A wipe solved ALOT of little problems for me


Last Updated:

  1. James Bell

    James Bell Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    2
    I've had my N1 since January and I applied all of the OTAs up to FRF91. After the first update or two though I saw some subtle problems like these:

    -News & Weather would restart after reading a story, not return to section
    -Frequent network problems on 3G in certain locations
    -Constant dropping from my WiFi network at home (showed "Disabled")
    -The Manage Applications list would refresh forever when returning to it after looking at an individual app.
    -The voice prompts in navigation were cut off when heard via bluetooth
    -Music app showed multiple copies of playlists sometimes
    -SportyPal would reset a workout if I switched away to another app and back again
    -I did not see the speed improvements that others saw with Froyo

    Not realizing they could all be connected I finally decided to do a factory reset (wipe from the recovery screen). I was careful to not restore my settings but I did backup (MyBackup) and restore all my apps. Any apps I did not want I removed before wiping. Afterwards I had to reset my email account settings, pick my ringtones, and set a few minor things but the whole process maybe took 20 minutes.

    Anyway this has solved alot of problems for me. Everything is smoother and faster. I thought I would share it in case others are getting frustrated with their phones.
     

    Advertisement
    darktheory likes this.
  2. DVNO

    DVNO Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    8
    I have seen alot of different ways to factory reset the N1. How did you do it exactly? I haven been having many of the same problems since applying the latest ota (fr91)

    Thanks
     
  3. defiantbeast

    defiantbeast Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    17
    My nexus has been working for the most part flawlessly, however every so often it will freeze and then restart. i have no control over it and it happens randomly its quite annoying, but im trying to give it time before i pursue an exchange thru htc. Ive done a restart about a week ago and it helped but it still restarts randomly, any one else having this problem??
     
  4. snakeybidder

    snakeybidder Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2010
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    10
    I wouldnt bother exchaging it mate, just reset it eg wipe it fully and redo everything. It must be software not the phone.
     
  5. James Bell

    James Bell Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    2
    I followed this:
    How to: Hard-reset the Nexus One | Android Central

    Basically Power On with the Volume Down button held, then select Clear Storage.
     
    DVNO likes this.
  6. James Bell

    James Bell Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'd factory reset it then try to use it for a few days but install as few apps as possible. If it continues to reset as before then I'd call HTC.

    If not I'd add back my old settings and apps slowly and see where the trouble develops.
     
  7. defiantbeast

    defiantbeast Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    17
    Thanks for the advice guys ill give it a try
     
  8. Roze

    Roze Hiding behind a mystery VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    9,813
    Likes Received:
    2,183
    Like everyone that replied to your comment said, do a factory reset. If you call HTC Support, they'll ask you to do a factory reset if none of their trouble shooting methods work.
     
  9. defiantbeast

    defiantbeast Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2009
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    17
    ive already done one factory reset but ill try again because i also reloaded my settings right after the reset. Im hoping this fixes it. the restarts arent to bad its just that that it usually happens at an inconvenient moment
     

Share This Page

Loading...