Able to upgrade to Froyo and keep apps/settings?


Last Updated:

  1. llblwskydrgn

    llblwskydrgn Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    1
    Is there a way to upgrade to froyo without wiping out my settings and installed apps yet? If there is, can somebody direct me to the method?

    I was thinking since JK6 has been leaked, I might be able to do that with Odin or something.

    Thanks in advance.
     

    Advertisement
  2. coasterman927

    coasterman927 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    5
    Flashing JK6 with Odin will not wipe anything. Just make sure you DO NOT check "re-partition" in Odin when flashing! And, hopefully, when the official build is released sometime soon, we'll be able to upgrade to it without having to go back to JFD/JI6. Because that's when you'd have to lose everything, which would suck.
     
  3. SamsungVibrant

    SamsungVibrant Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1,613
    Likes Received:
    165
    Once you are rooted, you can use titanium backup to backup/restore all your apps
     
  4. llblwskydrgn

    llblwskydrgn Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    1
    What PIT file should I use if it is needed?
    Right now I'm stock, rooted, JI6.
    Thanks for the help, my phone is just terrible with JI6 right now and I wanted to get froyo asap without wiping out all the settings and data.
     
  5. DKYang

    DKYang Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    19
    Check out the Vibrant development section on XDA. A flashable zip file was released for JK6 so you don't even need to use Odin. Just have ClockworkMod recovery do the work for you.

    I use Titanium Backup to backup everything. Although, for some reason, I do have a problem when restoring everything (user apps/settings and system apps/settings), but that's just from my experience.
     
  6. llblwskydrgn

    llblwskydrgn Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    1
    Probably a dumb question but will the flashable zip file wipe my data and settings. I do use TI Backup on everything, but would be much easier if I didn't have to.
     
  7. eagles20015

    eagles20015 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    2
    Do you restore all system data to when you restore? That usually causes problems when switching to different roms. Just restore apps+ app data but not system files and that should fix the problem.
     

Share This Page

Loading...