poor, little gimped EVO home for the weekend to nurse it until it was put out of its misery on Tuesday. I felt my wifi would be good enough for the weekend. Turns out the wifi wouldn't turn on either! So I was really dead in the water. Fortunately, the new phone came in early and I picked it up on Monday.

    I got it all set up after a few false starts and hard resets. Got it like I like it. Then the OTA update hit. Updated uneventfully. Then, while I was USB tethering on 4G this morning, it did a self restart. I also noticed that when I tethered before this, earlier this morning, Sense seemed to shut down and restart without actually disconnecting. Anyway after the phone completely restarted itself, I disconnected from the pc and did a battery pull because the cycle started and 4G wouldn't come on!

    I was seconds away from making an appointment at the Sprint store when the phone recovered from the battery pull with 4G on (it said Failed before I pulled the battery). Now everything seems to be "fine" but I am concerned about the inconsistent behavior. Tethering and 4G seemed to be more stable before the most recent OTA. Now it seems like you have to be more mindful of how fast and in what order you toggle certain radios on and off. I tether via USB everyday so I hope this irons itself out or they fix the update.
     
  22. gregbridwell

    gregbridwell Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    2
    I just did a test out of curiosity. I turned on my 4G and let it connect. I then plugged in the USB cable and connected as Charge Only.

    I then selected connect as a disk. It connected fine and 4G was fine.

    I then selected USB Tether and 4G turned itself off and then tried to connect again but it wouldn't/couldn't connect. I selected connect as a disk again. Turned off the 4G radio and let 3G come back to life. I then Switched from connect as a disk to USB tether. I let the network completely set itself up and THEN turned on the 4G and there was no problem at all. Connected immediately. So it appears if you want to USB tether using 4G you should make the connection BEFORE turning on your 4G radio. Trivial, but for those interested....
     

Share This Page

Loading...