A little help with my htc magic.Support


Last Updated:

  1. chibiaznflipboi

    chibiaznflipboi Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    So here's what i have.

    Model Number = HTC Magic
    Firmware version = 1.5
    Baseband version = 62.62S.20.18U_322.20.17
    Kernel version = 2.6.27-357075db herbert@and18-2 +1069
    Build Number = 2.15.901.4 146733 CL#30006 release-keys

    alright. Here's what i would like to know. I bought this phone just recently. And i love it. I want to find out one thing. The landscape orientation does not have the send or search button. The phone is from TIM. Can anyone please help me fix this problem?
     

    Advertisement
  2. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    Not sure what you are referring to ... Are you Talking about The Google search Widget ?
     
  3. chibiaznflipboi

    chibiaznflipboi Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    im referring to the text messaging and in general typing on the landscape orientation. so yes including the google search widget. I looked on youtube about a sample video of my phone and i guess this setting is standard. It looks kinda like this when im texting. [​IMG]
     
  4. chibiaznflipboi

    chibiaznflipboi Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    it does not have the send button. This image is the fix i want for my phone. [​IMG]
     
  5. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    when finished entering you txt msg .... hit the hardware back-key this should hide the key pad and onscreen buttons should then be visible ...

    If not you may not be using the default texting app ... and are using a third-party app
     
  6. chibiaznflipboi

    chibiaznflipboi Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    i understand that. what i mean to say is that i dont want to hit back-key to hit the send. i just want to have the same keyboard as shown in the pictures. also, i saw an "xt9" on the bottom left corner of the keyboard.
     
  7. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    In my previous post ... I said you might not be using the default messaging app to create/reply/send your msgs with ...???

    Which SMS app are you using that is giving you the problem ?
     
  8. mjschmidt

    mjschmidt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,272
    Likes Received:
    113
    @justjimpc: I have an HTC Magic with Rogers, and I notice I have the same thing when using the _default_ SMS app that came with the phone. When i turn the phone to landscape, I lose the Send button.

    I guess this is just a different version of Android based on the carriers? For example all the screenshots of the T-Mobile MyTouch (Magic) show that the Google search widget has a mic button to use speech search, which the Rogers Magic does NOT have. I'm guessing this Send button thing is a similar difference in OS releases based on carrier/region?

    And to clarify, so you know what I mean by the default sms app, I have NOT installed any other sms apps. When I go to contacts, and choose to txt one of my contacts by clicking the appropriate entry, I get the default sms app.
     
  9. chibiaznflipboi

    chibiaznflipboi Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    im not using any sms app. I agree with what mjschmidt said. that is what i am thinking as well. is there anyway to fix this, or am i stuck with this default setting?
     
  10. justjimjpc

    justjimjpc Premium Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,543
    Likes Received:
    210
    I dont know then .... it may be a rogers custom build issue ... from all the posts Rogers has to be a Real TRIAL do deal with all their mucking and techinical issues ...

    Happy I am using TMO ... :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...