1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

4G on and off...General


Last Updated:

  1. skinlab

    skinlab Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2011
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    38
    Anyone figure out if there is a way to turn 4g off and go to 3g or 1x? I tried anycut but i get force close on everything i tried..
     

    Advertisement
  2. alfick3

    alfick3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    2,705
    Likes Received:
    410

    I know there are some apps that supposedly do this. I don't know if they require root or not.
     
  3. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,992
    Likes Received:
    991
  4. bnb25

    bnb25 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    2,617
    Likes Received:
    376
    Crazy question, why would you want to do that? Kind of defeats the point of a 4G phone.
     
  5. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,992
    Likes Received:
    991
    If your not using your phone you can turn off 4G to conserve battery.
    Also for people that have gone over their data caps full speed 3G can be up to 7x faster than throttled 4G.
     
    sammyz likes this.
  6. Idrish

    Idrish Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2012
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    4
    Coming from previous experience with my esteem, I had the admire and upgraded to the esteem.... my 4g would never pop up always 3g or 1x and you know how ******ed I looked with a 4g phone n not having it lol..... well the reason why is because I had the 40ollar plan which is not a 4g plan.... so I upgraded to the 60 dollar plan and boom i had 4g constantly.... so maybe you have to upgrade your bill....
     
  7. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,992
    Likes Received:
    991
    He said turn his 4G "off"
     
  8. skrapmetal

    skrapmetal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2012
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    44
    Theres an app on google play called Data Switch. It's a tiny file, and it uses a shortcut rather than a widget so it doesn't run in the background. Works perfectly without having to edit the settings.
     
  9. Gman9831

    Gman9831 I'm no Senior

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2011
    Messages:
    2,992
    Likes Received:
    991
    If that just turns data off, he still wants data
     
  10. GameTheory

    GameTheory Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    3,415
    Likes Received:
    2,947
    There is no solid app around to do this. I think this is the only one out there, and I don't consider it solid enough for me to install on my devices.

    You can try it if you want to. It was updated recently and seems to be for cdma which the spirit is.

    https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.brownent.switchit&hl=en
     

Share This Page

Loading...