A Sad Day Has Come


Last Updated:

  1. thefanmyj

    thefanmyj Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    1
    Well, I've had my Evo for a week, now. And I've tried to ignore this issue, but I just can't anymore. I love, love, love the Evo. And I love, love, love Android. I broke my contract w/AT&T (iPhone) so that I could have a more open platform on a network that actually worked. Unfortunately, I have no reception at home (New York City). I get one bar, but it goes in and out. I don't get decent service until I'm a block away from my apartment, and event then the call quality sounds hollow and tinny. I love this forum, loved owning the Evo, and am glad I left AT&T. Alas, I'm off to find a phone and a provider that will work in my apartment. Maybe I'll try the Droid X tomorrow. <sigh>

    Thanks everyone for all their Evo advice these past few days.
     

    Advertisement
  2. drexappeal

    drexappeal Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2010
    Messages:
    10,781
    Likes Received:
    3,118
    Before you return it, why don't you ask if Sprint will hook you up with an Airrave device. I have it and it works fantastic. It doesn't improve signal strength when I'm not on the phone, but as soon as I have to make a phone call, it's a world of difference. Just call customer retentions department and tell them your situation.
     
  3. Mongoos150

    Mongoos150 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    12
    Don't give up just yet! Call Sprint, explain the situation. They just may send you a free femtocell (airrave) repeater to solve your reception issue :)
     
  4. DarkNeo

    DarkNeo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2010
    Messages:
    475
    Likes Received:
    257
    Next time you should research as to what kind of service you will get with a new provider. Going by the website alone doesnt help, but asking people who live near you.
     
  5. BenChase7

    BenChase7 VIP Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,233
    Likes Received:
    876
    OP: I bet Sprint will give you an Airrave for free... then you'll have the best connection possible! :) Just call, ask for retentions and explain your situation.
     
  6. thefanmyj

    thefanmyj Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    1
    I did lots of research before purchasing this phone. Unfortunately, my neighbors are iPhone people. I don't know a single person in my building who has (or has had) Sprint. I work with a few people who have Sprint. And I have friends who have Sprint, but we all live in different places so I could judge what my home experience would be like based on their experiences.
     
  7. marriedman624

    marriedman624 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2010
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    7
  8. pwnst*r

    pwnst*r Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2010
    Messages:
    912
    Likes Received:
    206
    Sounds like you made up your mind and no matter what someone tells you here, you're not going to listen. Airrave would be your solution, yet you did not respond to that reply.

    Cya later. Don't let the door hit you in the ass on the way out.
     
    deeanne59, CriticalCritic and sagedil like this.
  9. Misbehavin'

    Misbehavin' Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    26
    Airrave is a very good solution, and it works extremely well. It solved my issues, and between it and WiFi at the house, my Evo is working as well as it does in areas with a strong signal.
     
  10. eric3316

    eric3316 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    96
    I have a question. My airave is suppose to be at my house tomorrow, all fee's waived of course : ) A lot of people mentione they still use there WiFi conection at home with it. Will this only help with calls or will it help with data as well?

    I understand that WiFi is faster but sometimes it is just not necassary as 3G is fast enough. Plus wifi will not allow you to use Sprint TV......
     
  11. blozout

    blozout Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    48
    I live in NYC and have only experienced great coverage, they've even been quietly rolling out 4G here (which is shoddy at best). I'm very curious as to what part of the city you live in that you have such poor signal quality because I've not come across a dead zone yet.
     
  12. sagedil

    sagedil Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    178
    Keeping the original quote as it expressed my thoughts exactly. Now onto better business.

    The Airave is ONLY for voice calls, does nothing for data. So absolutely yes, wifi and Airave perfect combination. Airave handles calls, wifi data, who cares what your service is like at home any more.

    To the OP. Since you haven't responded to the multiple answers that would actually solve your problem, but did respond to someone else, I must only assume you are just a troll trying to trash Sprint.
     
    eric3316 and CriticalCritic like this.
  13. 81_

    81_ Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    388
    Likes Received:
    39

    knock knock

    hi um, yeah, i was thinking of getting a sprint cell phone. do you have sprint?

    no, ok. thanks

    knock knock

    hi um, yeah, i was thinking of getting a sprint cell phone. do you have sprint?

    no, ok. thanks

    hi um, yeah, i was thinking of getting a sprint cell phone. do you have sprint?

    no, ok. thanks

    hi um, yeah, i was thinking of getting a sprint cell phone. do you have sprint?

    no, ok. thanks
     
    Ravensthief likes this.
  14. J03

    J03 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    66
    If you wanted the droid x fine, but no need to come on here and announce it to everyone. no one cares... really.
     
  15. dan330

    dan330 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    11,608
    Likes Received:
    3,223
    1. maybe you have bad phone! try swap at store.

    2. airrave

    3. later dude!
     
  16. Misbehavin'

    Misbehavin' Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    26
    As Sagedil mentioned, the Airave only carries voice communications. Obviously you'll already have a broadband connection if you can impliement the Airave, and most likely a router to split the broadband access. Your WiFi will take care of your data, and since most poeple currently use a WiFi router instead of a basic wired router anymore, WiFi shouldn't be an issue.

    While at home, and on WiFi, you'll use less battery power as well. Data over WiFi instead of 3G will help your battery charge last longer, although if you're out of WiFi range turning WiFi off so that it doesn't continue to hunt for a signal is a good idea to help conserve the battery strength. Y5 is a good app to do that automatically.

    If you don't have a good signal at your house, you might want to investigate Verizon a little before you jump ship. A Sprint phone will roam on most Verizon towers, so it's possible your Verizon signal won't be much better. It is possible that your Sprint signal is strong enough to avoid roaming, but weak enough to make conversations difficult. However, it does merit some research before you jump ship only to end up back in the same boat. IMO, the Airave is a perfect solution if you end up staying with Sprint.
     
    sagedil likes this.
  17. thefanmyj

    thefanmyj Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2010
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    1
    I can't call Sprint 'til I get home from work tonight, so I can't update re: whether or not I get an airrave. No need to be a jerk. Nothing I posted was hostile, insulting or rude.
     
  18. eric3316

    eric3316 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    96
    I have had Sprint for well over 10 years now. No intention of going anywhere else. Moved to NC a few years back and service is great all over except by my house. It is a newly built up area and I do get service but it is in and out on phone convo's

    So I avoid using my cell to make calls in my house and use wifi for data. Now with the Airave I won't have to worry about calls but would have been cool if it helped with data as well. Then I wouldn't have to worry about turning on wifi or forgetting to turn it off when I leave my house.

    Wish there was some way to have wifi turn on based on my location that I can set it to go on when I am by my house and to shut off when I leave......
     
  19. skpd

    skpd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    84
    I believe there is an app for that but I can't recall what it was called. also the reviews said that it drains battery, so it might be counter-productive
     
  20. CriticalCritic

    CriticalCritic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    1,872
    Likes Received:
    556
    Locale is the app. I have it set to do all kinds of good stuff for me (when my phone isn't locked up). Plus is does way more than just location based stuff, the possibilities are endless. Sure it does drain the battery a little more but I think it's worth it. The location based stuff is the big drain, but if you know how to work it then the location based stuff works for a very minimal amount of time and only when the phone is plugged in ;)
     
  21. Wendemi

    Wendemi Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    All things considered, I don't blame the OP for wanting a better service. I would have gotten service with Verizon if I didn't mind the cost. I have exactly the same problem. Often, I am on the phone and when I get as close as one block from my apartment, I start dropping calls. I can't even make a call when at my apartment and had to get a landline. I tried getting the Airwave but they wouldn't waive the $100 cost for the device and the $5 monthly cost. I reminded them I am already paying $10 for the 4G I don't have in my city but they wouldn't listen. I can't make a call when I am at places like Walmart.
    I love my EVO but I wish Sprint would try and do more with their network.
     
  22. sagedil

    sagedil Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    796
    Likes Received:
    178
    In all my various paying attention to battery issues. I have found that leaving wifi on makes almost no difference. Honestly, same with 4G. So long ago just accepted and leave both on all the time now.

    Does make my life a bit simpler.
     
  23. eric3316

    eric3316 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    96
    I thought maybe this would be true as one day I left my wifi on. Then went by a friends house who had a wireless router. Left my phone on there counter. Went to get it before I left there house and it dropped a crazy amount battery and the phone was exteremely hot. Guess the phone was trying to connect to the their router the whole time........Maybe if there was a way to ignore all other routers except the one at my house that would help? I would love to keep wifi on but not a the expense of the battery.....
     
  24. Misbehavin'

    Misbehavin' Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    26
    Y5 is the app you're looking for.

    I think there were a couple of bugs that were addressed with it early on.

    Much of the time I would agree. However, there's been a couple of odd occasions that have given me different experiences, and really had an impact on the battery. It stopped after shutting those radios off. Maybe the difference is you're much closer to a large metropolitian area in regards to Raleigh. I don't dare leave 4G on unless I need it, it'll kill mine in a heartbeat hunting for a 4G signal.
     
    eric3316 likes this.
  25. eric3316

    eric3316 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    96
    Will have a look into that. Thanks!
     

Share This Page

Loading...