About HandCent (I'm sorry, but I am VERY PICKY)


Last Updated:

  1. blazinreaper

    blazinreaper Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    So, regarding the handcent application, we all know it is a very good texting style alternative. However, I have noticed a very perky issue that has been bothering me for so long that made me just delete it and use the default instead. Here's the problem. Originally, when you receive a message, the DIM light (green) blinks showing the notification, then when you go into your phone all you have to do to get rid of the blinking, is to simply go into the "Messaging" Icon. However, with the handcent application, the DIM light does NOT disappear when you click the "Messaging" Icon. Rather you must go to your "Notifications" tab on top of the screen, scroll it down, then click the message notification. I am very irky with this and is extremely vexatious to me. If you do you not understand the personal problem I am having, simply, ignore this thread, and return to what you were doing. Does anyone know the solution to this? Yes, I've went to settings and tried every possible way to configure, but hasn't changed anything yet.

    Thank you.
     

    Advertisement
  2. ladybadger2007

    ladybadger2007 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    3
    I use Handcent and the text pops up on the screen. It has an x in the top right corner. If i don't want to immediatly view the text I just click the x and the message and the light both go bye bye. The thing that irks me about the app is when you unlock the phone and touch the pop up sometimes it goes back to the lock screen before it goes into the text. O and when you send the text to multiple people it will save a copy of the text to drafts and the only way to get rid of it is to clear all the texts. Other then that I like the app better then the default because when you recieve an animated text on handcent it moves on default it does not.
     
  3. doomedromance

    doomedromance Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    664
    Likes Received:
    82
    Weird I don't have either of the problems you guys have. I don't have to go. To notification panel to clear the led. I don't go to it ever for text messages, actually. And I sent batch messages all the time for groups for college, and its never saved a draft. Has it always been doing this or just with the last update?
     
  4. blazinreaper

    blazinreaper Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well I have only installed this application 2 days ago, so I wouldn't know the difference. But do you understand what my problem is? To repeat again, I always have to scroll down the notification panel on top of the screen to get rid of the blinking light. If I do not do that step, and just go to Messaging, the light will STILL be blinking even after reading my new message. I apologize if this issue is too specific, it's actually hard to explain, but if any of you guys know what i'm talking about, that's great.
     
  5. LoBatt

    LoBatt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    42
    Did you deactivate the led notification in the default sms app? You'll get duplicate notifications if you don't.
     
  6. ladybadger2007

    ladybadger2007 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2009
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    3
    Ya I did have the double notifications breifly, I forgot all about that. That could be the problem blazinreaper is having. You do have to set the handcent as the default app and disable the notifications for the other in the settings menu. Very good point.
     
  7. Timaphillips

    Timaphillips Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2009
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    14
    My thoughts exactly. This app really took some tweaking frond its default install state but I have grown to like it much more than the default android app. Mainly being able to turn notifications off during a call. That's a brain dead deal google really miser the boat on. I always had people saying, "what was that?" On the other end.
     
  8. altimax98

    altimax98 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Messages:
    718
    Likes Received:
    615
    Theres also a setting option that allows you to allow the back button make a message as read.
     
  9. 3devious

    3devious Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2009
    Messages:
    1,362
    Likes Received:
    115
    Yeah, I understand that but I have mine set up so that when there is a message, a dialog box appears on the screen and when I close the box, the light stops blinking and it clears that part of the notification window. If you don't press the X but press the home key or launch another app, you will have to go to the notification bar or launch the messaging app to get rid of the blinking/alert.

    Oh, and you have to look at all of the popup messages (you can scroll them in that little window) to get the alert to go away.
     
  10. boogerdroid

    boogerdroid Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    also, most of the time i receive the message multiple times, why is that?
     
  11. blazinreaper

    blazinreaper Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Finally fixed ! Thank you guys !
     
  12. dougwilson2000

    dougwilson2000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    17
    Well? How did you fix it. You started this so tell us the fix that worked for you.
     
  13. dougwilson2000

    dougwilson2000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    17
    Handcent does not have to be default but the notifications do have to be disabled in stock in order to stop double messages (you have to go in each in order to clear). With home disable (notifications) clicking the noti. bar would open Handcent reguardless of default.
     
  14. Coach914

    Coach914 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have also had a problem with duplicate messages.
     
  15. dougwilson2000

    dougwilson2000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2010
    Messages:
    521
    Likes Received:
    17
    Duplicate messages or duplicate notifications ? Stock and Handcent will both get the same messages and if you erase in one, the other will erase also. Both apps share the same text messages file.
     
  16. jackburnt

    jackburnt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    663
    Likes Received:
    63
    Only problems I have with Handcent is the actual message part is ugly and Google Voice doesn't work with it (especially with insta-sync).

    The first issue is just me being lazy and not customizing it.
     
  17. asilver

    asilver Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    2
    The problems everybody has with these applications is caused by there being no user manual for you to read through, and if you don't look in every nook and cranny of the app it's easy to assume it won't work the way you want it.

    Examples, the multiple alerts...solved by turning off native messaging app alerts.
    Also, never getting the correct text in the pop up screen, caused by not knowing you can scroll from left to right to view unread messages in the pop up app.


    If you are having a hard time seeing which program is causing the problem change your led to red and your notification to red, then you'll know if the led or notification alert is really handcent or the native app.
     
  18. johninbigd

    johninbigd Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    7
    I have notifications turned off in my native SMS app and I still get multiple alert sounds.
     
  19. takeshi

    takeshi Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    3,354
    Likes Received:
    281
    I don't understand "perky issue", "I am very irky", and "vexatious". :p

    Can you clarify that "Google Voice doesn't work with it" bit? It works just fine if you have SMS forwarding enabled. However, if you want Handcent to use GV when you select a contact's mobile number instead of the 406 forwarding number then there's nothing to be done about it.
     
  20. twjonesjr

    twjonesjr Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    has anyone else had issues with the handcent popups showing over the lock screen while using home ++? If the phone is locked and you get a text popup, the popup shows too low on the screen as the keyboard correction pane covers the text field. However if you re lock the phone and then unlock the popup shows at the correct height and you can text like normal.

    I think the problem lies in how home ++ loads the notification panel initially before it disappears (it happens almost instantaneously after unlocking) after unlocking. This allows the popup to function normally in that case but when it shows over the lock screen it gets all screwy.

    Can't seem to find a fix in the settings for Handcent or Home ++ and was looking for input
     

Share This Page

Loading...