A few minor issues with USB connection


Last Updated:

  1. plummeh

    plummeh Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Compaq (HP NC6400) laptop with Windows XP professional. I appear to be having some problems connecting the phone to my laptop, both mine and a relaives Dell Vostro don't find the HTC Hero, all that comes up in My Computer is "Removable Disc Drive (F:)" When I double click that it asks me to insert a disc.

    If there is anyone who is/have suffered from this problem who can share some advice it would be much appreciated.

    Thanks in advance.
     

    Advertisement
  2. cheggerspop

    cheggerspop Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    6
    Are you "mounting" the Hero, so it's viewable on your PC/laptop?

    Connect the Hero with the USB cable and you should see a USB icon in the status bar at the top of the Hero screen.

    If you drag the screen down (put your finger at the top of the screen and slide it down), this will open Notifications. You can then press the USB connection option and this will "mount" the unit and make it accessible via your PC/laptop.


    Chegs.
     
  3. plummeh

    plummeh Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the prompt reply,

    I've followed the steps you've provided to no avail when I select "Mount" on the phone nothing appears?

    Any other suggestions?

    Thanks.
     
  4. cheggerspop

    cheggerspop Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    6
  5. plummeh

    plummeh Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes I have HTC Sync installed and now when I plug my phone in it's not showing any notifications so I cannot mount the phone to USB anymore.
     
  6. cheggerspop

    cheggerspop Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    6
    Try turning your Hero off (total power down) and then starting again and see what happens.


    Chegs.
     
  7. plummeh

    plummeh Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tried that also..
     
  8. cheggerspop

    cheggerspop Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    6
    Have you tried an different USB port?

    Aren't computers/mobiles good fun!?! ;)
     
  9. plummeh

    plummeh Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tried in all usb ports again to no avail. I've managed to get the phone to prompt me whether to mount the phone to usb but when I mount it I still can't see the phone as a drive. Any other ideas?
     
  10. zukini

    zukini Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    2
    I found when i first connected the phone to a usb port it took a long time to be seen by the computer for the first use. Turn on the phone and the computer. Plug the phone in to the USB port and come back in half and hour. Even if it looks like its finished installing there seems to be somthing going on still.
     

Share This Page

Loading...