5 Batter Pulls since 3pm! Freakin out!


Last Updated:

  1. kickenwing13

    kickenwing13 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys .. So a few days ago I rooted my Droid x with 2.2 ota. Used the one button method. No problems. since then have started working with Setcpu, Adfree, Wireless tether, Bootstrapper, rommanager and root explorer. I dont completely understand this process, but have been flying by the seat of my pants.

    On set cpu i have the max at 1,000,000 and min at 300,000
    For profiles i have
    charging/full 800 max 300 min
    Temp >50 600max 300 min
    Battery <41% 600max 300min

    I deleted my
    Battery 20% 300max 300min because it seemed to be causing problems.

    Advanced:
    32000 sampling rate
    50 up threshold
    Ignore load 0
    Powersave Bias 0

    Using root explorer i've moved and renamed:

    blockbuster.apk
    amazonmp3
    com.vznavigator.droidx
    conversations.
    Quickoffice.
    skype_mobile.live


    That is really all i've done. I've had5 battery pulls since 3pm today.. Can anyone please help
     

    Advertisement
  2. raqball

    raqball Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    155
    Not trying to be harsh here but if you don't know what you are doing, don't tinker until you do....

    Remove SetCPU and see how that goes, if you are still having problems try starting anew with a factory reset and then tinker no more until you know what you are doing...

    Some of these root apps are dangerous in the wrong hands and can cause serious problems..

    My .02
     
  3. binary visions

    binary visions Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3,334
    Likes Received:
    1,443
    Agree with the above. If you're "freaking out" because of a few battery pulls but you've tinkered to the point of having root and running SetCPU, I don't know what to tell you. Back off your customizations and figure out what was causing it.
     
  4. snickle

    snickle Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    2
    My first thought is the issues are having to do with SetCPU, AdFree or Wirelesstether.

    The other ones are not doing anything unless you kick them off.

    I have never had a problem with SetCPU, but do not use it to control the phone, just to stress test.

    I would uninstall all three mentioned above and then shutdown, pull the battery and reboot.

    Then use the phone as intended for a while and see if it is stable. THen add things back in, one a time and wait a day before adding the next.
     
    kickenwing13 likes this.
  5. kickenwing13

    kickenwing13 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the replies guys. I deleted SetCpu and phone picked up immediately. May go down that road in the future, but not till i understand it.
     
  6. kobel1up

    kobel1up Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    16
    I found your thread and everyone told you the same thing i said.
     
  7. brandonmg99

    brandonmg99 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    9
    I say tinker away....read up and ask for advice before you do. Just have the sbf handy. I wouldn't have learned anything if I hadn't jacked things up a few times. Now I know what not to do.... haven't bricked this mofo in awhile. And I know squat about computers.
     
  8. raqball

    raqball Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2010
    Messages:
    523
    Likes Received:
    155
    Glad it worked...
     
  9. binary visions

    binary visions Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3,334
    Likes Received:
    1,443
    Interesting. Why was that an "actual reply"? Because he didn't say something you didn't want to hear?

    The first post recommended you remove SetCPU. I recommended you back off your root customizations (SetCPU is in that category) until you find out what caused it.

    Both of us just observed that if you're "freaking out" after making a few root customizations and get some instability, maybe tweaking isn't for you.
     
  10. kobel1up

    kobel1up Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2010
    Messages:
    310
    Likes Received:
    16
  11. kickenwing13

    kickenwing13 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    You guys are right. Just pissed with my lack of knowledge .

    Thanks for the replies. I know i need to watch what i'm doing because i am lost with this stuff and ya'l were just pointing that out . For future references. How do you go about learning this stuff thought really.. I just am frustrated after weeks of reading up on this.. BTW. deleting set cpu did work. Thanks all that replied. Apologize for my ignorance and attitude
     
  12. xliderider

    xliderider Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,232
    Likes Received:
    192
    You can use SetCPU, just dont mess with the advanced settings. Profiles are ok, just stay away from the threshold settings and such if you don't know what you are doing.
     
    kickenwing13 likes this.
  13. Outlaw71

    Outlaw71 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    2,482
    Likes Received:
    468
    I admit I don't know enough about SetCPU to mess with the thresholds either. But if all you do is go with the suggested settings and perform a few profile settings it's an excellent app for saving battery life.
     
  14. LexusBrian400

    LexusBrian400 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    699
    Likes Received:
    154
    Just an FYI for you guys, there is absolutely NO reason to touch any of the ADVANCED settings in SetCPU. Just forget that tab even exists :) You wont gain anything from messing with those values.
     
  15. binary visions

    binary visions Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    3,334
    Likes Received:
    1,443
    A lot of it is trial-and-error. Most of us haven't learned everything about the phone, and reading gets you part of the way but doing is just as important. That said, the way you phrased it in your post - that you don't understand and are flying by the seat of your pants - well, there is plenty to be read in these forums to correct that.

    When you're tinkering, a logical thought process is important and you can solve most of these problems yourself. Of those things you listed that you did using root, logically what is the one thing that clearly dips its fingers deeper into the system that could cause instability? Removing the Blockbuster app? Or installing a piece of software that can actually alter the frequencies of the hardware?

    It's always important to have a stable reference. I try not to make too many changes at once when I'm tweaking - modify one thing, use the phone for a while to make sure it's stable. Once I'm confident that it's stable, I can make another tweak. For instance, I recently installed the ApeX ROM. But I didn't overclock for a couple days after that - I had to make sure that everything was stable, because if I overclocked immediately, and the phone started freezing, how would I know what to blame?

    Tweak a little at a time, and if something goes wrong or the phone goes wonky, don't stress about it. The SBF file is available so it's pretty much impossible to ruin the phone, you can always go back to the stock setup.
     
  16. colchiro

    colchiro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    8,886
    Likes Received:
    1,784

Share This Page

Loading...