4G hotspot on the highway, passing through towns?


Last Updated:

  1. Sprockethead

    Sprockethead Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    291
    Likes Received:
    13
    Assuming that the 4G hotspot is going to be an extra fee, do you think it will automatically switch between 3G and 4G networks if you are on a road trip?

    The main reason I want the phone is for the 4G hotspot idea for when I'm out and about with my laptop. If I'm a passenger, I can use it. Or my gfriend can use the WiFi on her Itouch for long road trips.

    Will it automatically switch between 3G and 4G? How is this currently handled by 3G hotspot apps? I've never used one before. I'm a blackberry user, and blackberries suck now compared to other phones.
     

    Advertisement
  2. LatinP

    LatinP Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    222
    There is a setting in the options where you can have it automatically switch.
     
  3. neodorian

    neodorian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,113
    Likes Received:
    276
    Correct me if I am wrong but think of it like Wifi in that you toggle the radio off or on depending on whether you will be using it. When it is on, you will automatically default to the fastest network available. When it is off, you sill stay on EVDO or 1xRTT depending on what is available.

    I only base this on what people here have said and the info I gathered while testing Wimax here in Baltimore in 2008.
     
  4. LatinP

    LatinP Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    222
    Nope, there are three settings (four if you count completely turning off the radio). One for 3G, one for 4G and auto which switches to whatever the best signal when available, it's actually shown on one of the videos I've seen on YouTube.
     
    kwaping and neodorian like this.
  5. neodorian

    neodorian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,113
    Likes Received:
    276
    Cool, thanks for that info. If you find the video again let me know. It's one of the main things I have been wondering about. I have Wimax here but if it doesn't switch seamlessly it will be very obnoxious.
     
  6. twospirits

    twospirits AF's janitor Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,182
    Likes Received:
    5,028
    Good topic.

    TS
     
  7. samplerate

    samplerate Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Now, will the hotspot functionality still work in areas without 3G or 4G coverage (IE 2G 1xRTT). I know it will be insanely slow on 1xRTT but, but I sometimes find my self in situations on the road where 1x is the only internet for miles. and from what i have heard no one has mentioned anything about the older networks.
     
  8. LatinP

    LatinP Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    499
    Likes Received:
    222
    I assume on auto it would just try to pick up the best available signal it can get wherever you are, but again I can't confirm this since I don't have any real world experience with this phone.

    The only way to really test this is when you actually have the phone in your hands and right now that's not a possibility, but that said on automatic I don't see why it wouldn't switch to any type of signal it could pick up including 2g. In fact I think if you had the phone set to 3G and a 3G signal was lost but a 2G network was avaiable I'd imagine it would pick that up all the same.
     
    samplerate likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...