64gb Micro SD work on phone?

1. suo52scots

suo52scots Member

Hey people, I am just wanting some opinions from those clever people out there regarding this new microSD card that is about to launch.
    I am currently using an HTC Legend with a 32gb (Class 10) Lexar MicroSD card in it and it works just fine... There are a lot of posts elsewhere that say that these smart phones will not cope with more than 16gb microSD cards and thus will not put up with 64gb. As my little Legend can cope with 32gb should it be able to handle the 64gb when it arrives on sale?
    thanks so much for your time ;)

Advertisement
    :
  2. lordofthereef

lordofthereef Well-Known Member

I am no expert, but assuming the standards are the same (which I would think they would be, I don't see a reason why this wouldn't work for you.
    suo52scots likes this.
  3. NightAngel79

NightAngel79 Bounty Hunter Administrator Moderator

pretty sure it won't handle over a 32 gig card (almost 100% positive)

moving to Android Lounge as this is an Android limitation in general, title updated as well
  4. lordofthereef

^^^ Now is this because of software limit, hardware limit, or.... ?
  5. NightAngel79

I disagree, windows needed to push a patch to allow for support of 32 gig cards when they came out. That tells me they are different enough that some sort of patch/etc would be required... could be wrong though

edit: would guess software Reef
    suo52scots likes this.
  6. suo52scots

suo52scots Member

Thank you for your time getting back to me both of you. Ill just have to hope for a patch .... also ill be waiting to see the price tag first as the 32gb cost me an arm and a leg! :)
    NightAngel79 likes this.
  7. NightAngel79

yea, when they are new they are expensive as ****:)

If i had to bet on it I would say that once they are out (if they aren't already) that then new phones will come out that support it but no old ones will. Purely a guess though
  8. lordofthereef