5.4 not keen/how to restore back to old 1.5


Last Updated:

  1. snox187

    snox187 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    1
    so i managed to root to 5.4 but to be honest doesnt exactly set my world of due to little laggy and battery issues , now when i rooted i done a nandroid back up which is saved on laptop , question is what is the procedure to get back to 1.5 via nandroid back up
     

    Advertisement
  2. themonkster

    themonkster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    5
    Put the nandroid backup back to the root of your SD.

    Reboot into Recovery

    Select Restore Nandroid backup

    Wait for a bit till it completes then reboot.

    Personally I'm loving villain 5.4.3 the battery usually lasts me from 7am till 11pm.
     
  3. snox187

    snox187 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    1
    seems to restore 5.4 do i have to wipe phone in boot mode first ? dont suppose i can intsall rom from htc website , will this do the trick ?
     
  4. islandmixed

    islandmixed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    i rooted and done 5.4 also and iam having 2nd thoughts also...very laggy at times & basic things dont work..iam finding things that dont work day by day.

    i have a question since iam new to root. i also have a backup saved to pc when i first rooted. will that unroot the phone again back to what it was before or will it still stay rooted? I never rooted before this so i was on the original htc rom.

    cheers
     
  5. snox187

    snox187 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    1
    think i gone wrong , on boot pressed back up not restore and now when try to restore it restores 5.4 aaahhhhhhh the joys lol, will it help if i format sd card and put original back up on there
     
  6. themonkster

    themonkster Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    5
    Ha Ha that should do it.
     
  7. snox187

    snox187 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    1
    monkster do u mean format sd or htc website rom
     
  8. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    snox187: If you've got the latest recovery image it should give you the option of which nandroid backup to restore. If it doesn't give you the option then just move your 5.4 backup out of the way somewhere and leave 1.5 on there.

    islandmixed: Your phone will go back to the exact state it was in when you pressed backup. So if you'd rooted your old firmware before backing up then yeah, your phone will be rooted. If you never rooted your old firmware then no, it will be normal again.
     
  9. islandmixed

    islandmixed Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    ive now gone to 5.3 to see how things go...much better then 5.3 but still abit slow but i do like it. now i have to nanroid back ups...so i know which one to use to go back but iam sure i rooted first then done a back up cause thats the only way to do a nanroid back up right...so since i was on 1.5 if i restored the back up,it would go back to that? just so i dont get confused agaim lol...so new
     
  10. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,759
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    You don't have to root to be able to do nandroid backups no (although it's possible the guide you were following told you to do that).

    But yeah, if you restore the 1.5 backup everything goes back. Except for the recovery menu it's self of course, but you want to keep that anyway.
     

Share This Page

Loading...