A Few Questions - Re: LeeDrOiD 2.2F Apps2SD+


Last Updated:

  1. JohnnyBravo1000

    JohnnyBravo1000 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    929
    Likes Received:
    56
    I've recently rooted and flashed my Desire with LeeDrOiD 2.2F Apps2SD+

    So far I'm very impressed and the phone is working very smoothly indeed.

    However, I naturally have a few questions. :D

    1) I have noticed that the Street View on Google application doesn't work.

    It doesn't show up in my "All Apps" menu. Yet it shows up in my market downloads as installed, and when I go to settings > applications > manage applications it also shows up with a file size of 313KB.

    I can't open the app via the market download (I can't install it either, as both options are greyed out) or Titanium when I look at my apps.

    How can I rectify this? The only thing I can think of is to remove it via Titanium and attemp to reinstall if I wish to have the app?

    Or am I missing something simple?

    2) Are there any tips or tricks for keeping the internal memory as free as possible? Eg. Is there anything I should clear out regularly to free up space?

    I've noticed it increases and decreases ever so slightly - I think it's increased by around 8-10MB since I've been installing my apps etc - is this just par for the course of installing apps? Or can I manage my internal storage to ensure the phone runs as smoothly as possible? I currently have 125MB free according to Titanium, and I think I had 130-odd immediately after flashing.

    3) I know all apps and their cache are stored on the SD card. When cleaning the cache from an app, do I have to look for it using something like Astro? Or can I go to applications > manage applications > and then clear the cache of my app of choice. Will this then erase the cache any cache from that app being stored in the partition?

    4) The ROM I flashed comes with an app called AdFree. It seems a great app, as it doesn't show any ads on my apps or in the browser. Do I need to keep this app updated, or do anything so it recognises new ads etc? Or can I just leave it as it is?

    5) I've noticed there is an option in Titanium to clear Dalvik cache. Should I clear this? If so, how often?

    I'm sure I'll have more questions eventually, so apologies in advance. With a bit of luck, this thread may shed some light for others - particularly using a LeeDrOiD ROM or Apps2SD+. :)
     

    Advertisement
  2. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    1 sounds like its a system app ie part of the Rom. Check system:app on your Rom zip file

    2 and 3 dalvik cache is on sd. App cache is on internal memory. Clear as normal. Don't worry about it

    4 dunno. I expect it is updated in every release of leedroid if the app has an update

    5 unless you're having problems, theres no need
     
  3. EddyOS

    EddyOS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,681
    Likes Received:
    283
    Wouldn't it make more sense to post this in the LeeDroid thread on XDA?
     
  4. JohnnyBravo1000

    JohnnyBravo1000 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    929
    Likes Received:
    56
    Thanks again, mate.

    I've located it on the ROM zip file how you said. I can't seem to do much with it though. I can uninstall it or launch it. If I attempt to launch it I get an "Activity Not Found - com.google.android" message.

    Good shout!

    I'll stick it on there as well.
     
  5. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    It's just to check if its there. If it is, open zip with Winrar on pc (not extract). Delete it then reflash rom. Then install from market
     
  6. JohnnyBravo1000

    JohnnyBravo1000 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    929
    Likes Received:
    56
    Thanks mate. I'll remember that for future reference. I think it's because Street View has been integrated into the Google Maps app, rather than as a stand alone app.

    I thought this may have been the case, but I thought it was too obvious a scenario! :D
     
  7. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,532
    Likes Received:
    250
    I know rthis is off topic but how are you finding the .27 radio Eddy? I flashed it a couple of days back. Data is better IMO.
     
  8. UKseagull

    UKseagull Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    27
    You'll have Google Maps on Leedroid and Street View works within that, it also works in Latitude which is maps too. Open Google Maps and zoom in to a road somewhere, tap and hold and an address will pop up. Tap on the address and you'll get more options, one of them being Street View.
     
  9. JohnnyBravo1000

    JohnnyBravo1000 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    929
    Likes Received:
    56
    How are fellow LeeDrOiD users finding the battery. Is it worth calibrating it or something?
     
  10. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    it is worth calibrating
    its also worth using set cpu and setting the governor to "smartass" and sticking the clock to "1152" which is the most stable overclock you can get, anything higher tends to cause hangs.

    i get very good battery once its calibrated.


    do not be tempted to move the apps to sd as they will appear as internal storage.
     
  11. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,532
    Likes Received:
    250

    I have the Gapps signed.zip I downloded Google Earth, Street and Sky and it all works! Oh and latitude also. Cyanogen, (new set up under my avatar) boots up in half the time that the Leedroid takes (its a far smaller distro), has features like landscape home screens, custom shortcuts and enhanced camera functions. It also comes with vastly improved data and speeds over Leedroid due to the radio, and even though its probably to early to tell vastly improved battery life.

    Leedroid is a good stable distro, but since I flashed Cyanogen its like I almost have a new phone. Cyanogen is also OpenSource, excellent ethos!
     
  12. JohnnyBravo1000

    JohnnyBravo1000 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    929
    Likes Received:
    56
    Cheers mate.

    I'll have to look into a guide for calibrating the battery.

    Edit: I assume this will do the trick?

    http://leedroid.protogenlabs.com/wiki/calibrate-your-desire-s-battery
     
  13. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    erm what?
    you can flash different radios for any rom including the one used by cyanogen/aosp

    also different radios offer different speed improvements for different people due to network and geographical location
     
  14. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,532
    Likes Received:
    250
    I know about the radio's Rastaman, I merely flashed the suggested one.

    Anybody know of a good tutorial for Set CPU?

    I love my new set up so dont burst my bubble! :)
     
  15. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,532
    Likes Received:
    250
    SUroot likes this.
  16. Rastaman-FB

    Rastaman-FB Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2009
    Messages:
    6,113
    Likes Received:
    1,010
    lol \o/
    personally i would use either interactive or smartass as my main setup
    i would then use profiles and create a >40% profile with the clock set to 825 and s screen off profile at max 384 - min 245
    makes sure no naughty apps use too much cpu when screen is off
     
  17. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    I used to have loads of battery profiles. But thought since I overclocked, may as well have all the power all the time.

    I use ondemand..set to performance if psx. Screen off 245. That's it
     
    InfernalByte likes this.
  18. JohnnyBravo1000

    JohnnyBravo1000 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    929
    Likes Received:
    56
  19. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,532
    Likes Received:
    250
    I tried that and evn though I guess Leedroid know more about what their doing than I do, it nade no difference to me. Saying that, it wont hurt to do it in anyway, but as far as I remember from the world of NiCad batteries many moons ago, calibrating will only give you a more accurate readout of performance rather that help battery life in anyway.

    I only know of professional conditioners for Li-Ion batteries as technology has moved on so much they aren't needed.

    Smartass is a leedroid creation and only comes with that ROM, (I'm guessing you knew that Rastaman but others may not).

    Dan, I didn't think of a screen off profile. Good thinking.
     
  20. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Whoever created Smartass, it is a governor available on a lot of kernels for both sense and AOSP.
     
  21. JohnnyBravo1000

    JohnnyBravo1000 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    929
    Likes Received:
    56
    Another quick question. I am safe to install ClockworkMod Recovery via ROM Manager while using this ROM, aren't I?
     
  22. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,532
    Likes Received:
    250
    Oh, wrong again! lol
     
  23. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    It doesn't install it. It just puts update.zip on sd card and boots into it. Fine on any Rom
     
  24. InfernalByte

    InfernalByte Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,532
    Likes Received:
    250

    Yes
     
  25. JohnnyBravo1000

    JohnnyBravo1000 Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    929
    Likes Received:
    56
    Thanks!

    I thought so, as I used it to back up everything after I'd rooted.

    Figured I'd better have the capability to do the same now as I've flashed a ROM.
     

Share This Page

Loading...