A quick answer to a quick question please.


Last Updated:

  1. Nagrom

    Nagrom Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    77
    Hi Gang.

    Okay so I rooted a few months ago, and installed a baked FroYo rom from MoDaCo. However I want to update it to a later version.

    My question is this:

    Since I've already rooted, and can use Hboot, can I simply copy the new zipped ROM to my SD Card, and install it through Hboot, or do I have to do through the whole rooting path again?

    Thanks in advance

    Andy.
     

    Advertisement
  2. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    You dont need to re-root. Once you have a rooted rom on there, you can flash a custom recovery which will allow you to flash any rom.

    I'd recommend downloading ROM manager, then in the app, flash clockworkMod Recovery. Put the ROM on your SD card and (still in ROM manager) choose "Install rom from sd card".

    Make sure you "Backup current ROM" in ROM manager first. You may need to restore if the versions of ROM you install are too different. You can try installing without a wipe first
     
    Nagrom likes this.
  3. Nagrom

    Nagrom Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    77
    Already got Rom Manager, so thanks for these tips.

    From what I gather, it's just an updated version of the ROM that I already have installed.

    Again thanks for the tip, and quick reply.

    Andy.
     
  4. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    You should be fine if you're going for R8 RC1. I went from R5 to R8 with no wipe with no issues.
     
  5. Nagrom

    Nagrom Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 28, 2010
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    77
    I think that's what I'm using. R5, and it's R8 I'm moving too. Thanks again.

    Andy.

    Just one more thing. Will I have to reinstall ALL my apps, or will everything still be there like when you uodate Windows on a PC?

    Noob question I know, but then again, I am a noob when it comes to rooting, and updating.

    Thanks.
     
  6. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    If you don't wipe the rom, all your apps and data will remain in place. If you have to wipe, use titanium backup first so you can restore some of it later on.
     

Share This Page

Loading...