5G speeds already around the cornerGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. blaxican25

    blaxican25 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,520
    Likes Received:
    730

    Advertisement
    BRIAN5337 and yaras1979 like this.
  2. MarkWoods

    MarkWoods Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
  3. mike28

    mike28 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,065
    Likes Received:
    1,058
    Nice I wonder if Metro will jump on that first since they were first on LTE
     
  4. BRIAN5337

    BRIAN5337 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    21
    Fuzzy13, Eddy120876 and breeze7 like this.
  5. theonlymike

    theonlymike Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    11
    What do u consider true 4g speeds? i get 560 kb/s download at my house with 1 bar. I've seen 893 kb/s download and 718 kb/s upload in a good area.
     
  6. BRIAN5337

    BRIAN5337 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    21
    Yeah in some places metro caps the speed. You are getting more than double the speed than me. Maybe when 5g comes out i will get full 4g. I still love my phone and service even though.

    I'm jealous... :D
     
  7. blaxican25

    blaxican25 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,520
    Likes Received:
    730
  8. BRIAN5337

    BRIAN5337 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    21
    Did it really take just over three hours to upload that screen shot?
    Or are you on moon time "Your location" lol:D

    What rom are you using? It seems that your loosing approximately 4% of your battery in 7min and at that rate you will only get around 4 hours of battery. I noticed your screen shot before your edit.

    Metro please bring on the 5g....
     
  9. nuttmeg

    nuttmeg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    7,331
    Likes Received:
    2,525
    I normally get 7 to 10 Mbps with metro lte 4g.
     
  10. PRkid

    PRkid Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2011
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    49
    5g? My 4g is doing super great!! I dont have to turn on WiFi for anything. This phone turned out to be better than what i expected. i cant see this phone gettin any faster :x
     
  11. Jeyd02

    Jeyd02 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011
    Messages:
    1,996
    Likes Received:
    334
    Um. Remember that metro pcs lte is not fully developed yet.
     
  12. 2012

    2012 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    10
    5G :eek: My phone has already got a faster connection than my house.
     
  13. reilus

    reilus Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    669
    Likes Received:
    99
    Before, these advances came from the United States; now they come from India. I guess selling our knowledge to foreigners and weakening the culture of this country was not a good idea. Well, I know it doesn't seem that way now. Let's talk in 10-20 years...
     
  14. poluka2000

    poluka2000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    12
    I see that the article seems to come from news source in India, but the research is done by Rice University, So what I get out of that is that the Research is about USA technology not Indian. That being said perhaps the fact that an online new paper in India is covering something like this and yet we have not seen it covered in the USA is a sign for concern.
     
  15. Ære

    Ære Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    251
    Europe's had LTE for some time, they have Advanced VoLTE - speeds up 72mbps!..

    metropcs is actually in the works of building VoLTE which will; increase data speeds, voice over 4g and talk and use data at the same time (browse the web and talk, etc)

    yes metropcs cows their speeds for now as they want to maintain the structure..the snapping was supposed to be at the end of dec..but it was pushed back..untapped to 16mbps...that's quick for mobile

    5g won't be ready for a bit but sure it will be nice as 4g is pretty epic at high speeds. sometimes clicking on the wrong link..I can't hit the stop "X" fast enough lol
     
  16. Jeyd02

    Jeyd02 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2011
    Messages:
    1,996
    Likes Received:
    334
    [quote="
     
  17. Androidkucool

    Androidkucool Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2011
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    13
    ^^that 5G will be available when you inside metropcs stores:D
     
  18. ChazzMatt

    ChazzMatt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    125
    Really? Please post a screen shot of that.

    MetroPCS CEO says top maximum speed of Metro's LTE network is 8mbps -- due to them pushing LTE through such narrow channels on unconventional frequencies. And that's under perfect conditions. I've not seen anything over 5+ myself.

    Make sure the test is on Metro's LTE network and not wi-fi. I get 10mbps all the time through my wi-fi, courtesty Comcast when I'm at home. :)

    For instance, this looks like a decent LTE speed, right?


    [​IMG]


    BUT it's not LTE, it's from wi-fi. You can tell when you go into the "Results" section:


    [​IMG]
    ___

    EDIT: Ah, I see you live in Dallas, TX, where MetroPCS HQ is located.

    Still, I'd like to see a screenshot where you show you are not on wi-fi?
     
  19. wayne137

    wayne137 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    38

    yea I want to see that screenshot please
     
  20. n4zty

    n4zty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4,302
    Likes Received:
    1,700
    i wish i could reach 5 mbps...

    [​IMG]
     
  21. demarsjcd

    demarsjcd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    68
    no problem bud
     
    ShinySide likes this.
  22. ChazzMatt

    ChazzMatt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    125
    Thanks.
     
  23. n4zty

    n4zty Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4,302
    Likes Received:
    1,700
    2 late i got his ip and im gonna give it to metro pcs and tell them chazz rooted his phone............LMAO!
     
  24. ChazzMatt

    ChazzMatt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    125
    That was not my home IP, it was the corporate IP.

    I also just grabbed another screen shot and changed the original to the new one -- to show that I am getting MetroPCS signal, while also being on wi-fi. One bar -- but still getting Metro signal.

    Click here to see it.

    So, doing any speed tests you have to make sure you aren't accidentally measuring your wi-fi connection speed instead of your MetroPCS data speed. :rolleyes:
     
  25. ShinySide

    ShinySide Disabled

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    Messages:
    5,504
    Likes Received:
    2,680
    I need to see this 7-10 too :D

    Highest Ive ever got was 4-4.5
     

Share This Page

Loading...