A2SD+ clarification - used ROM manager


Last Updated:

  1. kartnite

    kartnite Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    6
    So... I partitioned my SD card using ROM manager.

    ext: 512, swap: 0

    But it did *not* give me an option to choose between ext2/ext3. If I'm not mistaken FroYo needs ext3..? (Dunno Linux, sorry!)

    Coming back... So - it erased everything, but my question is how do I know that partition has taken place?

    I went to the device's settings and under the "storage" option, it reads memory card has 1.3-ish gigs left (it's a 2 GB card, btw. Class 4). So... Do I assume, the 512 MB will now be used for A2SD+, cache(dalvik, et al)2sd, etc.?

    Furthermore, I have *not* run any command to force install to SD card. And following the partitioning, do I still press "move to SD card" while managing applications?

    Thank you for clarifying!

    Have a nice day.
     

    Advertisement
  2. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Download quick system info. You can tell if the partition us available or not.

    You DO NOT move apps to SD. Leave them in internal memory.
     
  3. kartnite

    kartnite Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    6
    Gotcha!

    Will do that pronto! Thanks, bud! :)
     
  4. kartnite

    kartnite Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    6
    Understood... Whilst the phone is made to believe that the internal memory is now 133+512.

    Bwahahahaha. :D :)
     
  5. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Exactly. Although app cache can only be on actual internal memory, a2SD+ Is a script that moves the apps to the ext partition automatically
     
  6. kartnite

    kartnite Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    6
    *nods*

    But I can still move games and other (non system related) apps to the sd card using the "move to SD" option, right?
     
  7. kartnite

    kartnite Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    6
    Downloaded Quick System Info Pro (1.4.2)

    A2SD storage tab reads thus - "information unavailable"... Am I missing something??

    ... And yes - the default memory card storage space *has* reduced. Which means allocation has been done.

    Yet QSI reads - info inavl. Grrrr....
     
  8. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    1) No. The ext partition you make IS NOT SD. It is different. If you "Move to SD" you remove it from EXT and put it on the FAT partition. "MOVE TO SD" contradicts a2sd+.

    All apps are on internal memory. a2sd+ moves the apps to ext including dalvik cache automatically. You do nothing

    2) Yes, if it says "information unavailable" either:

    a) You partition is broken and you need to redo the ext partition.
    b) Your rom does not have a2sd+ on it.

    Edit> reading another post, did you flash an RUU, then root that? You would need a custom rom with a2sd+ support.

    If you haven't flashed a custom rom, if you want a good stock froyo rom...

    http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=773997

    You need the version 2 rom (with init.d). read the whole thread. He has an a2sd+ add on you can also flash
     
  9. kartnite

    kartnite Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    6
    ROM...

    Hmmm, my rom is the one that gets flashed while rooting using unrEVOked 3-21. So... I suppose it still is the official ROM, only with SU permissions.

    Capiche...

    So now... I go for a custom ROM - one, from what you say, should "have" a2sd+ support.

    Darn... I preferred this official ROM with a2sd+. :/
     
  10. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Don't know if you saw my post above since editing, but that rom I linked is stock Froyo, rooted with optional add ons (such as a2SD+). I'm convinced it is exactly what you are looking for.
     
  11. kartnite

    kartnite Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    6
    Thank you for taking the time to update that your post with that bit of info. Just noticed. :)

    I had 2.10.405 and only just updated to 2.29.405 and rooted using unrEVOked.

    Sheesh... You're quite right. That's precisely what I'm looking for. Nothing fancy. Just a root and the a2sd+.

    Back to the drawing board...
     
  12. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    All you need to do is flash it from recovery. You probably won't even need to do a data wipe.

    Now you have custom recovery, take a nandroid (called backup in recovery) and you can always return to how you are now if you have any problems.

    It will take you about 15 minutes and you can have the new rom and a2SD+

    Just download the version 2 rom and the a2sd+ zips to your SD card, flash them one after another from recovery and boot. Should be fine.
     
  13. kartnite

    kartnite Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    6
    Hmmm, yeah, can give that a try. After all, if anything does scr^w up, I can use the recovery to get back to my current 2.29.405.2 rooted state from that pre-rooted 2.10.405.2 rom (w/a2sd+)...

    Merci beaucoup, monsieur. :)
     
  14. kartnite

    kartnite Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    6
    WTF!?!

    I just checked QSI and now it reads A2SD storage - total: 7 MB, of which 5 MB is free.

    Duh!
     
  15. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Hmm that's odd. Don't know what to say to that. Maybe you need to delete the partition and start again
     
  16. kartnite

    kartnite Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    6
    :confused: :( :mad:

    Will read up on everything again...

    But boy does this make me crazy! :/

    Will update you, @danfrance... :)
     
  17. SUroot

    SUroot Well-Known Member Developer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2010
    Messages:
    23,925
    Likes Received:
    5,304
    Download minitool parition wizard (free) on your pc. DO NOT use it to create partitions, but it will see what partitions is on your card, if you mount it via recovery as USB Storage.

    If the partition is as small as it says, use the app to delete the partition and format the entire card as FAT32.

    Then go back to rom manager and repartition.


    Obviously again, make sure your SD contents are backed up on your Pc first.
     
  18. kartnite

    kartnite Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    6
    Gotcha! Will do and update.

    *completely off track* Just realized that where I am, FroYo is something still unheard of. o_O Glad I flashed - manually. :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...