A guide on how I debranded my Vodafone Desire to get 2.2 quicker.


Last Updated:

  1. Bully74uk

    Bully74uk Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    29
    EDIT2: PEOPLE ARE NOW (AS OF 04/08) REPORTING THAT AFTER DEBRANDING THEY ARE NOT GETTING THE 2.2 UPDATE. IT SEEMS THAT HTC 'MAY' HAVE STOPPED ROLLING IT OUT ! IF SO, AND YOU STILL WANT TO INSTALL 2.2, FOLLOW EVIL GENIUS' LINK ON POST #48 TO MANUALLY INSTALL.

    EDIT1: IT SEEMS THAT THIS PROCEDURE WILL NOT WORK IF YOU HAVE UPDATED THE PHONE WITH THE RECENT VODAFONE UPGRADE (1.124 I BELIEVE)

    So as expected I got too impatient to wait for Vodafone to officially launch 2.2 so I bit the bullet, debranded the handset and got the update.

    Im glad I did as I understand that Vodafone have just rolled out a sneaky update loading the handset with rubbish.

    Thought I would share the experience with my fellow Vodafone users including the guide that I used in order to complete the installation.

    This turned out to be a very easy process which took around an hour from start to finish inc the 2.2 update and restoring apps etc.

    PLEASE READ THIS FULLY BEFORE STARTING THE PROCEDURE

    Worked a treat on my handset but as with all these things I can't accept any responsibility for any loss or damage that may occur if you decide to go down the same route that I did.

    Also please be aware that debranding your handset may invalidate the warranty should anything go wrong. Im not sure whether its possible once 2.2 has been installed to revert back to the old Vodafone Rom (should the phone need to go back to Vodafone for example) so please bear that in mind.

    So, in simple terms I uninstalled the original vodafone Rom (operating system) from the phone and reflashed (re-installed) a generic HTC Rom (one that isn't operator specific). After this install I manually checked for updates on the handset and was prompted to update to Android 2.2. Which of course I did :D I re-installed my backed up data and everything's good.

    So here's how I did it.

    1, I already had a copy of an app called mybackup pro (available in the market) and I used this to make a backup on my Micro SD card and on their internet server of all my data and apps. I think this app has a 30 day trial, if so you can use it for the this process then uninstall without buying it.

    2, I then copied the contents of my Micro SD card to a folder on my PC as an extra backup but haven't needed it.

    THE UPDATE WILL WIPE ALL DATA FROM THE HANDSET SO MAKE SURE YOU BACK UP.

    3, I noted down all the APN settings from the phone as an additional precaution but again didn't need them. MENU - SETTINGS - WIRELESS & NETWORKS - MOBILE NETWORKS - ACCESS POINT NAMES - VODAFONE.

    4, I then followed this guide to create a gold card and reflash the handset but with one major difference, I used a different Rom to the one that's linked to on section 1 of the debranding procedure because Id read of people having problems with the one listed:

    This is the guide: Debranding / Unlocking an HTC Desire - The giffgaff community

    And the Rom I used is this one : RUU_Bravo_HTC_WWE_1.21.405.2_Radio_32.36.00.28U_4. 06.00.02_2_release_126984_signed.exe

    Which can be downloaded here (its the very top one labeled 'new bravo Rom'): RUU_Bravo_HTC_WWE_1.21.405.2_Radio_32.36.00.28U_4. 06.00.02_2_release_126984_signed.ex - xda-developers

    * I used a separate Micro SD Card to create my Gold Card (mine was a Kingston 2GB card) but the guide explains how to use the one from your desire. If using the same card you must make a copy of it on your PC first as you have to reformat to FAT32.

    * Check the requirements at the top of the guide regarding installing HTC sync. I didn't have this installed on my PC prior to the reflash, its in a folder on the SD card that came with your phone so connect that to your PC and install it before starting.

    * You only need to do the first 2 sections of the guide 'creating the gold card' and the 'debranding procedure' The last section is about unlocking the phone and isn't relevant for this procedure.

    5, When you run the new downloaded Rom it comes up with an installer on your PC, its all pretty straight forward and simply a matter of pressing Next each time.

    6, Once the reflash is complete the phone will have rebooted and you will now have a working generic HTC Rom on your phone. It should prompt you to select what Network you are on (in my case Vodafone Post Pay) and then guide you through the start up wizard. At this point leave the gold card in the phone.

    7, Make sure your WiFi is set up and switched on on the handset and go check for updates. MENU - SETTINGS - ABOUT PHONE - SYSTEM SOFTWARE UPDATES - CHECK NOW. You should be prompted to upgrade to Android 2.2.

    8, Click to download and install the upgrade and Bobs your uncle, you will now have an unbranded Desire running on Vodafone with Android 2.2 :D

    YOU CAN NOW REMOVE THE GOLD CARD AND EITHER PUT IN YOUR ORIGINAL SD CARD OR IF YOU USED THE SAME CARD COPY THE DATA BACK TO IT THAT YOU BACKED UP AT THE BEGINNING.

    Restoring data and Apps

    After the install I had to re-install Mybackup Pro and select 'restore' to re-install all my data and apps.

    Some of my apps also showed up in the market under 'downloads' so I could re-install or update from there. Google maps for example required an update to the latest level.

    I also had some apps that were stored as APK files on my SD card :eek: To re-install those I simply re-downloaded Astro File manager from the App store, located the Apps through that on the phone and re-installed the APKs.

    Easy as that.

    Im a complete Android noob and although Ive tinkered with other phones (sort of rooted my old Nokia N95 8GB) I don't have a lot of experience with this type of thing, but to be fair this process wasn't must different to the official upgrade procedure that you had to go through with Nokia !

    Hope this helps if you are using a branded phone and wish to debrand in order to get 2.2.

    Thanks.

    Bully.
     

    Advertisement
  2. wellibob

    wellibob Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2010
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    15
    lovely, one question, when all this is done, am i correct in saying its no longer rooted, ie can i just put on a different rom if i choose from here-after ?
     
  3. anoniemouse

    anoniemouse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,514
    Likes Received:
    237
    You need to root your phone to be able to put different roms on it, if you debrand & get the OTA froyo You will lose the ability to root or debrand.
     
  4. Bully74uk

    Bully74uk Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    29
    Im not sure about the Roms on XDA Developers for example, the ones that have been tinkered with. I think they require your phone to be rooted.

    I don't believe this procedure roots your phone, it simply allows you to switch from one standard Rom to another.

    As I mentioned above im an android noob so maybe one of the more experienced members will be able to confirm.
     
  5. Bully74uk

    Bully74uk Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    29
    I understand you may lose the ability to root after the OTA to 2.2 but what do you mean about losing the ability to debrand. Are you saying that now ive gone to 2.2 I can't use the goldcard again to go back to another generic Rom ? Back to the old one for example ? I was under the impression I could :confused:
     
  6. anoniemouse

    anoniemouse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,514
    Likes Received:
    237

    If you look on this thread i got the details from xda regarding OTA froyo blocking all attempts to change anything.

    http://androidforums.com/all-things-root-desire/139596-rooting-failures-after-ota-froyo.html
     
  7. japester

    japester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    10
    QWell I've got as far as making the goldcard and got to the "are you sure" prompt about the update - dont have the time to do it now, but all seems OK so far!

    Will complete tomorrow probably.

    Thanks!
     
  8. denialnw10

    denialnw10 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    4
    All done!!! Thanks a million!!! And Kudos to the original guide uploader!!! :D
     
  9. Bully74uk

    Bully74uk Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    29
    Yep, thats a very god point. I couldn't have done it myself without that guide and simply added my own personal experience and tips to it.

    Like the need to keep the gold card in for the 2.2 update as ive read of people encountering problems that may be due to them removing it too early.

    Whilst the guide doesn't tell you to take it out, it doesn't tell you to keep it in either.
     
  10. Septian

    Septian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    9
    All done and dusted! :)
    I have no interest in rooting so this was perfect for me.
    Mmm Frozen Yoghurt
     
  11. denialnw10

    denialnw10 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    4
    And that's why YOU THA MAN!!! Bringing all the info under one post! :D Nice one matey! Thanks again!!!
     
  12. glenmcfar

    glenmcfar Guest

    Didn't work for me. I'm getting

    ERROR (131): Customer ID Error

    and

    "The ROM update utility cannot update your android phone, please get the correct ROM update and try again
     
  13. Septian

    Septian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    9
    I think this is something to do with the Goldcard mate, but it could also "possibly" be your bootloader version. mine was 0.80 but some desires afaik have 0.75 bootloaders.
     
  14. glenmcfar

    glenmcfar Guest

    I also have 0.80. Only other thing I can think of is.... do i use the CID or the reverse CID?
     
  15. glenmcfar

    glenmcfar Guest

    I've also got this gadgy 1.124 update today, which is why i'm here... :eek:
     
  16. Septian

    Septian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    9
    Ahh.. the update.. I've read that debranding wont work if you've downloaded the update :( until a crack is found for the HBoot, I was lucky and was at work when the OTA came out and read all about it, so I cancelled it when it came up and debranded. Sorry I can't be of anymore help mate :(.
     
  17. freefall

    freefall Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    3
    So if you downloaded the vodafone update then you can't debrand. That's twice I have read that in the space of half an hour on 2 different forums.
     
  18. Septian

    Septian Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    9
    Unfortunatly it appears that that is the case, it's only what i've read myself however and I'm not 100% sure how accurate that information is.
     
  19. Bully74uk

    Bully74uk Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    29


    Did you use the Rom that I linked to (on XDA) or the one listed on the guide as they are different ?

    Which ever one you used you could always try the other Rom and see if that makes a difference.

    Also the problem may be with your gold card so you might want to try creating a new one.

    Have a look from post 13 (unlucky I know) on here: Branded devices to get froyo! - How to - Page 2 - xda-developers
    Kickasskev is having the same problem as you but unfortunately I didn't see a fix. Might be worth PM'ing him to see if he got it sorted ?

    One other thing, did you recently (in the last day or so) do an update ? the one that vodafone has sneeked in which loads some extra branding on the phone ? If so I believe the update changes the bootloader version which may also cause an issue.

    EDIT: Just read your later post and see that you have done the update. I think this is likely to be causing the problem. Septian beat me to it :p
     
  20. glenmcfar

    glenmcfar Guest

    It looks like the update has buggered me, but for the record my bootloader is STILL 0.80...

    Thanks for all the help guys. Never had this problem when reflashing my Storm :D

    Glen.
     
  21. Bully74uk

    Bully74uk Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    29
    Im afraid that's probably the case.

    Have you updated ? If so can you post back with your bootloader version ? This is how to obtain it:

    How to check bootloader version of HTC Desire:

    Switch off the device. Turn it on whilst holding the
     
    freefall likes this.
  22. glenmcfar

    glenmcfar Guest

    Bully - like i said ^^^^^^
     
  23. freefall

    freefall Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks for the quick response.

    It is:

    0.80.0000

    I used a ROM which was stated from xda that it should work with 0.80 bootloader, but it doesnt. It says it can't be updated at this time.

    Glen - I could cry. I hate Vodafone now.
     
  24. glenmcfar

    glenmcfar Guest

    I'm a bit miffed that I can't upgrade. I could have done this this morning happily, but now I'm gonna have to wait for a genius or an official Vodafone update.

    But, quick reality check.... I'm amazed people are complaining that their Vodafone-bought phones on the Vodafone network are now Vodafone branded. Has no-one ever had a Vodafone phone before? We were lucky to get away with it this long...
     
  25. freefall

    freefall Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    3
    I've been on vodafone for years and they have always been branded but it's the fact that they have pre loaded apps and some weird thing called "flirt" something or other (which luckily I did not download fully)

    Plus now it appears we are locked into the current software version and HAVE TO wait for them to release FroYo.
     

Share This Page

Loading...