4g?


Last Updated:

  1. jstcynske

    jstcynske Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    20
    How do you know if your phone is running in 4g?
     

    Advertisement
  2. ScorpDX

    ScorpDX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,642
    Likes Received:
    375
    When the 4g icon comes up
     
  3. ss220

    ss220 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    2
    Since I have the 4G radio off (no 4g in my area), how will I now when it becomes available? Do I need to test it periodically?
     
  4. jstcynske

    jstcynske Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    20
    So, your saying up at the t op where it reads 3g, it will change to 4g?
     
  5. tsipa

    tsipa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    111
    Yes. If you're radio is off there would be no way for you to tell if 4G is available.

    This is correct.
     
  6. sagedil

    sagedil Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    178
    Settings / Wireless & networks / 4G settings / Network notification

    Make sure it is checked. Now you will see notification if 4G and you can turn it on.
     
  7. tsipa

    tsipa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    111
    You will only get the notification if your 4G antenna is already on... kinda defeats the purpose...
     
  8. sagedil

    sagedil Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    178
    No, my 4G is always off, I get the notification always. Why I know to turn on 4G LOL.
     
  9. tsipa

    tsipa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    111
    hmmm, thats strange... I have the notifications set up but when my antenna is off, the notification option dims. Also, I know that I have 4G available right now but I never get any notification unless my antenna is on...
     
  10. sailrace

    sailrace Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    5
    I'm not sure i follow that. The only way to check the "notify me if available" is if your 4G radio is on. If you don't turn the radio on, you'll never pick up a 4G signal, and the phone can't tell you it's available.

    You definitely need to turn your 4g radio on once in a while to check for 4G if you're waiting for or expecting 4G to go live in your area.
     
  11. tsipa

    tsipa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    111
    That's also my understanding...
     
  12. sagedil

    sagedil Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    178
    Just not true. My 4G radio is off as it usually is. My phone is still checked to notify me of 4G. Again,4G off, I get notifications of 4G Network available every day.

    Do you live in a 4G city???
     
  13. deeanne59

    deeanne59 Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    4
    Yes, Sage is correct. I have my 4G turned off, but I still receive a notification when 4G is available...THEN I turn my 4G on.
     
  14. muncher

    muncher Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    16
    wtf...

    when i goto wireless and networks and 4g settings... if 4g is turned off, the notifications is dimmed. is it different for you guys?
     
  15. sagedil

    sagedil Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    178
    LOL, maybe figured out issue.

    Yes, grayed out but still checked. Turn on 4G. Check box to notify. Turn 4G off, box will still stay checked, you will still get notifications if 4G available, even with 4G off.
     
  16. tsipa

    tsipa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    111
    That is what my settings look like and I still don't get notifications... I live in NYC which has a shadow 4G network, as soon as I turn on my 4G, I get a notification.
     
  17. sagedil

    sagedil Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    178
    My only guess is NY's network not fully up. I am in Raleigh with an established if still not very big network.

    Notifications work fine here. I go downtown, see the 4G notification, turn my 4G on, how it is supposed to work.

    My only guess is NY not finished yet, so maybe not pushing notification out yet.
     
  18. ScorpDX

    ScorpDX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,642
    Likes Received:
    375
    There's also a place on Sprint.com to sign up to receive an e-mail when they eventually get 4g in your area. I don't the link handy but I've seen it on there a few times.
     
  19. muncher

    muncher Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    16
    interesting... i wonder what the notification impact is on battery life
     
  20. tsipa

    tsipa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    636
    Likes Received:
    111
    I didn't get a notification when I went down to Philly a couple of weeks ago either and they have a live network...

    This isn't a big issue for me but now I am just wondering why it's not working correctly. Maybe it has to do with the signal strength of the 4G network?
     
  21. 4tunesmiles

    4tunesmiles Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    1
    another route for you Facebook users... I "liked" the Sprint EVO 4g FB page, and when 4g went live in my area (just this week, St. Louis), I was notified on my Friendstream.
     

Share This Page

Loading...