A tip for new Android users Alarms/Tones/notifications.


Last Updated:

  1. ManMythLegend

    ManMythLegend Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2009
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    4
    I notice a few questions spread through threads.


    For setting your own Alarms , notifications , ringtones.

    Using Astro or any good filemanager.

    Create this folder structure.

    media>audio> ((media folder with the audio folder within it))

    within the audio folder create these folders
    notifications /alarms /ringtones
    All lower case.

    place this on the root of your SD card.


    Once done you can place any compatible ringtone within the corresponding folder.

    These should now show up on your list when selecting audio alerts.
     

    Advertisement
  2. jodaboda

    jodaboda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    2
    thanks so much!

    Do alarms and ringtones show up in the music player? (hopefully not...)
     
  3. benjamin_

    benjamin_ Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    3
    Thanks for the tip, but what does it mean to place it on the root of the SD card? I apologize if that was a stupid question.
     
  4. DellyBelly

    DellyBelly Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    14
    Means you just start at "/" or the screen you see right when you open the card in explorer.

    C:/ would be your computer hard drives root (usually)
     
  5. benjamin_

    benjamin_ Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    3
    Oh, okay. Thanks!
     
  6. snovvman

    snovvman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2009
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    9
    I downloaded couple of ringtone apps (Transformer/Startrek) and it created a Soundroid2012 directory in my MicroSD root with Transformer/Startrek files within it. When I go to ringtone/notifications config, they do see those files. How is this and why?

    Thanks.
     
  7. MartinS

    MartinS Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2,111
    Likes Received:
    197
    Nice post and thanks! I didn't realise you could do this with alarms too.

    +1
     
  8. allen099

    allen099 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm a new Android user (coming from iPhone) and I LOVE this kind of capability! Thank you very much for posting this :)
     
  9. jodaboda

    jodaboda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    2
    has anyone checked to make sure ringtones aren't showing up in the music player?
     
  10. 1080p

    1080p Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2009
    Messages:
    253
    Likes Received:
    59
    If you follow the folder structure in the OP, they wont show up in the music player. Back when I first got a G1 at launch, I made the mistake of just putting the files into the MEDIA folder. That WILL show up in the music player.
     
  11. bosslady88

    bosslady88 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have done the audio..media..then notifications/ringtones/etc. folders and my ringtones still show up in my media player
     
  12. laughter95

    laughter95 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    LL ten char
     
  13. bosslady88

    bosslady88 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    ????????
     
  14. smokeman

    smokeman Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    i want to use a few songs as ringtones, so having ringtones in my music player doesn't bother me. my problem is that the songs i want to use are in the music player; i know they're there, because i've listened to them. but when i want to select one as a ringtone for my gf, it's not on the ringtone list. how do i fix that?

    and how does 'root of the sd card' apply to me since i'm on a mac?
     
  15. jodaboda

    jodaboda Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    2
    media/audio/ringtones

    put anything you want to be able to select as a ringtone in there. Then they will NOT show up in music player (a good thing IMO).
     
  16. smokeman

    smokeman Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    got it. thanks. that worked. but i wonder why another song that's just in the top of my sd card also shows as a ringtone? oh well, i don't care. i've got things working like i want. thanks again
     
  17. AnotherFatalEpic

    AnotherFatalEpic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    484
    Likes Received:
    22
    hahahahahahhahahahha I like jodaboda's avatar.
     
  18. Phydeaux

    Phydeaux Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    67
    dotting this tread for later use.
     

Share This Page

Loading...