A quick way to dialGeneral


Last Updated:

  1. NeedaClue

    NeedaClue Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    There doesn't seem to be an easy way to dial from the contact list. When I am driving I need a quick way to dial. Any hints?
     

    Advertisement
  2. thetomlin2

    thetomlin2 Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    242
    Create shortcuts for people you dial often on your home page
    -or-
    Use the HTC people widget
    -or-
    Use a folder with your stared contacts in it

    Here is a thread with more details about all 3 of these options:
    http://androidforums.com/htc-droid-eris/25824-htc-people-widget.html
     
  3. NeedaClue

    NeedaClue Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    What is the HTC people widget?
     
  4. stmartin84

    stmartin84 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    2
    set up favorites and add the people widget to a home screen
     
  5. thetomlin2

    thetomlin2 Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    242
  6. NeedaClue

    NeedaClue Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    So what I am getting is there is not real easy way to do this. I want to be able to dial any person in my contact list without setting up favorites. My old phone, when I started dialing on the number pad, it would also give me choices of people in my contact list with the spelling that matched the numbers on those keys. I didnt have to go into 3 screens deep just to make a call.
     
  7. stmartin84

    stmartin84 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    2
    you could set up a widget called People. Select that from your home screen then hit the spy glass and then start to type the name. Not really 3 screens deep, just one if you set it up on your home screen.
     
  8. Sketchee

    Sketchee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    3
    This Eris does this. Press the call button and start spelling on the keypad just as you described.

    It will show people in your contact list on the top of the screen. The spelling that the matched letters on the key just as you mentioned will highlight.

    So yes it has this exact function your asking for! Woo. Give it a try and let us know if it meets your needs.
     
  9. thetomlin2

    thetomlin2 Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    242
    You can do that on the Eris. From your home screen hit the green talk button or the Phone button to open up the dialer. Than start typing out a name. If you have a contact named Bobby, type 26229 ... at the top it will start zeroing in on the contact your looking for.

    This works for names and numbers. If you have a contact with the number 123-456-7890, start dialing the number and again at the top it will start weeding out the numbers that dont match.

    Hopefully I explained that well enough :cool:


    ***You beat me Sketchee!!
     
  10. stmartin84

    stmartin84 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    2
    Tomlin & sketchee, that works for me too, however I like to have the people widget so when I do search for a person I can select to call, text or email. Preference I guess.

    there is more than one way to skin a cat, but it all tastes the same in the end.
     
  11. NeedaClue

    NeedaClue Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I wonder why mine does not seem to do that. Maybe my Driod is not an Eris. How do I figure that out?
     
  12. stmartin84

    stmartin84 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    2
    Does yours have a slide out keyboard? If it DOES then it's a Motorola Droid. If NOT then it's a HTC Droid.
     
  13. NeedaClue

    NeedaClue Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    It does have the slide keyboard so it is a Motorola. I need to post this question there. Thanks everyone for your help.
     
  14. stmartin84

    stmartin84 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    215
    Likes Received:
    2
    Anytime!
     
  15. tispectrum

    tispectrum Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    3
    I guess your state doesn't have cell phone laws while driving.
     
  16. NeedaClue

    NeedaClue Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    That is correct. We can talk on a cell while driving in AZ
     
  17. Needsdecaf

    Needsdecaf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    41
    Mine does, but I don't think it had anything related to DIALING, just holding the handset during a call. Wonder if it does, and I just don't know about it?

    Surprised no one mentioned the old standby of speed dial...guess I'm just an old timer, lol. I've got the family set up in dial spots 2-8, same way I've had for years, so all I do is hit dial pad and one button.

    Also surprised no one mentioned voice dialing. I think this phone does that well (long press on the send key).
     
  18. ttran97

    ttran97 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    82

    Attached Files:

  19. schmerold

    schmerold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do Android phones dial by company name?

    I want to be able to hit green dial button, then dial by name or company name. BB does this WinMo does not, I am looking for new phone & looking to avoid BB due to additional fees.
     
  20. Needsdecaf

    Needsdecaf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    41
    Never tried it, but what additional fees are you referring to? You need a data plan with the Eris just as the BB. Unless you're referring to something else.
     
  21. schmerold

    schmerold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not sure of the details, I just know that with Sprint, I have a full data plan, however if I switch to BB, there would be an additional $15 monthly fee.

    I am getting discouraged with the alternatives and am close to spending the money.

    I really miss the way BB "just works"
     
  22. Needsdecaf

    Needsdecaf Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,005
    Likes Received:
    41
    Until you use the browser.
     
  23. pavirotten

    pavirotten Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    11
    The Eris will do this as well.
     
  24. smlsml

    smlsml Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I can't tell if I have a defect in my phone, or I'm doing something wrong. I'll start zeroing in on a name I want to dial...then when I tap it with my finger, it doesn't do anything. If I hold my finger on it, I get a menu that let's me "edit the number" to dial as well as "view the contact", etc.....but just tapping it doesn't cause it to dial.

    HOWEVER, if I use the trackball to highlight a "narrowed-down" name and then push the trackball, it does successfully dial the number.

    So....am I doing something wrong? Is this a defect? Is there some setting I need to enable?

    Shane
     
  25. Caddyman

    Caddyman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    3,216
    Likes Received:
    638
    another easy way to dail a person is to hold the green call button to bring up the voice dialer and say "call contact place"

    where contact is the full name of the contact in your list and place is mobile, work, etc.
     

Share This Page

Loading...