4G not connecting


Last Updated:

  1. UrbanHillPG

    UrbanHillPG Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    3
    Hey people, I rooted using the Unrevoked method and my 4G isn't connecting. Has anyone experienced this issue? DO i have to upgrade my radio or wimax?My software information is:

    Android Version 2.2
    Basband 2.15.00.09.01
    Kernel 2.6.32.15-ge2fb08e
    Build: 3.29.651.5
    Software: 3.29.651.5
    Browser: Webkit 3.1
    PRI: 1.77_003
    PRL: 60070
     

    Advertisement
  2. adonis4g

    adonis4g Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    4
    It looks like you have the updated radio already. Was your 4g working before the root? How is the signal in your area? What is happening when you are trying to connect?
    I had to get my evo replaced before root because my 4g wouldnt connect. First it would only scan for 2 sec and turn off and then it would just freeze in the "turn on" prompt when i tried to turn on. Sprint did replace.
     
  3. Sibobaby510

    Sibobaby510 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the same problem.

    Mine goes, Scanning......Connecting to sprint....Scanning...

    thats it. help?
     
  4. wase4711

    wase4711 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    801
    Likes Received:
    157
    mine too, and I have all the radios updated..
     
  5. adonis4g

    adonis4g Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    4
    You are going to have to unroot if rooted, and clear evidence of being rooted. Then take it to sprint. They cant fix it, they replaced my phone next day at no charge.
     
  6. wase4711

    wase4711 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    801
    Likes Received:
    157
    there has to be a way that we can fix this...
     
  7. Sibobaby510

    Sibobaby510 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    ugh thats the last thing i wanna do. Are you sure thats the only way? You think they'll make a fix for it in the future? I can use Cyanogen in the meantime
     
  8. tsipa

    tsipa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    111
    Have any of you made backup with Amon's 1.8.0 from a point in time where your 4G did work? If so, you need to extract the wimax.img and flash it through bootloader. This is the easiest fix.
     
  9. wase4711

    wase4711 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    801
    Likes Received:
    157
    no, I am using clockwork..
    Is there a "generic" 4g/wimax.img file that would work for anyone?

    thanks
     
  10. tsipa

    tsipa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    111
    Unfortunately there isn't. The wimax.img file contains your RSA keys which are specific to each device so if you flash another phone's wimax partition, you will only be able to access 4G from one phone at a time. Amon's 1.8.0 is the only recovery that backs up the wimax partition.

    Try this thread at XDA for a fix: [GUIDE] Bad WiMax MAC? Broken 4G after update? Fix HERE! - xda-developers

    This will only work if your RSA keys are still intact, otherwise, get a new phone.
     

Share This Page

Loading...