800 Mhz Question


Last Updated:

  1. BenDroid

    BenDroid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    13
    Okay, I have yet to find anything in terms of safe temps when overclocking. I downloaded Setcpu yesterday and have it set at 800 max and 250 min. I have not downloaded any type of TempMonitor yet. I have read in many topics where unless you plan on OC to closer to 1000 the temp monitor is really not needed. Is this true?

    Also could someone point me in the right direction on how to setup the profiles on setcpu for the best overall performance. Or is this important at all?

    And last, say that after a few days of playing around with the OC aspect of things I decide to just go back to stock speeds. Do I just uninstall Setcpu or what?

    Thanks in advance for any helpful answers.

    Ben
     

    Advertisement
  2. alostpacket

    alostpacket Over Macho Grande? VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    7,978
    Likes Received:
    3,603
    I'd agree you're unlikely to run into any temp problems at 800 but I'd say why not get Temp Monitor from the market, I think there's a free version at alldroid, but even the donate version on the market is only like $1 or something.

    Worth every one of those 100 pennies!
     
  3. emdmao

    emdmao Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    51
    You can see system temp with SetCPU if you go into system info, it displays in celsius...I don't know if it is as accurate as other methods though.
     
  4. Fadelight

    Fadelight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    95
    Tempmonitor is $1.99 in the market, and worth every penny. the dev is working directly with Taz, and Taz has enabled the temp sensor on the CPU, so that program reads the actual CPU temp rather than the battery temp.

    If you don't want to run 800mhz anymore, the easiest thing to do is just to lower your setting down to 550mhz in SetCPU... if you ever wanted to OC again, you could just jack it back up.

    As for temps @ 800mhz, I wouldn't worry at all. I am running my phone at 1.3ghz, and the CPU temp stays between 36c and 40c.

    I can't post sources because I can't remember where I read it, but someone posted not that long ago claiming that Motorola said the max CPU temp was 40c. I believe it was Taz who posted shortly after that saying that he ran his phone as high as 60c without incident. Only time will tell in how safe it really is, but my point is this: Many people are running their phones at nearly double the speed you are (when you are running at 800mhz) without incident. I wouldn't be too worried, if I were you.


    As for the temp monitor program - You probably don't really need it even at 1ghz, but I like to know what my phone is doing anyway. Personal preference.


    Profiles in SetCPU... you'll only get opinions on that one. You have to remember that these programs are designed around customization so everyone can set them to their own personal needs. That said, here is my opinion: Leave it at 800/250. The phone, like any other CPU idling device, is more than capable of selecting how much CPU power it needs. There are very few instances where I would see the need to force it to do anything different.
     
  5. BenDroid

    BenDroid Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    13
    Great answers. Thank you all for the helpful info.
     
  6. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    3,635
    Likes Received:
    2,126
    You're much more likely to run into your CPU's clock speed limit before you reach any sort of temperature that can damage it.
     
    johnlgalt likes this.
  7. Fadelight

    Fadelight Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,395
    Likes Received:
    95

    +1 on that one.
     
  8. brettlewis

    brettlewis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2009
    Messages:
    867
    Likes Received:
    49
    Overclocking seems to be very different on cell phone processors then computer processors, why is it that on a cellphone processors you can OC by 2-2.5 times the clock speed, while on computers it is only recommended to OC by 10-20%?

    I know a lot of it has to do with heat off put, but why wouldn't a 600mhz rated processor get really hot at 1.3ghz? and how is it even possible to ram up the frequency that much?
     
  9. Doctor

    Doctor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    1
    The latest SetCPU v1.4.6 has a battery monitor built in to "Fail Safe Profile" to lower the overclock to a preset point if the temp goes over that set amount....
    Nice work from the Dev!
     
  10. meekrab

    meekrab Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    9
    Cortex-A8 Processor - ARM

    If you click on the "performance" tab, it describes two revisions of the chip, LP and G+. LP, which presumably stands for low power, is likely the one in our phone (It's rated at 600 mhz)

    The G+ version is rated at 1 Ghz, and the website even says:

    "The ARM Cortex
     
  11. CRPercodani

    CRPercodani OFWGKTA VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,940
    Likes Received:
    564
     
  12. meekrab

    meekrab Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    307
    Likes Received:
    9
    Did you look where I pointed at the site? There is clearly an A8 variant rated at 600 mhz, are you saying that's not the proc in the droid?
     
  13. CRPercodani

    CRPercodani OFWGKTA VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,940
    Likes Received:
    564
    Yes I have seen the A8 page plenty of times. A8/v7 is just the proc architecture used in the Droid, not the actual cpu. It's a OMAP3430 which can be seen easily by using the temp monitor, or by just researching the Droid's specs more. It is only rated at 600mhz and not said to be scalable to 1ghz, well safely anyway lol. This has been discussed at alldroid many times.
     
  14. CRPercodani

    CRPercodani OFWGKTA VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,940
    Likes Received:
    564
    Perhaps there is more to this then I know, but everything I have read shows that yes the A8 microprocessor is capable of 1ghz. But atop the OMAP3430 it is scaled to 600mhz and underclocked to 550mhz. If it was truly scaled to 1ghz then why would they market and sell it as less. Check out the original overclocking thread at alldroid for more info on this since this is pretty much my extent of it.
     
  15. alostpacket

    alostpacket Over Macho Grande? VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    7,978
    Likes Received:
    3,603
    PC's can overclock more than 10-20% but they generate a lot of heat.

    My Core i7 is OC'd from 2.66Ghz up to 3.8Ghz (~42% increase). I could easily have hit 4 if I had a bit more patience, cooling, and a bit more knowledge in voltage settings, and better RAM. OK, not "easily" but it's more than doable if you have the setup/know-how. Still, 3.8 seemed dayum fast to me even though I saw people getting well over 4.
     
  16. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    The main reason that Cell phone processors are *not* clocked to their full potential is that, last I checked, I don't recall seeing any sort of active cooling in your phone, unless it happens to be the size of your average 3.5" HD in terms of all three dimensions.

    By contrast, very, very VERY few desktop and laptop computers use the same type of passive cooling as found in our phones - thus, the CPUs can run a much closer approximation of their theoretical limit. My personal desktop (home brew) Has no less then 2 intake fans, 2 output fans, plus a fan in my CPU cooler (I love my Tuniq Tower 120 LED) and both of my GTX260s have built in fans as well....

    I think you get the picture :p

    Oh, and as for 10-20% for computer CPUs, well, I have a Core2Quad 6600 (the binned G0 stepping) that I have easily OC'd on AIR only to 3.6, but it was not 100% stable - at 3.21 (a 33% OC) not only am I stable, I am rock solid stable, with a coupe of GHz to spare - I find my temps are much more manageable at 3.21 and there is not a lot of performance increase when bumping from 3.2 to ~3.4.
     
  17. DanSan

    DanSan Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    5
    im running at 1ghz and under load it gets around 40c+ temps
     
  18. johnlgalt

    johnlgalt Antidisestablishmentarian VIP Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    1,919
    I am running Bugless Beast 0.7.4 (haven't gotten to 7.5 yet) and with my profiles I never break 100F - which means less than 38 C.....
     
  19. eL777

    eL777 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    1
  20. taz55

    taz55 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    6
    i try to stay around 800 i found 950 the phone was just getting hot hitting near 40c and staying there. With no clear indication of the actual temp maximum limit is i just leave it at 800 since it runs very well there and don't worry bout it.
     
  21. rjoudrey

    rjoudrey Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,440
    Likes Received:
    125
    800 runs best and me feel safe as well.
     
  22. taz55

    taz55 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    6
    i finally bumped mine up to 950. but i set it to change back to 550 if it passes 40c
     
  23. HaunteD CoucH

    HaunteD CoucH Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    5
    what is the stock temp on it anyway? just to compare to 800mhz
     
  24. taz55

    taz55 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    6
    just looked at my brothers. Forgive me for not rembmering the numbers but they were two degrees celcius cooler than mine running at 950.
     
  25. sukanas

    sukanas Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    hm, i ran my at 800 mhz and after about 10 min of surfing (ie, at like school or something), it gets too warm and it goes over 40 cel.. how are you guys keeping it under 40? oh and im running droidmod1.0
     

Share This Page

Loading...