A few questions


Last Updated:

  1. TheAlmightyDrew

    TheAlmightyDrew Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    50
    Now that we know this phone is getting an early/mid September release, I have a few questions:

    • Do you think GPS will work on the phone out of the box?
    • Do you think Froyo and Flash will come pre-installed?
    • I hear the phone only has 2GB of onboard memory, but is there a microSD card that is pre-installed? If so, how much space is on it?
     

    Advertisement
  2. hanano17

    hanano17 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    20
    1. Yes
    2. No
    3. Yes, 16 gb.
     
  3. ckochinsky125

    ckochinsky125 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,986
    Likes Received:
    53
    Wasnt the gps fix supposed to come out in sept anyway? I agree i think it will work out of the box for gps hopefully
     
  4. mackeydesigns

    mackeydesigns Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    13
    A 2.2 release should be coming out around the same time this phone launches, but it will not have 2.2. If you don't want to root and keep it stock, you'll have to wait for Verizon to approve an OTA update for it, which as you know being a current Verizon subscriber, will take forever.

    Also, if there is no lag fix for the phone and you wish to do this, it'll take up most your reserved 2 memory.
     
  5. ckochinsky125

    ckochinsky125 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,986
    Likes Received:
    53
    Or if you are that worried about it you can always download launcher pro or another home screen alternative to fix the lag. But i know personally i will root so i dont have to wait for verizon and their slow update releases.
     
  6. pw-man

    pw-man Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've heard, but not researched the lag issue... why does the fix take up so much memory? a complete reinstall of stuff or something else? seems like a lot of memory to fix a problem....
     
  7. mackeydesigns

    mackeydesigns Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    13
    I'm not sure why its so large to be honest. My friend tells me he had 15% taken up and when he did the lag fix, he had 80%. From the reviews of the lag fix, bench marks went from 800-900 to 2200+.
     
  8. ckochinsky125

    ckochinsky125 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,986
    Likes Received:
    53
    Yeah so they obviously fixed something and i mean you cant forget it is coming preinstalled with a 16 gb memory card so that should be plenty of space to store all of your pictures and apps if you have that many once 2.2 is released.
     
  9. BigCiX

    BigCiX Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2010
    Messages:
    3,591
    Likes Received:
    363
    If they release the phone in september and the gps fix is also in september then most likely it won't be on the phone when u buy it. Unless the fix is early september and the fascinate is late september.
     
  10. TheAlmightyDrew

    TheAlmightyDrew Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    50
    Wow. I am glad to hear that it has a 16GB microSD card preinstalled! I hope the GPS is fixed or the update that fixes it comes out shortly after the phone comes out.

    Also I am not really worried about the lag fix as I will be downloading Launcher Pro right off the bat.
     
  11. ckochinsky125

    ckochinsky125 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,986
    Likes Received:
    53
    Ha why do you hate this phone so much? How do you know they havent already fixed the lag with the fascinate like they did before releasing the epic? Or do you know this just like you know none of the phones has a flash on the camera when both the epic and fascinate do.
     
  12. Jrid32

    Jrid32 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
  13. ckochinsky125

    ckochinsky125 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,986
    Likes Received:
    53
  14. Jrid32

    Jrid32 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    I just don't trust Verizon since they are in bed with Moto...
     
  15. ckochinsky125

    ckochinsky125 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,986
    Likes Received:
    53
    Yeah maybe but there is already 1 misprint on it so ill wait and see when something more official is released or the phone is released
     
  16. TheAlmightyDrew

    TheAlmightyDrew Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    50
    Another question for you guys is: Do you trust Samsung? Do you trust that they will continue to support this phone? I mean I don't see why Samsung would abandon a phone that they have put so much time, effort and money into. The Fascinate certainly won't be a flagship phone for Verizon especially since it is not a Droid.
     
  17. hanano17

    hanano17 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    20

    Epic doesn't have this issue and I would bet the Fascinate doesn't have the issue either when launched, and will require no fix. Chalk it up to both phones being CDMA maybe, or that they released later and had it ironed out pre-release.
     
  18. Don S

    Don S Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2009
    Messages:
    629
    Likes Received:
    180
    Yup, I agree. I hope so anyway.
     
  19. ghdtpdna

    ghdtpdna Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    302
    Likes Received:
    45
    I think what we should hope is custom roms.
    At least for me I am going that route as soon as possible.
    Samsung software is simply terrible. Vanilla 2.2 would be awesome.
     
  20. ckochinsky125

    ckochinsky125 Banned

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,986
    Likes Received:
    53
    Im going to go that route also but simply for the fact that verizon usually takes forever to release updates so atleast that way i can get them as soon as a custom rom is available rather then wait for verizon
     
  21. fegriffith

    fegriffith Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    177
    Likes Received:
    6
    I'll likely root, too...but anyone find it...well frustrating, that not only do the carriers put bloatware on these devices, but in our case we are going to be forced to have Blockbuster...which is filing for bancruptcy???

    I had the AT&T Captivate for a couple of weeks and you would not believe how much bloatware was on that thing!
     
  22. TheAlmightyDrew

    TheAlmightyDrew Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    50
    Two more questions:

    Do you think the full Avatar movie will come pre-installed in the Fascinate like it is with the Vibrant?

    Do you think the Fascinate will include earbuds in the box like the Vibrant?
     
  23. Jrid32

    Jrid32 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    1
    No and Yes.......
     
  24. TheAlmightyDrew

    TheAlmightyDrew Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    50
    Damn too bad and awesome!
     
  25. JuneNYC

    JuneNYC Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    9
    You can download any movies and play it. This thing plays almost all video formats. So just download, transfer to sd card or phone, and play. Xvid, h264, wmv, mpeg's, dvix...
    I have 3 hours of commute each day and catching up to my favorite tv shows makes the commute much faster.
     
    substring likes this.

Share This Page

Loading...