A couple of questions - Android newbie!


Last Updated:

  1. Hordriss

    Hordriss Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    18
    Hi all.

    I've just got my HTC Hero today, and I have a couple of questions.

    First and foremost, how do I exit applications? I know I get get back to the homescreen using the home key. When on the home screen, I know I hold the home key to show all active applications, but I can't figure out how to exit them! I've had a look in the quick start guide that came with the phone, but I couldn't see anything about this.

    Secondly, I've got a handset branded to the 3UK network. I tried to download the ROM upgrade, but it said it wasn't suitable for my handset when I entered in the serial number. Does this mean there is no update available?
     

    Advertisement
  2. Jaffa

    Jaffa Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    1,185
    Likes Received:
    91
    Hi and welcome. If you go to setting> about phone and check your build number, and compare it to the download.

    You don't necessarily have to close apps down, android will manager its self however you can download from the market a force close app, that sits on your status pane, simply drag the pane down and force close.

    Hope this helps
     
    Hordriss likes this.
  3. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,760
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    You need to download the update from the 3 website, not HTC's, if that's what you were doing.
     
  4. Hordriss

    Hordriss Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    18
    Hi, I've checked the build number and it's 2.73.771.73.

    Also, I've checked on 3's website, and their software updates page only seems to cater for Sony Ericsson, Nokia and Motorola handsets, unless I'm missing something. Here's the link 3 - Help & Support - About my mobile - Software & settings.

    Thanks for the replies so far, by the way.
     
  5. Xyro

    Xyro 4 8 15 16 23 42 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2009
    Messages:
    12,760
    Likes Received:
    8,894
    I just found out in another topic HTC also host all the network specific ROMs

    HTC Hero - Software Download

    However, if you try to download the 3UK one you'll find it's the exact same build no. as your phone already, so no need to update :)
     
    Hordriss likes this.
  6. Hordriss

    Hordriss Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    18
    Thanks for your help.

    :)
     
  7. The_Gnome_

    The_Gnome_ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    49
    I know I'm a little late to the thread, but I holding the home key doesn't show open applications, it just shows the last 6 you've used.

    Enjoy the Hero, it's a great device!!
     
    Hordriss likes this.
  8. Hordriss

    Hordriss Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    18
    That's me being a numpty then, I assumed it was open applications!

    I'm definitely very impressed with the Hero - makes me so glad my Nokia X6 conked out after 2 days so I could insist 3 provided me with the Hero instead!
     
  9. The_Gnome_

    The_Gnome_ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    418
    Likes Received:
    49
    I assumed the same thing, so I guess I'm a numpty too! ;)

    When I was a blackberry user (the dark ages as I call it), thats how they functioned, so it makes sense that we'd think that way.
     

Share This Page

Loading...