Access Ad-Hoc (ICS) network? Anyone know how?Support


Last Updated:

  1. JuniorNA

    JuniorNA Well-Known Member This Topic's Starter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2010
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    50
    I thing I do hate i that the iPhone can access adhoc or structured wireless networks without any tweaking.
    Unfortunately the Blackberry, and now the Droids are not able to find any ad-hoc networks, which is very annoying. For example, I have ICS setup on my laptop at work, i have a USB wifi dongle plugged into the laptop so that my ipod touch and everyone else's can connect to my shared wifi connection, and they can all access app store, mail, browser, etc. But for some reason, blackberry and droid cannot find any Ad-Hoc networks?

    Here is what i have set up (for you non computer tech folks)

    Network cable with internet connection plugged into laptop
    Internet Connection Sharing enabled on laptop
    Wireless Network linked to the ICS settings
    My laptop then puts out a public SSID with wep encryption for all the world to see.
    People see the network, ask me for ID, and i give it to them, and now they have internet access through my WIFI dongle, then through my laptop's internet connection.

    But since the droid can't find ad-hoc networks, and can only find routers, i cannot do this, which means i can't use wifi at work, which is a bummer.

    any ideas ?
     

    Advertisement
  2. mikeal5703

    mikeal5703 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a very similar problem i set up wireless tethering with my phone but the droids that i try to find the network has not been able to i tried on the ally & a Motorola droid
    And from an adhoc network started from my computer it wont pick it up either
     
  3. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    5,577
    Likes Received:
    1,958
    Android can not see ad-hoc networks. They have to be AP. No way around it. You can change the settings in the tether program to broadcast as an access point, not ad-hoc.
     
  4. wildtouch83

    wildtouch83 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2010
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    24
    I didn't think it was simply Android...I have successfully connected a Moto Droid 2 to an ad-hoc network. But my DInc can only connect to AP/Infrastructure networks.
     
  5. sdrawkcab25

    sdrawkcab25 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    5,577
    Likes Received:
    1,958
  6. bladutz

    bladutz New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello Guys.
    Try virtual router. Free program - worked fine. Hurray!!!
     

Share This Page

Loading...