1. Introducing Channels - a new way to chat with other Android users!
    Dismiss Notice

720p video/3g hot spot and froyo soonGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. kriskmk

    kriskmk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    8

    yes 720p will be offered with the OTA update.. at least thats what the websites say..

    Why do you have to the root the phone for Wifi Tether? could you just not have used PDAnet?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Jakaro

    Jakaro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    601
    Likes Received:
    55
    Somebody over at XDA will take the file out of the OTA, so it will be ready to download most likely within the same day. Plus, they will figure out a way for us to load this OTA without losing root very quickly. Most likely within a day or two.
     
  3. Vaseline Smith

    Vaseline Smith Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2010
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    49
    I can haz OTA?
     
  4. Jakaro

    Jakaro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    601
    Likes Received:
    55
    N/M
     
  5. plim

    plim Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    19
    pdanet does not allow me to tether my ipod touch
     
  6. jayjay1122

    jayjay1122 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,456
    Likes Received:
    338
    So your saying its an HTC employees phone?? :D:D:D
     
  7. Jakaro

    Jakaro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    601
    Likes Received:
    55
    HEH, someone asked about why the htc was on top, but they deleted there post lol.
     
  8. kriskmk

    kriskmk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    8

    That'll be awesome.. but in any case.. I'll do the OTA update when it comes by :)..
     
  9. kriskmk

    kriskmk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    8

    If you are looking for WiFi mobile hotspot.. yea PDAnet doesn't do that.
     
  10. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    599
    Thats OK, I just posted the same thing and then looked back 6 posts to see it already answered...:eek:

    Whatever the case I am very excited to be getting the new boot animation, its about freaking time!
     
  11. jayjay1122

    jayjay1122 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,456
    Likes Received:
    338
    I hear ya GMB!
    I'll actually take anything that shows a little love for the Incredible at this point! ;)
     
  12. Jakaro

    Jakaro Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    601
    Likes Received:
    55
    [​IMG]

    This is still by far my fav. Im not a big fan of the droid eye, mostly because it will be on every droid in the world! heh
     
  13. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    599
    I know this from having the MotoDroid, it will be OTA. No WIFI required. Sent out in waves specifically for that reason.

    How many people don't have access to wifi? I never have until I set up my own wifi this last year and I never ever use it with my Incredible. It is unreasonable to think that every Incredible owner will have access to wifi.
     
    secretLOVER, euph_22 and Skipdawg like this.
  14. mario8267

    mario8267 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
  15. MrSmoofy

    MrSmoofy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    409
    Likes Received:
    97
    I was under the impression that pdanet free version ONLY did HTTP (port 80) and that the paid version ONLY did HTTP and HTTPS (port 80 and 443)

    What about all the other ports, if I'm using my computer I'm talking email (25, 110, 587 etc), RDP, telnet, ftp, etc.
     
  16. mario8267

    mario8267 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2008
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
  17. waynester

    waynester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    65
    That's the same case I made on another thread, not all have or even know how to connect to wifi.
    That being said, OTA and wifi seem to conflict to my understanding.
    Doesn't wifi imply downloading from a website?
     
  18. kriskmk

    kriskmk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    8
    Updates that are pushed to your phone CANNOT be done thru WiFi.. and also not everybody has WiFi Access...

    Unless VZW wants people to manually update their phones by connecting to a computer (like the Ipod) or thru WiFi.. WHICH IS SERIOUSLY DOUBT.. I don't think one would need WiFi to get the OTA update.
     
  19. waynester

    waynester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    65
  20. Skipdawg

    Skipdawg Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2010
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    47
    Love it. Waiting for the OTA now. Maybe reboot and see if that pulls it in.
     
  21. kriskmk

    kriskmk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    8

    All is know is you get free internet using the PDAnet tethering.. I have downloaded more than 2 gigabytes of data .. I have downloaded movies from rapidshare/megaupload.. etc.. I am not sure about opening of specific ports either. My understanding is that it provides you with internet on your computer.. and you can do typically everything you can with an internet connection.
     
  22. GrandMasterB

    GrandMasterB Go Go Gadget Flow! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    599
    Yes. OTA and WIFI will not work in conjunction with each other.
     
  23. Pretkomel

    Pretkomel Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    13
    Is this going to delay the froyo release for the DI? I mean, if the hot spot feature is coming in froyo, why are they adding it in this ota? Just wondering.

    Sent from my ADR6300 using Tapatalk
     
  24. kriskmk

    kriskmk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2010
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    8
    it's a no brainer! I am surprised people think VZW can somehow hack into a WiFi network and push it's updates!.. OF COURSE the updates will be pushed ONLY when you are on VZW network... and in case if people don't know.. once you connect to WiFi.. you lose your mobile network (not the phone connectivity, but the internet connectivity).
     
  25. fortesquieu

    fortesquieu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,079
    Likes Received:
    144

    Apparently the news came true today! :p
     

Share This Page

Loading...