7/28/10 PRL update


Last Updated:

  1. Daft Punk

    Daft Punk Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    44
    just wanted to let you guys know.
     

    Advertisement
    br0ck, t1jordan, nikkihp79 and 4 others like this.
  2. One Beast

    One Beast Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    75
    Updated....Thanks for the heads up.....More Roaming choices:cool:
     
  3. silliybilly

    silliybilly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    13
    Or less choices. We won't know until a change log comes out.
     
  4. 81_

    81_ Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    39
    i wonder if this is related to all the 4g issues we have been having these past few days?


    what does PRL stand for and why do i care

    edit...just dug it up

    The PRL is a list of information that resides in the memory of some kinds of digital phones. It lists the radio frequencies the phone can use in various geographic areas.

    The part of the list for each area is ordered by the bands the phone should try to use first. Therefore it's a kind of priority list for which towers the phone should use.

    The PRL helps determine which home-network towers to use, and also which towers belonging to other networks to use in roaming situations (areas where the home network has no coverage.) When roaming, the PRL may instruct the phone to use the network with the best roaming rate for the carrier, rather than the one with the strongest signal at the moment.

    Since a PRL tells the phone "where" to search for a signal, as carrier networks change over time, an updated PRL may be required for a phone to "see" all of the coverage that it should, both with the home network and for roaming.
     
  5. clamchowderz

    clamchowderz Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    10
    Just updated! Where are the changes?
     
  6. Kelita

    Kelita Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    55
    I'm still at 60668, no change here. :(
     
  7. 81_

    81_ Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    39
    for what it's worth, i'm running that as well.
     
  8. nyczducky

    nyczducky Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    8
    To add to what 81_ said:

    PRL stands for Preferred Roaming List.
     
  9. meatgel

    meatgel New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Updated to what? I am still at 60668. Weird.
     
  10. Yankees368

    Yankees368 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    300
    Likes Received:
    33
    i see no update
     
  11. Droidone

    Droidone Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2009
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    118
    I'm scared to update. My data speeds have gotten better with the last prl before this new one. Anybody noticing any issues with data speed?
     
  12. One Beast

    One Beast Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    75
    My data speeds are the same...jus ran a test
    [​IMG]
     
    Droidone likes this.
  13. CrisG

    CrisG Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm also still on 60668, although I received a message that the PRL was updated.
     
  14. stainlessray

    stainlessray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    642
    Likes Received:
    106
    it says prl updated every time i get a couple error 67's, and execute that. it doesn't mean it changed, just that you reapplied the settings. that's one of the b.s. fixes sprint gave for that error early on. i stopped doing it when i noticed it did no good.
     
  15. mityman50

    mityman50 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    9
    Well, I still get zero bars at home... so... whatever.

    I won't be happy with an update until I get enough bars to make a non-crackly phone call from home.

    Apparently I'm getting 4G in January. I was excited until I realized it would probably suck at my house.
     
  16. One Beast

    One Beast Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    75
    Yeah i heard 4G and walls don't mix....
     
  17. 81_

    81_ Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    39
    it really depends on the wall. works fine in my house, but in my office, with a window, it doesn't.
     
  18. mityman50

    mityman50 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    9
    I really can't tell if you're being serious or sarcastically caustic, but I won't get any more than two bars in my front yard.

    And I don't even live a mile form the city.
     
  19. One Beast

    One Beast Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    75
    No im being serious..People have said the 4G Signal has trouble penetrating walls
     
  20. farrellcollie

    farrellcollie Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    4
    And from what I can tell, darkness, a few trees and being outside walking dogs does it no good either. I tried updating profile and prl both today and then turned on 4g to walk dogs around park in South St. Louis - it dropped, came back once, dropped and caused a "searching for signal" message for about 10 minutes then I switched over to 3g - still some dropping but not as bad. I was trying to check out sirius radio trial to see if it was worth buying - it is great when it works, but no point if I can't get the connection to stay up. Inside my house is impossible unless I use wifi.
     
  21. dbc00per

    dbc00per Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've read that signal penetration in general for sprint is on the lacking side due to the frequency or mg hertz level their network exists on. Penetration into any building is not very good because they have a higher frequency, lower frequencys such as att penetrate more because they are lower, thiscan be confirmed from at least my experience. I've recently switched over from the iphone and always got great signal in my house and in the basement, now I get 1-2 bars inside, none downstairs. Can't really make calls in my basement...slightly irritating. But none the less, enjoy the evo alot more, limitations aside!
     
  22. freeza

    freeza Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    168
    ......so what is the new PRL number?
     
  23. eric3316

    eric3316 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    96
    1 word for ya, Airave!
     
  24. jcthorne

    jcthorne Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    18
    Is there a 4G version of Airave?
     
  25. terekkincaid

    terekkincaid Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Lol, ya, it's called "Wi-Fi router", since the Airave has to be hooked up to your home internet anyway and won't give you any more distance than your current router would :p
     

Share This Page

Loading...