5 sec for rooting your x10


Last Updated:

  1. niles

    niles Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    2

    Advertisement
  2. kezm

    kezm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    2
    but what are the benefits looks awsome but what can i gain by doing it in lamens terms
     
  3. huntleth

    huntleth Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    25
    Works perfectly, amazing!

    Kezm - The main advantage is to allow you to have an updated version of Android, assuming the ROM (copy of android) is available which it is NOT for the X10 yet. In addition to this, there are performance increases (speed and battery etc).

    If you are happy with your phone and don't want to risk damaging it, don't bother as Android 2.1 is on its way for the X10. I was happy with mine, but everyone said it works so I gave it a go and it was fine and I now have a rooted phone.

    Be aware, this will void your warranty.
     
    kezm likes this.
  4. kezm

    kezm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    2
    ok 2nd question i unbranded mine with generic software so will this work on that one
     
  5. frankbonatelli

    frankbonatelli Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    30
    kezm
    There are how ever many valid reasons for rooting, one of which has been mentioned nicely by huntleth. How ever I find one that is rarely mentioned, the ability to preform complete backups via apps like Titanium. yes there are other none root needed apps but they do not cover things like android os settings and applications (including your app purchase data for reinstall). Also there is the ability to tether with out wires using fine apps like barnacle. Wirelessly connecting your net-book, your laptop or if you got one an iPad. This feature alone makes the root proses all the more valuable.

    As to your query regarding debranding. The root proses will continue in the same light as your current debranded firmware. Basically it'll be doing what you have already done to debrand your phone only with a firmware version that now has root or superuser access.
     
    kezm likes this.
  6. morpheus2n2

    morpheus2n2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ok this is not a "ROOT" per-say all it dose is grant you superuser access i.e opens the phone up so you have access to everything, this is the same as the phones all network providers have (basiclly a super dev phone, thats how providers add there own stuff to the firmwares etc)
    Because of this superuser access all root onlt apps work :) this is insanlly handy if you don't want to void your warenty as you can remve the superuser access easy.

    I used this to allow me to remove the stupid moxier and officesuite crap then I "unrooted" yay. If like me you dont want to void your warenty then make sure you buck the phone up first with titanium backup!!!! Then you can get rid of all the crap you dont want, that way if your phone needs to be sent back for any reason you can restore it before it go'se.
     
  7. niles

    niles Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    2
    Just want to ask, will the folowing apps work on this new 5 sec rooting way:
    1)Barnacle wifi tether
    2)Rip apps by using 'root explorer'
    3)Setcpu
    4)Titanium Backup
    5)Cachemate
    6)Busybox Installer
     
  8. kezm

    kezm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    2
    titanium fails when i try it even when i hit problems and it tries to dl busybox any ideas
     
  9. morpheus2n2

    morpheus2n2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    8
    Fisrt double cheack its given you "Superuser Access", to do this just launch the universal app and hit root it should say "already rooted" or something like that also you should see a new app on your menu (looks like a sniper guy with a bullseye" is called superuser access.

    Second uninstall titanium restart phone then redownload it via market place, before you open it enable USB debugging!!! once thats enabled open Ti backup, you should now be told that rot access didn't work hit problems and hit will DL the addon thing, once this is done you should get a message about restarting Ti (mine was in the notifacation bar) it will restart Ti and you should find it works.

    Let me know if this helps
     
  10. morpheus2n2

    morpheus2n2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    8
    Yes to Ti and busybox as for the others not 100% sure as I only used the hack to get rid of a few apps lol but they should work fine
     
    niles likes this.
  11. niles

    niles Active Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    2
    ok thanks, because if someone can try it out it would be great since these are the apps i use on my rooted x10, if all of them do work, i'll most probable unroot my phone and update it using SEUS to the latest build number, and then use this 5 sec root thing to root my phone. The advantage of this is that i can easily unroot my phone whenever i need to.
     
  12. saltorio

    saltorio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    17
    Umm... that's exactly the definition of "root" (in regards to mobile phones at least). Root is gaining access to the "root" system directory, which the same as superuser privs.

    It is not however, a crack for the bootloader. I think that is what you are thinking "root" typically means. Once the bootloader is cracked, a user can install custom ROMS, which is what we're hoping to eventually achieve on the X10.
     
    morpheus2n2 likes this.
  13. morpheus2n2

    morpheus2n2 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2010
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ahh ok thanks for that I though that Rooting a phone did what you said (grant access) but also ment you have to manually install the firmware and this would void you warenty and from what I have read its not very easy to reverse if you wanted/needed to. And this prog just granted it via a exploit that is fully reversable lol.
     
    davsurfa likes this.
  14. kezm

    kezm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    2
    still saying failed check website for troubleshhoting steps
     
  15. rjrowland24

    rjrowland24 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    what did u use to remove apps please?
     
  16. Hunted

    Hunted Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    6
    ok bit confused.. if i do this will it allow me to simply use the ota update to get the most recent version or do i have to load it up myself? is it like debranding? as the vodafone junk is annoying me very much.... just want my phone as sony intended not as my carrier thought was best ggrrrrrr
     
  17. kersey

    kersey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2010
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    20
    Use Titanium Backup from the market.

    This will allow you to un-install apps. Make sure you do a backup first before removing anything incase you need to restore :p
     
  18. Hunted

    Hunted Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    6
    so if i did this to my branded x10 would it become unbranded? would i be able to use the ota update service to get the latest generic fw?
     
  19. Crash27

    Crash27 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    259
    Likes Received:
    42
    I had the Titanium issue to but I just hit Problem and it downloaded Busy box and then said I had super user and worked, I cannot find out how to delete Moxier and others, Can anyone let me know how I go about doing this
     
  20. Hunted

    Hunted Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    6
    OK 3rd time lucky maybe.. if i do this on a branded handset will it make it unbranded? will i then be able to just do an ota or seus to get the latest version of the fw r2ba028 i think is the latest? or do i need to do a manual install? i get that it will enable me to remove the junk from the phone but will i be able to update it as and when they are available without having to wait for my network to ok it?
    from frankbonatellis post i would think this is a yes to debranding but morpheus2 has put doubt in my mind? a little clarification from the geniuses here would be appreciated....
     
  21. T3RBO

    T3RBO Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    4
    Rooting and debranding are two totally different things ;)
     
  22. darthlinux

    darthlinux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2010
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    9
    Working fine didn't brick my phone lol
     
  23. TommySixx81

    TommySixx81 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    7
    Just curious, what "Vodafone junk" have you got? Is it Vodafone uk or 1 of the European 1s? The only crap I have is through the SIM toolkit app, and none of that works, and the whole carry on with the number not showing where it should. Might be cause I got mine from Phones 4u so the phones are unlocked (benefit of them offering different networks but I didn't realise I'm paying an extra
     
  24. Hunted

    Hunted Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2010
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    6
     
  25. TommySixx81

    TommySixx81 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    7
    Gutted mate, I don't have any of that sh*te! When I first got it, I had 360 as the browser home page and that's it. However, I was able to change it. This is probably the difference of getting it from Phones4u, the handsets obviously have to be unlocked from specific Networks because they offer different ones.

    Try using Dolphin and setting that as the default browser, then change the homepage.

    I used to hate it when I had my SE w900i, I bought it from ebay instead of using the Nokia N70 they gave me. It was Vodafone branded but mine was unlocked and I was using an o2 sim card so had branded things that wouldn't work properly. I had 3 different buttons that took me to wap, and sometimes when sending texts I'd hit 1 of the wap buttons by mistake instead of the return or delete buttons.
     

Share This Page

Loading...