1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

4G Toggle WidgetSupport


Last Updated:

  1. authority11

    authority11 Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    64
    Are there any good SGN 4G Toggle widgets yet?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Wolfedude88

    Wolfedude88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,756
    Likes Received:
    554
    Nope not yet
     
  3. EarlyMon

    EarlyMon The PearlyMon Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    57,618
    Likes Received:
    70,258
    Here's a repeat of my Lounge post -

    I may be able to help here as I did there if the issue is the same.

    Let me know.
     
  4. andyandroid81891

    andyandroid81891 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    8
    is there a good 3g/ lte toggle widget? I cant seem to make a settings short cut.
     
  5. Dubbin1

    Dubbin1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,525
    Likes Received:
    969
    Nope nothing yet.
     
  6. Wolfedude88

    Wolfedude88 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2,756
    Likes Received:
    554
    Merged threads together.
     
  7. foo

    foo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2008
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    105
    Nothing yet but you CAN get a widget that'll bring you right to the "mobile network settings" screen, which saves a few steps/seconds.

    LTE Switch seems to work (for me)....until something is developed to toggle it in widget
     
    zx10droid likes this.
  8. SolidOrange

    SolidOrange Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1,640
    Likes Received:
    1,599
    Liquid Smooth 3.X by R3D offered a 4G toggle in the notification bar on my Thunderbolt. That is the only thing i REALLY miss about it.

    [​IMG]


    i sure hope a dev will cook this functionality into a custom GNex ROM soon. at least we know it's possible!
     
  9. capulinflicker

    capulinflicker Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    1
    This is the one thing I really miss from my HTC. Having a widget on the home screen to toggle mobile network on/off really helped me to conserve battery life. Hopefully something gets developed for the GNex soon because navigating through all the screens becomes a pain in the ass after a while.
     
  10. Jedi54

    Jedi54 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    33
    just wondering if there was any progress on this front?
    I'm fortunate that most of the areas I'm in during the day are 4G but on the off chance I want to turn it off, it would be nice to have a widget
     
  11. binary visions

    binary visions Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3,334
    Likes Received:
    1,443
    There are options if you're rooted. If not, I don't think there is any current widget that functions.
     
  12. snapcase

    snapcase Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    69
    Such as?
     
  13. binary visions

    binary visions Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3,334
    Likes Received:
    1,443
  14. Tim K

    Tim K Well-Known Member Contributor

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,648
    Likes Received:
    471
    That 4G widget only works on rooted, custom ROM's unfortunately.

    I've been using "4G toggle for Razr" from the market. Its not a real toggle though. More like a shortcut to the setting screen but like foo said, it saves a few steps.
     
    snapcase likes this.
  15. Jedi54

    Jedi54 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2010
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    33
    I'd love a toggle switch for rooted, non custom ROM devices.
    I wonder if google will just give us a widget with an update.
     
  16. jamisont

    jamisont Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    55
    widgetsoid2.x
    [​IMG]
     
  17. jkc120

    jkc120 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2,266
    Likes Received:
    1,107
    Are you saying the 2G/3G toggle in widgetsoid toggles 3G/4G? I didn't see a 4G toggle in widgetsoid back when I fiddled with it.
     
  18. jamisont

    jamisont Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    55
    i m on unrooted GNex so all 2G/3G does is shortcut to network setting.
     
  19. jpinsl

    jpinsl Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    6
    You can use the free app anycut to open up a shortcut to the mobile data settings, then it's just one or two taps to enable/disable data or switch off 4G
     
  20. jamisont

    jamisont Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    55
    I found out I can enable/disable data from widgetsoid icon (its called mobile data)
     
  21. Turdbogls

    Turdbogls Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    817
    Likes Received:
    150
    that is different than what the OP wants....that just disables data all together.

    for a non stock option, widgetsoid or a shortcut to mobile networks is your best bet.

    if you are rooted and are comfortable with ROM'ing, i just flashed AOKP and put a LTE toggle in the notification bar, and it works just fine. took about 15 seconds to connect to 3g, but it worked. switching back to 4g was quick though.
     

Share This Page

Loading...